We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality”
Review of Ballard House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ballard House Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Meredith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
billericay
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hospitality”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights at Ballard House during our road trip around New England.
Although the Inn is a couple of miles outside Meredith the views overlooking the Lake more than made up for the short drive into town.
Our room was big including a seperate lounge area.
The biggest plus was our host, Brian, who exceeded the boundaries of hospitality(along with his dog 'Newton').
He carried the luggage to the top floor, cooked some great breakfasts, suppied complimentary cookies,beer and wine and most of all,gave us friendship and great banter!
Thanks Brian.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor at rear offer best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillericaySeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
267
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

On our 2 week tour of New England,this was the the best place we stayed.Wow! Brian works so hard to ensure that his guests feel welcome.The inn is wonderful,clean,beautifully furnished and everything is provided to make our stay comfortable.Brian ,you are a gem! If Newton hadn't been so big I would have smuggled him home in my case. It was great to sit around the table at breakfast and meet new people and sample the delicious food.Beautifully situated with views of the lake.I cannot recommend Ballard House highly enough.Brilliant value!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillyc3648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

What better way to learn of life in other countries than by chatting to guests sharing your accomodation, over a few 'complementary' glasses of your own tipple in the evening and enjoying the sumptuous breakfast with them on a communal table the following morning. You are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome at this great B&B situated just outside Meredith in New Hampshire. The Inn is gorgeous, charming decor, rust painted wooden floor boards, spotless bedrooms and bathrooms, satin -like sheets on the beds covered with beautiful quilts, large showers with seats! My husband and I had stayed in a condo down town in Chicago the week before and our two night stay here was so refreshingly different. Everyone was made to feel relaxed and at home by Brian our wonderful host, we all joined in and chatted about our various travel experiences;- a great bonus when attempting to organise your limited time in the area, basing your choices on peoples' first hand experience! The back porch has a number of comfortable chairs as well as a rocking swing chair for two, here you can unwind and take in the fabulous views of the countryside and lake. We loved every minute- and thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts of baked fruits; delicious home made quiche and muesli, and blueberry pancakes.
A place you know you can recommend without a second thought. "Watch out Brian we're sending everyone from Wales to your home!!" Love to your wonderful golden labrador Newton - thanks for your humour, charm and sincere hospitality.

Room Tip: There are limited rooms but I'm sure all will be of equal charm and cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlesniHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for a one-night break on our whistle-stop tour of New England. It is a delightful little inn, in immaculate condition and lovingly looked after by the charming Brian, whose enthusiasm about the building and its history is infectious!

Our room, the Sunapee, was on the corner, with one window facing the highway and the other side backing out over a lovely panorama of the lake and acres of trees. Even though we were near the road, we didn't really hear traffic and had one of the best nights' sleep of our holiday - the bed was incredibly comfortable.

There were nice touches like a communal coffee machine, beer and a glass of wine and a comfy lounge area to relax in. Breakfast was a very civilised affair around a huge table overlooking the porch and back garden area - we had blueberry pancakes, fruit and plenty of coffee, and Brian very thoughtfully catered for a food intolerance too.

It's a great base from which to tour the lakes and the mountain highways and to leaf peep. Meredith is a chocolate box, picture-perfect little town, and was a lovely place to visit. And we couldn't leave a review without mentioning gentle giant Newton who provides very lovely canine distractions - even posing for photographs and strokes!

Room Tip: We were in the Sunapee room, which had a beautiful backview over the lake and trees. Probably the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent 3 wonderful nights at this superb Inn at the start of our 3 week holiday,and could not have
chosen a better place to be! Brian was a great host and made us feel so very welcome.
The house,the decor, the comfort,the food,and oh so very clean with the great hospitality....
The weather was beautiful and sitting on the lovely porch with tremendous views was such a
pleasure,we staye in the Squam room which was lovely,with it's own lovely sitting room with superb
views,certainly it was the room for us!
I would recommend this wonderful Inn to anybody,and thankyou Brian for making our stay such a
happy one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnrowe918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband took me to the Lakes Region in September or my birthday, and he chose the Ballard House in for our stay. What a great find! The house is gorgeous; a nice mix of modern and historic charm. Brian was a great host and even upgraded us the night we arrived - an unexpected but much appreciated gesture. We loved it here and plan on returning very soon!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have just come back from a 2 week tour of New England for which we booked 9 hotels of various sorts. Among these was a 2 night stay at The Ballard House Inn. As soon as we arrived Brian was straight out helping with our rather heavy suitcases. Inside we met his other guests who were arriving at the same time and Brian made sure we were all introduced to each other. All his rooms are individual and our was lovely overlooking the back of the house and the mountains. Brian recommended a restaurant to us for both our 2 nights and in fact I think all his guests were at The Canoe . Tavern 27 was equally as good. A different dining experience for us. He should be on commission from these restuarants. Breakfast was round a table for 10. A new experience for us where all guests of every nationality sit together. Brian is the chef at the moment (till his wife joins him later this week) and he coped admirablt with all of us arriving to eat at the same time. Newton the dog was very friendly and liked making a fuss. We enjoyed a cup of coffee and a glass of wine sat on the back veranda after we returned from our days outing. Brian always went the extra mile to make sure his guests were comfortable and had everything they needed. He enjoyed joining in the chat with all his guests. We shared some banter with him as Europe had just beaten USA in the Ryder Cup when we arrived and he was none too pleased.We were sorry to leave after 2 nights as in that short time we felt we had made a friend. Hope everything works out for them in their relatively new venture.

Brians display of Chrysanthemums and pumkins were beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian and Barba... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
1.5 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
368 reviews
1.4 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
14.6 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
150 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Tuckernuck Inn
The Tuckernuck Inn
#3 of 6 in Meredith
119 reviews
5.4 mi away
Center Harbor Inn
Center Harbor Inn
#1 of 3 in Center Harbor
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard House Inn

Property: Ballard House Inn
Address: 53 Parade Rd, Meredith, NH 03253-5400
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meredith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballard House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason may be for staying in Meredith, NH, The Ballard House Inn offers a serene and picturesque backdrop for your home away from home. We are just minutes from Lake Winnipesaukee, downtown Meredith,and centrally located in the heart of the beautiful Lakes Region. The Inn is also bordered by 178 acres of town owned recreational land consisting of beautiful hiking trails, walking paths, small ponds, and plenty of wildlife. Our guests often mention the setting at the Inn is so private and serene yet close to so many fabulous restaurants and shops of the Lakes Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ballard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing