We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, friendly inn”
Review of Ballard House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ballard House Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Meredith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Ballard House Inn. The room was clean and comfortable, newly renovated. The hosts were friendly and gave us excellent dinner suggestions. The inn is on a road that has some traffic, though we were not disturbed by the noise. Breakfast was very good. Location is central. We would recommend the inn to friends who wanted a clean, comfortable place to stay in Meredith.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyandFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 379 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2011

My husband and I were thrilled with our stay in the Winnisquam Room at the Ballard House Inn. The Inn itself is so beautifully restored and in such a prime location in the Lakes Region. But what makes this place truly special are Don and Michelle--what incredible hosts. They were so accommodating, it really felt like we were staying with family. I did a lot of research before deciding to book our stay at the Ballard House and I have to say that the web site did not oversell. I cannot imagine a better place for our stay in the region! When we do make it out that way again, we will definitely stay at the Ballard House Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

My wife and I first stayed with Don and Michelle during bike week in Laconia in the June 2011 timeframe. We loved it so much, we went back over the 4th of July weekend, as we had gotten rained out during bike week. Their attention to detail is second to none, and they make you feel as if it's home away from home. They are two fantastic people who have only had the Inn operational for a few years, but you'd never know it from the way they have it set-up, and the overall attention to detail, which is so evident. We had some great conversations with them, and the other guests over breakfast each morning, which was in itself delicious and well thought out. After two stays, we feel as if we've made new friends, and plan to go back up for one more motorcycle ride in the fall.

Don and Michelle, keep doing what you're doing, it was just as fantastic the second time around as it was the first stay. I would recommend this Inn to anyone, as you can't go wrong, the place is spotless, the Innkeepers are very friendly and sociable, it was an excellent experience, can't wait to go back again!


Tim/JoAnn
Hardwick, MA

Room Tip: For a couple, the Sunapee and Winnisquam rooms work out great, they also have suites for 4 or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarleyManHardwick_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Don and Michelle are very personable and go out of their way to make your stay a great one. The rooms were well appointed - we stayed in a suite with the kids and there was plenty of room, and french doors we could close between the rooms for privacy. The breakfast was out of this world, and there is 24/7 access to complimentary beer, wine, coffee, soda, and water. Very relaxing to have a cup of coffee on the back deck, overlooking the lake and mountains. The highlight of the trip was their 1-year old boxer Cassie - she was a treat and was great with the kids. 5 stars all around.

Room Tip: Get one of the suites - they only cost a bit more and are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Just got back from a family trip to NH. We stayed at the Ballard House Inn in Meredith. I can't tell you how much we enjoyed our time there. The place is beautiful but honestly, it is Don and Michelle that makes it so special. From the time we arrived to the time we left, they took very good care of us. Don even took our kids on a walk to the lake and Michelle baked special chocolate and peanut butter cookies for the kids and us when she heard that it was a family favorite. They have the cutest little boxer named, Cassi (hope that is spelled right) that was so fun and playful and very gentle with the kids. The kids had a blast playing in the yard with her!! And then when they had so much fun that they were all covered in mud, Don helped us sort out our laundry. At every opportunity, Don and Michelle completely exceeded what we would have expected from the owners of a bed and breakfast. The breakfasts were delicious and we loved the wine in the evening. It was such a great experience that we ended up extending our stay. We left feeling like we had made some new friends and judging from the other guests at the inn, we were not alone. They had a lot of return "friends" that came back for another visit. Can't say enough or recommend them more. Valerie, Christopher, James and Olivia Twomey

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are suites and great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValerieST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

You are a guest, you are family. We have never experienced this level of comfort be it at the personal or professional level. Don and Michelle are unique and adapt to their clientele in a warm and inviting way.... They have established what a B&B experience should be and achieved, in a unique way, our expectations..... Oh, by the way we did get to experience another B&B in Vermont (on our way home) except we didn't even know who the "inn Keepers" were, never mind meet them. Don, Michelle, we had an absolutely wonderful time and know that we will have to book well in advance ~ given that word on the street is that the Ballard House Inn is the bar to aspire to!....

Room Tip: Sunapee or either suite on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aurra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Ballard House on our long weekend in the lakes area. The Inn is centrally located for various lakes and hiking, close to downtown Meredith for dinner/entertainment, and a very warm and comfortable place to relax on it's own.

Our room was simply furnished with a large bed, modernized bathroom, a very small TV and seemed freshly renovated with rich wood floors and a cozy paint scheme. The inn itself has several lounge rooms, coffee, soda, beer and wine available in the public area and a beautiful back deck overlooking a valley and a distant lake.

Our hosts were that perfect B&B balance of charming, sincere, interested and outgoing while keeping to themselves and not imposing on our stay. Breakfast was a simple and satisfying eggs, bacon and toast.

I would highly recommend this Inn to any looking to spend some time in the Lakes region of NH. It's roughly 45 min. from Enfield, 30 minutes from Canaan, 15 minutes from Alexandria, 30 minutes from Wolfeboro and moments from downtown Meredith.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephenpdennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
1.6 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
377 reviews
1.4 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
0.9 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Tuckernuck Inn
The Tuckernuck Inn
#3 of 6 in Meredith
121 reviews
5.4 mi away
Center Harbor Inn
Center Harbor Inn
#1 of 3 in Center Harbor
28 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lantern Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard House Inn

Address: 53 Parade Rd, Meredith, NH 03253-5400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meredith
Price Range: $139 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballard House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason may be for staying in Meredith, NH, The Ballard House Inn offers a serene and picturesque backdrop for your home away from home. We are just minutes from Lake Winnipesaukee, downtown Meredith,and centrally located in the heart of the beautiful Lakes Region. The Inn is also bordered by 178 acres of town owned recreational land consisting of beautiful hiking trails, walking paths, small ponds, and plenty of wildlife. Our guests often mention the setting at the Inn is so private and serene yet close to so many fabulous restaurants and shops of the Lakes Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ballard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing