We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place and Awesome Hosts!”
Review of Ballard House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ballard House Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Meredith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We recently stayed at the Ballard House for five nights. The inn was spotless and cozy. The hosts attend to every detail and went out of their way to make us comfortable. They even pre-packed us a breakfast for the morning of an ironman race so that we would be fuelled and ready to race. The hosts are great people and are down to earth. We highly recommend this inn!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 376 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2011

Stayed here with our 2 year old son in October for 4 nights during a trip to New England. Absolutely faultless accommodation.
Don and Michelle were the perfect hosts, very attentive, great company to sit and chat with. Breakfasts were amazing food and a lovely relaxed communal atmosphere with other guests. Our son loved running around in the garden.
The room was spotless and decorated to an exceptional standard. Wish we lived nearer so we could visit more often!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoghton2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2010

I stayed here one night while on an executive retreat at a nearby conference center. The vibe is both wonderfully rustic AND incredibly comfortable (a tough mix to get right). The rooms were clean, well appointed and the updated bathrooms were very welcome. However, better then all that goodness was the attitude of Michelle - the owner/cook/inn keeper.

First off, she is just incredibly friendly and welcoming. Second, she is a great cook. Third, she will go out of her way to make you feel welcome. To bits of supporting evidence for these two claims. (1) Michelle (owner/host/cook) may not have known how much we needed it, but after a long day of 'strategerie' her light, friendly (and humorous) conversation and the open bottle of wine were exactly what my colleagues and I needed! (2) After a glass of wine or two, when she asked us if we had any dietary restrictions I jokingly said that I could only eat sausage patties and not sausage links (which she had just announced was all she had in the kitchen). We all laughed but then, the next morning, when we came down to breakfast, while everyone else had sausage links, she gave me sausage patties (she said she ran out to the store that night). With a twinkle in her eye, she said she liked us as a group (even though I was a ‘difficult’) and that she wanted to make sure I was happy and didn’t spoil the rest of the retreat.

In any event, as I hope this review reveals, the Ballard House (on top of everything else) has in spades the most important amenity any B&B can have – a GREAT host!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We attended a family gathering in Meredith, NH and found this charming B&B with a fabulous view of Lake Waukewan, near Lake Winnipesaukee. The hosts were down-to-earth and gracious. They accommodated my gluten-free and made gluten-free pancakes for breakfast. The room was ample and comfortable. There's a wrap-around porch where a porch-swing that seats 4 hangs ready for kids or adults to enjoy. They're closing for the winter but will be back in May.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Michelle and Don (the owners) were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Good local information and a great breakfast. Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilandJennyStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We spent two days stimulating the lakes region economy facilitated by spending a night at the Ballard House Inn. Everything we read on line about Don, Michelle and the inn in general was absolutely true; clean quiiet, bright and very pleasant. We would highly recommend the Inn for couples.

Karen and Fred Parsells
Keene, N.H.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angusnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed here for five nights while driving around New England viewing the fall colours. Don & Michelle were the perfect hosts, they went well above and beyond the call of duty! They served lovely breakfasts each day, provided delicious homemade cookies, gave absolutely superb recommendations about places to visit and eat out, and were even kind enough to help out when we couldn't get a local taxi. We don't usually stay in B & Bs, but they created such a lovely atmosphere that we plan to do so much more often. As well as providing all of the above they have free tea and coffee, wine and bottles of soft drinks that you can help yourself to.

The view from the porch is beautiful. The rooms are clean and freshy decorated, and done so in a way that was sympathetic to the 18th century building. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

We have very high standards, but could literally find nothing to fault about our stay. Really wonderful and we left feeling recharged and positive.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_and_J_Hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
1.6 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
375 reviews
1.4 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
0.9 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Tuckernuck Inn
The Tuckernuck Inn
#3 of 6 in Meredith
121 reviews
5.4 mi away
Center Harbor Inn
Center Harbor Inn
#1 of 3 in Center Harbor
26 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard House Inn

Address: 53 Parade Rd, Meredith, NH 03253-5400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meredith
Price Range: $139 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballard House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason may be for staying in Meredith, NH, The Ballard House Inn offers a serene and picturesque backdrop for your home away from home. We are just minutes from Lake Winnipesaukee, downtown Meredith,and centrally located in the heart of the beautiful Lakes Region. The Inn is also bordered by 178 acres of town owned recreational land consisting of beautiful hiking trails, walking paths, small ponds, and plenty of wildlife. Our guests often mention the setting at the Inn is so private and serene yet close to so many fabulous restaurants and shops of the Lakes Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ballard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing