We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint story book restaurant. Worth the drive!!”
Review of Pickity Place

Pickity Place
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Mason
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quaint story book restaurant. Worth the drive!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Just went to red riding hood cottage for lunch today with my sister!! The 1786 cottage offered a fabulous 5 course lunch. The waitress explained the edible flowers that made each course look beautiful and colorful. You must have reservations and they only serve lunch,but you will not leave hungry . We plan on making another journey to this historical cottage restaurant in November

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank artteach76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    33
    9
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely visit, quite charming”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

What a wonderful, charming place. I have heard about this, for years, but until a friend from out of state mentioned she wanted to visit Red Riding Hood's house, I had never had time to stop. This time, I was so pleased to find this treasure in the woods. A lovely shop of herbs, kitchen goodies, and adorable knick knacks, tchotsky's, and whatsits, there is something for everything.
The lunch was delicious, although not a budget meal. It's worth a stop. Do call to make reservations, as they only serve lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roomwvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quaint Cottage Dining”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

What a fabulous find in unique dining. I have been there three times now at different seasons of the year. Wonderful whenever you go! The grounds are beautiful with gardens to walk through, an herbal shed where you can purchase plants and the gift shop has many of the dips, teas, etc. that are used in their menu. Plus many other unique gifts and items to choose from. The history of "Little Red Riding Hood" is a fun element too. The five course luncheon is 5-star excellent!!! Their menu changes every month with fresh herbs in season. The ladies will love this place for a small celebration and it is also lovely for a luncheon just for two!!! Go and enjoy this quaint little place in the woods!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“A Unique and Wonderful Place for Lunch”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Pickity Place farmhouse built in the late1700's was the setting for the illustrations for the story Little Red Riding Hood. Today, this little house is a restaurant that serves a 5 course gourmet lunch. Call ahead and make a reservation for one of their 3 daily lunch seatings.(They only serve lunch here) I like how there is history around you while you visit, how you can see the story in all the places and the rooms. You can even eat in grandmother's bedroom.
I like how beautiful the flower gardens and herb gardens are for strolling and picture taking. I enjoyed the three gift shops, one specializes in garden art, items, and décor; the other one has books and children's items; and the third one has the herbs, tea, coffee, served in the restaurant for sale among other gift type items.The staff is super friendly and helpful.
Check online or call ahead for the menu. They serve one menu for the month about $21 per person that includes your beverages of tea, lemonade, and coffee, an appetizer, soup, salad, bread with flavored butters, (I liked the sun dried tomato flavored one) a choice of two entrees and desert. The food was fabulous and garnished with editable garden flowers if you choose to taste. I did and I loved it. It is a lovely place to go for that special lunch with family, girlfriends, co workers, out of town guests, etc. It is in the country, down a long country, tree covered road, and although there is a small parking lot with handicapped parking, most of the spaces are nestled in the trees.
So much to see and do and enjoy here. It is worth the drive. I can't wait to return when I am next in the New England area. If you found this review helpful, a helpful vote is much appreciated. Thanks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
430 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

If you are looking for "different and delicious", make a reservation for lunch at Pickity Place. Way out of the way - deep in the woods - you'll discover the gardens of Little Red Riding Hood's grandmother... and her house too.
The 5 course luncheons change each month depending upon season and herbs... Each course is thoughtfully prepared and presented by delightful wait staff. Our occasion for going was a surprise birthday party for a friend. They easily accommodated us at small tables, conversation was easy. Portions perfectly designed to finish. They have three seatings to choose from and at $21.95 plus tax and tip, it's well worth the cost of admission.
After lunch, we strolled their gardens and visited the gift shops. You could easily spend an entire afternoon without blinking an eye.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rockyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pickity Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing