We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great service.”
Review of Piccola Italia

Piccola Italia
Reserve with OpenTable
Piccola Italia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 405 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Hancock, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food and great service.”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had a nice meal here after a Monarch's game. The service was quick and efficient. The food was good but nothing too exciting. My husband had the lasagne and it was huge. I had an alfredo dish and it was not exceedingly large. It was a nice place to eat but not my favorite.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank varneykr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    49
    27
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had the calamari appetizer which was quite tasty. The calmari was tender, friend right and the sauce with it was nice. My wife's antipasta was nicely done and she enjoyed it. The liguini with white clam sauce was disappointing. The clams were chewy and I would guess out of a can but maybe I'm wrong about that. The pasta was overcooked and the whole thing seemed quite watery. On the other hand the homemade meatballs were excellent and the sauce that came with them was delicious. So a bit hit and miss on the food. The service was OK. Certainly no better than average. I would not have come out of the place raving about the service. There were 6 of us. Perhaps somewhere on the menu it said they would add a gratuity of 20% for a party of 6. I did not see it but it might be there. I think an automatic tip of 20% is steep. I also think it would be good form for the server to point out to you that it has been added. I didn't see it but another member of the party did. I thought the most tasteless thing was after adding the 20% having a place on the charge slip for "additional tip". Seriously? Perhaps my standard for Italian food is high, but this place doesn't make the cut for me.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raptorfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to have a quiet meal for two!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Found this restaurant via google. My fiancé and I are were headed to Manchester, NH for a concert and wanted something to eat before had. Researched places and found this gem. Had a wonderful waitress that was very attentive. The food came out in a timely fashion and we were both very pleased with our meals. Would totally go again and recommend this restaurant to anyone passing through. Thank you to the staff and cooks who made our night that much more enjoyable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Restraunt”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great homemade food, and great service. Great drinks and I recommend the Veal dishes. Make reservations thou, they get busy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average Food - Average Service”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

American/Italian fare. I still like my home made better. Service was mediocre. Drinks were light. Food was burned on one plate and dried out on another. The bread was only average. Dessert was a bit freezer burned. I attribute it to a bad night although I have heard reasonable reviews for the place. I don't choose to return. I also thought the value wasn't there -- too high priced given the quality of the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccola Italia also viewed

 

Been to Piccola Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing