We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy, unusual food!”

Lala's Hungarian Pastry
Ranked #1 of 23 Bakeries in Manchester
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
CAPE PORPOISE
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yummy, unusual food!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had lunch here today, although I had initially gone in to buy some pastries. The aromas in the shop convinced me that lunch was necessary as well. I had the Hungarian chicken soup, which was delicious....filled with chopped vegetables and pieces of chicken. I then tried the Beef Goulash, which was served over egg noodles and with sides of carrots and rice. Paparika was evident in the preparation of the goulash...just the right amount. The beef was "melt in your mouth" tender. The gentleman who owned the business was friendly and informative. I glanced at the breakfast menu, which was shorter than the lunch offerings, but which looked very good. Don't leave without buying some of the amazing pastries to take home!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JANE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“3 words: a-maz-ing”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Came here on a rec from a friend who lived in the area and it was even better than he promised. From the soup to the main course to the pastries, this place nails it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPC3481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, New Jersey
1 review
“Great all around place!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

As an American of Hungarian descent it doesn't get any better than this outside of Hungary. Will definitely go back when I'm in NH again.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Julius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Soup”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Being from Slovakia I eat soup everyday. I am a flight attendant and will get a trip here just to get food here. I eat all over the world and the soup here is top notch, the food and pastries are jsut like home. I cant wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“European flavor in Manchester”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great dishes at an incredible prize. Cozy. Home cooked meal! A great stop for lunch or breakfast.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francisco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lala's Hungarian Pastry also viewed

 

Been to Lala's Hungarian Pastry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing