We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cotton

Cotton
Reserve with OpenTable
Cotton is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 396 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Stark Street
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

One of Manchester's best, menu is interesting, a little edgy, the atmosphere is always buzzing. There bartenders could be a bit friendlier though.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank weezy800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    187
    52
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Norman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cotton Pickin' Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Historic mill area near the river makes this a great stop. Menu stresses local farm fresh items. Place was full for lunch & everyone seemed happy and satisfied. Good food and service. Give it a try!!

Helpful?
Thank Popadoupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
220 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Today was my third visit to Cotton for lunch and once again I left wondering why I have not visited for dinner. The restaurant, housed in Manchester’s historic millyard district is warm and inviting. I would not call the service friendly but it is attentive. The menu is somewhat retro, fried chicken, meatloaf, and wedge salads are among the offerings. The background music, just loud enough to be noticed and enjoyed, adds greatly to the relaxing ambiance. The calamari are fabulous, perfectly fried with just enough hot cherry peppers to provide some heat but not overwhelm the squid. The soup of the day, cream of chicken, was silky and lovely, and the farmhouse salad was fresh and delicious. The crab cake burger was really good and the coleslaw is the best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mamacooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
177 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cotton, not the best in manchester.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I and my wife and two friends just went to Cotton for my wife's birthday. I have to say I and my friend were not super impressed with the food. (although, my wife and friends girlfriend liked it)
I asked for my steak medium and it was very rare! When I brought this to the attention of my waitress by saying "I asked for my streak medium" she looked at me and said "and what would you think that is?" So I told her "It still has a pulse". The center was cold and red, not pink at all. They did remove the steak from the bill (not that, that was my intention at all) that is beside the point. Also the restaurant was very hot like so hot that all four of us were saying it was too hot, if it was just me I would not have thought it to big a deal but if everyone was uncomfotable that is a problem. Maybe it was just an off night as both I and my friend had steaks and did not find them great and the girls had other dishes and liked them im not sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beowulf566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Special occasion place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I had the best steak I've ever had at Cotton. They're a little pricey, but I wouldn't say their prices are unreasonable, just that I'd prefer to pay less because I'm a poor young'n. The service was great, and I loved their complimentary bread. I suppose the best way to describe how much I liked it is that I drive on 293 to and from work every day with a perfect view of Cotton, and every day I look longingly over the river at it and want to go back.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamieKateWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotton also viewed

 

Been to Cotton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing