We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ribs around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KC's Rib Shack

KC's Rib Shack
Ranked #4 of 382 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to KC's Rib Shack Barbecue restaurant. New Hampshire's favorite BBQ for close to two decades. At KC's Rib Shack, serving the world's finest hickory-smoked ribs and BBQ is our passion. Our food and exceptional service are definitely two things we take seriously. No white tablecloths here, you'll sit at butcher paper covered tables under the Christmas lights and pull from a roll of paper towels to wipe our homemade BBQ sauces from your face. Our Southern style Barbeque, Bar-B-Que, Bar-B-Cue, just Q, or however you spell it, is seasoned with our own recipe of different dry rubs and cooked without sauce. Its then cut to order and prepared straight from our smokers which run 24 hours a day...
Milford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Ribs around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the best Rib place around here.The Ribs are always perfect.The rest of the menu is just as good.The Chili is fantastic.If you like BBQ,then look no further.This is Rib Heaven.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cymrucheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    118
    43
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northeastern Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The recommendation to eat at The KC Rib Shack came from the clerk at the hotel we are staying at. It was about a 10 minute walk away so it was really convenient.

When we walked into the parking lot, it was full of cars with New Hampshire license plates so we knew it had to be. good spot if alot of locals were there.

We had to wait about 10-15 minutes for a seat but the waiting area was very comfortable with seats and lots to read.

When we got to our table, Courtney, our waitress was there to take our drink orders. My husband had a rum and coke and it was very healthy. I had a Dreamsicle and it was delicious.

We had hush puppies as our appetizer and they were delicious, served with a maple dipping sauce. My husband had the burger and coleslaw as his main and I had the pulled pork sandwich with mashed potatoes. Yum yum yum! The mashed potatoes were real mashed potatoes. We decided to split a dessert and since my husband loves bacon, we had the bacon and maple ice cream. The maple flavour was very predominant but there was definitely bacon in it as we found many chunks.

Everything was delicious, hot and flavourful. Courtney was very attentive and friendly. Prices were very reasonable.Atmosphere was fun and upbeat.

Kevin, the owner, has his personal cell phone and email address on the menu so you can contact him directly if there are any problems.

If you are travelling through New Hampshire, take the time to stop in, it's definitely worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank justjo008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great BBQ but not for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you want some of the best ribs, pulled pork, BBQ chicken or brisket and don't mind the noise and the old booths that look like they have been there since the 50's and the rickety old place, then you can't go wrong here. Voted best ribs in Manchester, NH. I've been here several times and will go again when I can. For me its all about the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FLJoMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Average ribs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I like the atmosphere and the service was very good. It's not a place that stands out. You have to really look for it. I had high hopes when I entered for some great ribs, but it just didn't meet my expectations.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT BBQ !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a planned birthday celebration for a coworker and had hoped to eat outside on the patio with the Tiki bar but the weather wasn’t cooperating. When we arrived, it wasn’t raining but there was a breeze and the outside patio wasn’t open. We made the best of it and a group of eight of us sat inside. Our waitress, Bonnie was wonderful! She offered to take group photos and was into the Jimmy Buffet Margaretville theme. As we were almost finished with our appetizers, fried onion rings, jerky chicken wings (hot) and fried pickles, Bonnie asked if we wanted to move outside since the weather had improved. She offered to crank the tunes and set us up outside, we were all in.

Dinner was great; most of us went with ribs, pulled pork or the chicken breast. The sides of cole slaw and baked beans were great. Corn bread is an added treat. None of us had room for dessert but our friend who was celebrating her birthday was served ice cream with the candles that we brought. We all shared. It was a great time and none of us would hesitate to go back again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelma110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KC's Rib Shack also viewed

 

Been to KC's Rib Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing