We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A greasy spoon with character”
Review of Chez Vachon

Chez Vachon
Ranked #41 of 399 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A greasy spoon with character”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you are looking for fine dining than this retaurant is not for you.Chez Vachon is decidely low brow and is the classic "greasy spoon". Normaly i am not a huge fan of these kind of places but this place is an exception. First off the food is extremly cheap. A person could easily eat their fill for under $10. Even better though is the ethnic french canadian classics they keep on their menu. Given Manchesters heritage i feel like there are far to few places in the city offering this cuisine. On my visit i had poutine for an app, followed by salmon pie with stewed tomatoes for lunch. As someone who oders poutine anytime he sees it on a menu i will say for such a local townie spot their poutine is pretty dam good. The fries seem to be handcut and the gravy has a little spice to it. The salmon pie was delicous and along with pork pie is probaly the most authentic french canadian comfort food there is. Its safe to say that next time i am in the 603 and want some early morning food i will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    37
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
142 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Well made Canuk food”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Service was okay, food was slow coming out of the kitchen. Pork pie's a bit gorton tasting (never had clove in pork pie), but it was good (better than Moms). Genuine old New England baked beans. Coffee was very good. Will be back to try more of their dishes.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaAirheadOnTheRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We arrived about 9:00 a.m. to a packed restaurant and stood for maybe 10 minutes before we were seated. Our waitress Sarah was very thorough and when we received our food we were surprised as the food took up the whole plate. A very good Breakfast, great service and we will be back for lunch in the near future.

Carol Taylor
John MacDonald

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mothertaz2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Local Place....Excellent Breakfast”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My mother who lives in Manchester, NH took me here for my birthday breakfast. It was absolutely delicious. My wife got the honey bun french toast.....it was so good. I ordered the eggs benedict and it was hot, the eggs cooked the way I wanted, and the english muffing toasted perfectly. Very great local place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheLemays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville tennessee
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood place”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Anytime we are passing through Manchester, we stop here for breakfast or lunch. NOTE: They close at 2:PM.
A very varied breakfast and lunch menu, plus daily specials. Everything we have ordered is good. Servings are plentiful and prices are very reasonable.
My favorite lunch is the turkey dinner. Favorite breakfast is the Crepe Double, 2 good - and large - crepes, 2 eggs, 2 slices of bacon, 2 sausages and home fries.
Not fancy, very down home. When we were last in, the staff was discussing new carpet selection and the diners joined in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shoresideone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Vachon also viewed

 

Been to Chez Vachon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing