We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get What You Expect, if a newby, then stay away!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Arrow Diner

Red Arrow Diner
Ranked #7 of 396 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Amherst, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
544 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Get What You Expect, if a newby, then stay away!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Getting here is difficult, no obvious parking close by, perhaps most of the people who go here do not drive? Walking in you have the uncomfortable feeling of needing to know "how things work", it is not a user friendly place. Small and cramped, an environment that reinforces "if you do not already know how we operate then you are in the wrong place" as if they enjoy the opportunity to humiliate the people who have not been there before. The food is not such that it overcomes the atmosphere. This is another example of a place that has established a "cult" presence, but not because of the quality of the dining experience, rather it is a group of losers who have established a place to hang out, without regard for the quality of the food offered, this is all about "being", rather than being what it should be.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank michaelr630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    137
    49
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“24 hour diner that lives up to its reputation--great for capping off a night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Quick, hot delicious diner food...breakfast 24 hours a day in a fun atmosphere. The line can be long so be prepared to wait,but it is worth it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bevboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best chocolate chip pancakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We ate here on vacation and were suprised. The chocolate chip pancakes were a good size for the price,and the homemade Twinkies were really good!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HalifaxDoodleFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overrated and Unwelcoming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The waitresses had a bad attitude, as if we weren't worth their time. The menus were filthy and the chairs were broken or on their way there. The rest of the diner had the same. Don't go out of your way to eat there.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1criticalreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

It's average, there is nothing special about it.

I have been going to restraunts for years an I am quite disappointed with this one, the moment I walked in I felt out of place with almost no place to stand and not even a friendly hello. Truly the food is quite average and I'm sure that anyone can make it at home themselves and save their money. Although all the "famous" people seem to go there it really isn't worth it, and it's almost as if the name costs more than the food. And of course the waitresses had a bad attitude and talked loudly so that my peaceful meal was interrupted. And I was upset that NH was represented by a place like this because I know we can do much better.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiverseEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Arrow Diner also viewed

 

Been to Red Arrow Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing