We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ONLY place to go for Mexican Food in Manchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Jimador - CLOSED

El Jimador
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Manchester, New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The ONLY place to go for Mexican Food in Manchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

On a recent vacation to Florida we discovered authentic Mexican food. When we returned back home to Manchester we realized that the American version sold by the other Mexican restaurants in town just did not measure up. Then we stumbled upon El Jimador! La Carreta there's a new restaurant in town and it is El Jimador the only place you should go for Mexican food in the Manchester area. We went in for lunch one afternoon and were greeted by the nicest people not to mention the food is out of this world! We loved it so much that we have been back every week since. Jose, Sr. is one of the owners and his son Jose, Jr., are two of the nicest people. If you like salsas and like authentic Mexican salsa ask Jose, Sr., to try the tomatillo salsa which is severed warm or the guacamole salsa. OUT OF THIS WORLD! We can't say enough about this place, the food, service and the staff. Try it once , and you will come back to try it again. The menu is huge so keep trying something new each time. We will definitely be back soon. Okay, next week.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best in Manch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

By far the best Mexican restaurant in Manchester. I've tried them all and by far they have the best quality in terms of both service and food. Give these guys a shot and you won't be disappointed. Cheers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The food was delicious, plenty of it and the service was great. We will definitely be going again! One thing that stood out was that Frozen Mudslides were not on their regular drink menu, but our server gave it a go and did a great job making it!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CampinNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We are tourists going from Boston to Lincoln nh and have been craving Mexican food-- not much found in Boston. We found this place while driving on the trip advisor ap. so glad we found it! Great food and reasonable prices! Try the chorizo nachoes!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank han0i10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food was great, portions were huge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant does not stick out on Willow Street, but it is worth looking for. Chips and salsa, as well as the meal, were great. Portions were huge. Margaritas were also very tasty. Traveled with a large group and they were extremely pleasant in dealing with the mild inconvenience of such a large party, 10+. The interior is tastefully decorated and very clean. Will visit again when in Manchester.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hogie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jimador also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing