We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly named.”

Baked Downtown Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #14 of 23 Bakeries in Manchester
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
“Poorly named.”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

"Baked" is a place named for its baked goods. I'm dissapointed to say that from what I've had there, (a cupcake, a whoopie pie, and a slice of cake) everything was very dry and absolutely unsatisfying (Both the pastry part, and some how, the frosting). The whoopie pies and cupcakes were also increadibly dense. I also once ordered a cuppacino which was almost all the way filled with foam, and barely any coffee. when I nicely asked for a less reduiculous amount of coffee, I was denied and argued with. The only thing from baked that I'd recommend getting is a smoothie. There is a large variety of fruits to choose from and always come out very refreshing and sweet.
So unless you're into sassy service and desert dry desserts, don't waste your time going to baked.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    7
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“dont get appetizer meatballs gross sauce”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

its a wonderful place and the baked good are amazing. cheaper than dunkins. but get ready to wait if there busy. smoothies are not great for the money they charge (pre-mixed) but woopie pies , cookies sliced cake must haves. they have paper menus if u cant see the bord

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aconway c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Always My First Stop in Manchester for the Best Staff, Service, & Food Around!!!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I always look forward to visiting the staff here and I "Can't wait to get baked!" Everything I try becomes a new favorite. After my first visit I was hooked, and immediately became a regular. I couldn't ask for better company or menu options. So many choices at reasonable prices! The best place around, just bring your appetite. I am sure that you will want to come back often, so it won't take long to fill the coffee or lunch stamp cards to get one free! The only thing they need to add here is a tip jar, because I know it would fill up quickly!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarmaDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Sandwiches, Average Baked Goods”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

After trying some whoopie pies that we purchased from Baked at the Deerfield Fair we decided to go give the actual restaurant/bakery a try. It is a nice storefront right downtown. Parking was convenient and there is plenty of seating inside and some seating out front on the sidewalk. We ordered the Santa Fe Panini with the chicken, chipotle ranch, cheese, peppers & onions. It was very good. We got the chips which were good as well. We tried a few different desserts. Red Velvet Cupcake - Very dry, I would say a few days old, frosting was not very good and the cheese cake center added little to the product. Price was reasonable. Peanut Butter Eclair was very good. Peanut butter filling was very tasty and the eclair was fresh, would recommend. The Chocolate Salty Caramel bar was OK. It did not have a ton of flavor that we were expecting. Overall we would go back but mostly for the meals, not the desserts.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EKDDSDNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Excellent selection of soups, salads, paninis and entrees. Big screen TVs. Great desserts to eat there or take home. The are open until 1 AM. Very friendly staff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gar897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baked Downtown Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Baked Downtown Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing