We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Ash Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ash Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I've stayed here twice. It's an excellent alternative to one of the faceless local hotels, with comfortable rooms, big showers and fabulous breakfasts, especially the fluffy blueberry pancakes cooked up by Eric. Unlike some B&Bs, Eric and Darlene are used to business travellers so although they are unfailingly hospitable they are also very efficient and non-intrusive. All in all, the best choice in Manchester.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 201 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at the Ash Street Inn last summer en route to a week at our friends' home near Mt. Washington, and this B&B just exuded charm. Eric the innkeeper was informative and warm, and was even willing to share his blueberry pancake recipe with me. The inn is stocked full of cookies and treats. Our room was lovely: a 4-poster with a perfect mattress, a fireplace, cushy towels, makeup remover pads (perfect!), and even lip balm. We took a short walk into town and had dinner at the famous Red Arrow Diner, where all the Presidential hopefuls go before the NH primary, so we felt like bona fide locals. The inn is pure delight!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I can't say enough positive things about the Ash Street Inn. During a visit to Manchester, NH, we stayed 2 nights at this exquisite B&B. What a wonderful experience! The house is beautiful and the decor exceptional in every detail. We had a big room with a lovely gas fireplace, comfortable 4-poster bed, flat screen tv, internet access free......and the biggest, softest towels ever. The bathrobes that were waiting in our room for us were big, plush and classy. The morning breakfast offers a menu of choices, rather than the usual host-decides what's for breakfast in other B&B's. The breakfast was delicious with the best blueberry pancakes I ever had! Coffee, tea, cookies and scones were available 24/7 for all guests.
The Ash Street Inn is only 2 blocks from the terrific Currier Museum and the tour of the Frank Lloyd Wright designed Zimmerman house. I have stayed in hundreds of B&B's over the years, both in the states and abroad......and the Ash Street Inn is the best of the best!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This may seem redundant in light of the other excellent reviews, but we rate the Ash Street Inn extremely highly. In fact, it's the best bed-and-breakfast inn we've ever stayed in. Without being ostentatious and without putting on airs, the Inn simply does what a good bed-and-breakfast should do, with courtesy, efficiency and a cozy, homey atmosphere.
Although we visited in mid-fall when there were few other guests, our room was on the main floor near the dining room and we wondered whether we might be some disruptive noise. Not for a moment! Swaddled by cozy blankets, a gas-powered fireplace and tasteful New England decor, we slept very soundly after days of museum-hopping and shopping.
The Ash Street Inn simply hit all the right notes by paying attention to the small but important touches -- from makeup remover pads in the bathroom to a dozen kinds of tea in the always-open dining room to a computer in the main hallway for checking itineraries, shopping, news, etc.
The dining room, which adjoins the guests' kitchen, felt warm and welcoming. For dietary reasons, we had simple breakfasts of cereal, juice and coffee/tea, but the Inn offers a wide selection of hot breakfasts that looked and smelled scrumptious. We very much appreciated being able to go into the fridge in the guests' kitchen to help ourselves to complementary bottled water and yogurt at any time.
Eric the innkeeper struck a perfect balance of distance and friendliness. When we were in the dining room and were talking to each other, he respected our privacy and did not impose. However, when we felt chatty, he was happy to talk about Manchester's history, his experiences as an innkeeper or whatever came to mind.
We strongly recommend the Ash Steet Inn to anyone doing the "tourist thing" in Manchester. It would also be extremely helpful to anyone who is making a long-distance trip to or from one of the large east-coast cities and needs to make a one-night stopover.
If only all bed-and-breakfast inns were like this one!
A very satisfied Montreal couple.

Room Tip: Loved the main-floor bedroom between the parlor and dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanucksQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband and I had stayed at the Ash Street Inn several times over several years, and we were delighted to return to Manchester for the first time in 4 years to stay there again Oct. 5-7, 2011. We stayed in a luxurious first-floor room with a gas fireplace, great for crisp fall nights. What hadn't changed since our last visit were Eric and Darlene's warm and engaging personalities, the super-comfortable bed, and the immaculate room and bath. What had changed was the installation of up-to-the-minute technology by way of a flat-screen TV, wi-fi and a MP-3 player/radio. Thus, it is as appropriate a spot for a romantic get-away as it is for a business trip. Eric is the perfect host, never intrusive but always attentive. The Ash Street Inn makes you invent reasons to go to Manchester just so you can stay there. And, even if you've been away 4 years, Eric remembers and will greet you as if you had just been gone a month.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coupleconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Immaculate, warm, accomodating, convenient and friendly. After a business day away from my home office, this Inn provides me with a peaceful atmosphere that is hard to surpass. The room is furnished with every thing a traveler could want or need, the beds are comfy and the rooms with the fireplaces are wonderful. Your stay can be filled with conversation or personal and quiet, which ever you choose. There are fresh scones and cookies provided in the kitchen all the time -- the wine I brought was always being chilled in an ice bucket in my room when I returned in the evening. I can't say enough about the level of service and product that Eric and Darlene provide-they have thought of everything to make staying at their home a beautiful experience. This so beats the cold chain hotels!

Room Tip: all rooms are private, none are connected to another, bathrooms are spotless. My many return trips t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6LAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Ash Street Inn is a different kind of B&B. Very updated - wifi that really was accessible within the room, a flat screen tv with satellite tv, and even a remote-controlled fireplace. The rooms were well decorated and well-thought out. Luxurious bathroom with its own heater! Most B&B's are places where the owners have a fixed idea of what your relaxing weekend should be and try their best to force you into that mold. While the owners at ASI were ready to provide such a weekend if we desired, they were also very easy going, accomodating, and never overbearing. Very friendly! Our whopping breakfast in the morning put us down for a nap, but we were back and ready to tackle the armada of snacks complete with a magically replenishing pile of tasty baked goods, fruits, and refreshments beckoning us from the common room...would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank student t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown
3.9 mi away
Bedford Village Inn
Bedford Village Inn
#2 of 4 in Bedford
315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Manchester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Court Inn & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester
3.6 mi away
Super 8 Manchester Airport
Super 8 Manchester Airport
#14 of 16 in Manchester
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Street Inn

Address: 118 Ash Street, Manchester, NH 03104
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: $114 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ash Street Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ash Street Inn is the benchmark Bed and Breakfast Inn in Manchester, New Hampshire. Conveniently located minutes from downtown Manchester and only ten minutes from the Manchester airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing