We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps the nicest place we've ever stayed”
Review of Ash Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ash Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
287 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Perhaps the nicest place we've ever stayed”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

What a gem of a building. Our room was impeccable, and I glanced at others that looked equally as nice. Significant architectural details abound. Woodwork, stained glass, turret. This place has been lovingly restored. No detail overlooked in terms of guest amenities. Breakfast to order was wonderful. Baskets of snacks found throughout, and cookies and scones in the kitchen! Eric was a marvelous host. Helpful, friendly and courteous. Our bathroom was modern and spacious. We had a great night's sleep. Only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaChatNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
105
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Actually stayed here way back in August 2006 but am new to Tripadvisor and this place made such an impression that I wanted to add a review now. There's not much to add, mind you, just that this is a magical B&B with a very generous couple of hosts who do everything they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. There's even random snacks about the place and your welcome to make some very nice coffee or to help yourself to a drink from the fridge whenever you wish. They also cook a mean breakfast. I hope to return some day!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElstonDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Ash Street Inn. It was our first time at a B&B so I was a little hesitant. When I think B&B I always worry if the place is going to be old and creepy, if the innkeepers are going to be constantly bothering you, and if it will be awkward in the morning to have to eat breakfast with strangers. The Ash Street Inn was perfect and put all of my preconcieved prejudices of B&B's aside. The Inn is very quaint and extremeley clean. It is modern but still has that rustic, old fashioned feel to it. The room had every ammenity you could possibly imagine needing. Eric, the Innkeeper, was extremely friendly and even helped suggest things to do in the area. Our breakfast was delicious, with a choice of pretty much anything we wanted, cooked to order. There was no set time for breakfast and the kitchen was set up with tiny tables like a restaurant. I would highly reccomend this place, and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CherylB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2011

All around wonderful experience. Tastefully designed rooms and bathrooms, very comfortable beds, delicious breakfast/snacks, walking distance of restaurants and stadiums, and Directv/Ipod player were welcome amenities. Kudos to the innkeepers for thinking of everything.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bks044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We stayed at the Ash Street Inn to enjoy the fall colors in NH. Eric, our host , was marvelous; friendly, courteous and helpful. The room and breakfast were both excellent. We look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32840David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I recently traveled with my college age daughter to New Hampshire. Feeling safe and confident about your destination is imperative. What a lovely treat to stay at here! We arrived very late, but everything we needed was left out for us and easy to find. Our room in the beautiful Victorian home was immaculate and filled with everything we could have needed. Delicious tea and scones were out for our enjoyment. A delicious made to order breakfast was provided along with great advice and conversation with the owner and other guests.. who seemed as happy to be there as we were. One block from the Currier Museum, which is a gem.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlabamaHappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed at the Ash Street in for two days and I must say it is a wonderfully run place and immaculately kept up. The rooms are very clean and warm. There is a great coal fireplace that lights up simply by hitting a button. The place is so well kept up with pain and furniture that you find it hard to believe that it is 125 years old! Eric, the Innkeeper, and his wife are very pleasant and hospitable. We were amazed a all the little extras we found. All the amenities are clearly labeled so that there is no confusion about anything. You get complimentary snacks and mints and very elegant rooms. The beds are very comfortable and if it gets chilly the fireplace keeps you plenty warm. It's a very homey atmosphere and a pleasure to stay there. If you are in the area, be sure to check this one out. It's rare to find a B&B so well kept and managed. Kudos to the Innkeepers. A great experience!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopper0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Manchester
Radisson Hotel Manchester
#4 of 16 in Manchester
1,247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Court Inn & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester Airport
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Street Inn

Property: Ash Street Inn
Address: 118 Ash Street, Manchester, NH 03104
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ash Street Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ash Street Inn is the benchmark Bed and Breakfast Inn in Manchester, New Hampshire. Conveniently located minutes from downtown Manchester and only ten minutes from the Manchester airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing