We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fun and Informative!

A group of three of us joined a larger group yesterday to visit both FLW homes in Manchester. We... read more

Reviewed November 20, 2021
katiebreen
,
new hampshire
Two for One!

How exciting to find two Frank Lloyd Wright houses on the same street in Manchester. We were headed... read more

Reviewed September 22, 2021
lpMaggi713
,
Baltimore, Maryland
Read all 158 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Manchester
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
105
37
12
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
105
37
12
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frank lloyd wright currier museum take pictures square feet new hampshire couple of hours flw usonian architecture homes tour furniture carport heather overhang
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 158 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2017

There's only so many tours per day and only 12 people per tour. Plan accordingly. Take a shuttle to the house. I loved this. Everything is just as the Zimmermans left it (Mr. passed on first) including clothing in the closets, books on the shelves, all the original furnishings. Wow - it's like stepping back in time. Our docent, Elizabeth, was phenomenal!!! No photography inside unfortunately. Very unique how it's all laid out. Marvel at the tiny bed in the master bedroom. So many neat things to take in. Great for FLW fans and architecture fans and SMALL LIVING fans - this is the original pared down life style. Make sure you see how the dining table can be rearranged. Ticket cost includes museum admittance.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank b d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017

You may purchase advance tickets online and I would advise doing so. The fee for the Zimmerman House also covers your entry fee to the museum. You meet at the Currier Museum of Art and a shuttle bus takes you the 1 mile or so to the Zimmerman house. We had two docents the day we went and it was very informative and interesting. If you are interested in anything FLW, you will want to visit.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

Our guide Pam was excellent. She knew her stuff, could answer any questions, and kept our interest for 90 minutes. She made up feel comfortable in the home.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

The Zimmerman House was my first Frank Lloyd Wright home to visit. What a treat! You must purchase your ticket at the Currier Museum in town; you cannot just drive yourself to the home and visit, this is a piece of "art" and part of the museum. Be sure to call ahead and make a reservation. We arrived in the afternoon at the museum and were told there was no home tour opening, all booked up, so we scheduled our tour for the next day. Entrance to the Currier Museum is also part of your ticket when you buy for the FLW home. You will be driven a short way to the home in a van, there were 8 of us on this tour. Our guide, Jim, was incredible and shared so much information with us. You could definitely tell he had a passion for this home and he was outstanding. The tour took about 90 minutes. I loved seeing this home and going back in time to 1952. What a treat.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank CharismaJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017

We visited the house last Saturday on a typical late spring day in NH. Sort of cloudy but warm. I've seen many FLW houses, and this one was not extraordinary. It reminded me of Taliesin West but without the spectacular setting an view. This house sits on a typical urban-suburban street and is set diagonally on an almost square lot. Beautiful and appropriate landscaping with shade plantings. Good ideas for those of us with too much shade in our yards. Because the house is long and narrow (from front to back) the views into the yard are excellent. It appears Mrs. Zimmerman did her own housework and entertained frequently. The kitchen is small but extremely functional. Because it's a museum, tour guests are unable to touch anything (even on the outside of the house) which limits information about the textures of wood and materials used and interiors of closets or cupboards except for those the tour-guide is able to show. This is different from other FLW houses and church I have visited further west. Visitors wear supplied booties inside the house. Also, visitors are transported from the Currier Museum. Passes to the Zimmerman House tour cover entry to the Currier Museum.

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank Darien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews