We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“False advertising through groupon” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milly's Tavern

Milly's Tavern
Ranked #88 of 396 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
1 review
“False advertising through groupon”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Very unsatisfied with my visit here. Took a long time for the food to be served and they didn't honor the deal. Didn't understand what the actual deal was when they discounted whatever we paid for. It's like getting a gift card to a restaurant. Beer was just ok

Helpful?
Thank Sidrit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    11
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Love the pumpkin ale”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Milly's is a great place if you like the bar scene. Their pumpkin ale is delicious. Food is ordinary and the place feels 'dingy'.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mamajam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Slooooooow”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

First we ordered fish and chips(The special of the day).It took almost an hour for the food to arrive.We were the only ones waiting for food! Fish takes 5 minutes to fry.Potatoes takes about the same time.Where did the cook go? To the river to catch the fish?Kept asking for our food.We were told i'll go check.That took awhile.Used to love the place.WON"T GO BACK!!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“lucky to find good food and craft beer while passing through town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

It was lunch time and Milly's sign caught our attention while sightseeing around the Univ. of New Hampshire area of Manchester. The river nearby was lovely, decorated with the Fall colors behind it. After some confusion we located the stairway down to the tavern. It is spacious inside with a large bar and many tables, but with the subdued lighting and warm atmosphere it feels cozy. There were also adjacent rooms with a pool table and games.
It was a cold, blustery day so the chili was welcome and delicious, as were our sandwiches, and the service was friendly and efficient. We enjoyed tasting several excellent beers.
I also judge a place by its restrooms, and I enjoyed the philosophical excerpts about beer and its history on the stall doors.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank claireleefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food, GREAT Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Yet another outdoor adventure, this time, a Mt Chocorua hike, ends with a nice meal & beers at Milly's. We love their on-site brewed beers - the pumpkin ale was a favorite, and the saison and cream ale were also excellent. The food is pub food, but with some nice healthy possibilities: "Espinaca" was a group appetizer of chips and veggies served with a hot & spicy cheese-spinach dip - excellent! My 1/2 lb pub burger was done medium rare and was perfect for a post hike meal. My wife had the chili (award-winning apparently) but didn't really care for it that much. Our guests enjoyed their meals immensely: chicken taco salad & chicken sandwich. Not fancy, but solid fare... and did I mention the beer was great?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mclynch55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milly's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Milly's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing