We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food , great beer slection”

Strange Brew Tavern
Ranked #79 of 400 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food , great beer slection”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

let me first say , parking for this restaurant leaves alot to be desired - parking meters & far away on a cold night ! my daughter & i went on a friday nite to celebrate her birthday ! the place was crazy busy ! but we managed to be seated almost right away ! the choice of brews was extensive & fabulous ! my daughter got the fried shrimp & scallops ; & i got the jambolaya over rice ! hers was tasty & mine was very good , albeit somewhat spicy ( for me ) ! service was as prompt as could be expected for a busy night & the prices were reasonable ! would definitely go back any time i got the chance =visiting my daughter or the local v.a. hospital = 40 miles from home !

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donald s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    47
    21
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
186 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good Beer - Great Burgers !!1”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Title says it all !! Lots of good tap beer & COLD bottled beer ! Excellent burgers - Wednesdays the burgers are 1/2 priced !!! Excellent fresh cut fries & very good homemade onion rings !! Service could be better but it's OK.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PEIGOLFER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Beer selection”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Dark cavern like interior that is fun; varied and unique clientele; the best beer selection around........stuff you haven't seen in years or never heard of.............

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great after work spot!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Great after work spot to get half price apps and $2 drinks. A personal favorite because there is always live music and great cheer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimBruneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
740 reviews
575 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Holy cow - check out their beer menu!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Try one of their beer samplers. Why? They have a huge selection, they're pretty cheap, and oh man - they're sooo good!
Also, the food is pretty decent. Nothing to rave about, but it's standard bar/pub food. However, definitely excellent compared to other restaurants in Manchester AND the beer menu is amazing. Did I mention the beer menu already?

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strange Brew Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Strange Brew Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing