We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is very good!”
Review of Athens Restaurant

Athens Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 399 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: European, Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester
Level Contributor
314 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Food is very good!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The food here is really good, baked lamb, or lamb of any type is a priority. Dinners served with delicious rice/red sauce, stewed potatoes, spinach, endive, and other assortments. They have a dry Crete table wine which is awesome.

Three stars is for the run down booths, and overall tacky atmosphere. You should also consider this area is a little sketchy at night with that park people across the street and a tough looking crowd at bar a couple doors down

Next time we go, we plan to do takeout, food is really that good, and you get enough for two meals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tqmman2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing lamb”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great food, huge portions, excellent staff, what is not to like? Lamb was melt in your mouth tender, and desert was a pie-sized piece of baklava.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food, Good value, Large portions, Nice staff.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service, Awesome baked lamb..classic greek preparations, one block from to Verizon arena...that works for me!

Yes the decor is "classic" and maybe slightly dated, but I Personally care more about the quality of the food, friendliness of the staff and owner, and the relative value of the items on the menu, then I care about whether I think the Greek murals are cool or retro or old or whatever!

Go...enjoy, its a good place, with delightfully classic greek cuisine, served in nice large portions by a friendly staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandmantv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Authentic Gem in downtown Manchester”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went here mainly because so many places are closed on Sunday evenings. Only 3 tables occupied in a place that holds 50+ tables. Service was exceptional. Food was delicious. Best Spanikopita (sp?) I've had in ages! Huge portion, we had enough food leftover to have a lunch and another dinner. Decor could definitely use an update,I suspect nothing's been done in the 30 years they've been in business, but the place seemed clean and well taken care of. We will go back again! As for special occasions, we were told the large banquet area was used mostly for funeral luncheons and office parties. The only reason I am not giving this 5 stars is for decor....food was certainly 5 star.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mamajam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“My Third Visit and Eager for My Fourth”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I love lamb, and I love Greek cuisine. How could I not love Athens Restaurant? Succulent lamb regardless of preparation, huge portions, authentic Greek side dishes, realistic pricing, friendly service and convenient location with plenty of nearby parking. Someday, I might try some of the other house specialties, but its hard to stray from the best lamb shank I've ever eaten.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RickNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Athens Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing