We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Gem in downtown Manchester”
Review of Athens Restaurant

Athens Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 404 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: European, Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Authentic Gem in downtown Manchester”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went here mainly because so many places are closed on Sunday evenings. Only 3 tables occupied in a place that holds 50+ tables. Service was exceptional. Food was delicious. Best Spanikopita (sp?) I've had in ages! Huge portion, we had enough food leftover to have a lunch and another dinner. Decor could definitely use an update,I suspect nothing's been done in the 30 years they've been in business, but the place seemed clean and well taken care of. We will go back again! As for special occasions, we were told the large banquet area was used mostly for funeral luncheons and office parties. The only reason I am not giving this 5 stars is for decor....food was certainly 5 star.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mamajam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    23
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“My Third Visit and Eager for My Fourth”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I love lamb, and I love Greek cuisine. How could I not love Athens Restaurant? Succulent lamb regardless of preparation, huge portions, authentic Greek side dishes, realistic pricing, friendly service and convenient location with plenty of nearby parking. Someday, I might try some of the other house specialties, but its hard to stray from the best lamb shank I've ever eaten.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RickNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashua
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classic greek”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

A much needed greek eatery done by Greeks for all to enjoy. This is true greek food with character. The decor is dated, but honestly just enjoy the avegolemeno soup and stuffed grape leaves!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best soup and lamb in New England!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I would recommend Athens to anyone looking for a great meal - Greek or American. Terrific service and value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBumD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous Moussaka”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I've eaten here several times, and it never disappoints. It's hard to pick anything other than the moussaka, simply because they do it so well. Best I've had outside Athens, Greece, and the portion is huge. The lamb is spectacular. I also recommend having a glass of either retsina or the mavrodaphne. My cousin had the vegetable plate and I sampled - wonderful. My other cousin had the lamb. Service is always good - most of these people have worked here for years and truly know their stuff. While the decor may be dated, it is clean. Regardless of what it looks like, it is truly a Manchester treasure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank castlesara2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Athens Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing