We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utter nonsense”
Review of India Palace - CLOSED

India Palace
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Buffet, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Takeout
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Utter nonsense”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

this is not how Indian food tastes, they are fooling every one around.
4 of us had been for dinner here, ordered a vegie platter ..
when the platter came, we could smell a bad odor from alu bonda.
when we asked him about that smell to the cheff, he says "this is a fresh alu, this is what we used to prepare another dish"
who know when that dish was prepared...

so moral of the story is.. if you want Indian food..in Manchester,NH.. this one is a perfect NO

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DesuSuresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Lunch Buffet.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Since moving to NH from New York (Buffalo, which had surprising number of Indian restaurant), and prior to that Philadelphia, we really missed eating a good Indian food buffet. After a year of living here, we finally got to India Palace at Manchester. It's located at a nondescript strip mall. The decor is OK. Nothing fancy. They serve lunch buffet everyday until 2pm (I know that because one day we got there at 155pm!). The buffet selection is decent. They have couple vegetarian dishes, and ~ 3 meat dishes (mostly just chicken dishes, tandoori, tikka masala, curry ect). Food tasted good. Not the best Indian food I had (which was at London), but good enough that I can't wait to go back soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjczoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very pricey”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Wow, very expensive, they charge 3.95 for Nan (Regular bread), where I got the same for 0.99 in CA?????
All items overpriced.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SamNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
202 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best Indian cuisine in the state”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This restaurant has a buffet during the day (which is very good), but some of the best items should be ordered from the menu. We frequently dine in, where have always had excellent service. One thing I really appreciate about India Palace is their care for people with food allergies. I have an allergy to tree nuts, and they are always great about making sure my dishes are safe for me to eat. I have never, ever had a problem here. The restaurant is small, and the decor is beautiful and interesting. They have a collection of paintings by the same talented artist, so it's always nice to look at the art while we're dining. We also get take-out frequently, and the service over the phone is also excellent; it is always very easy to order from them. This is what we did tonight, actually.

Recommendations:
Appetizers- Vegetable Pakora (mix of vegetables formed into a kind of fritter and fried), House Special Platter if you eat meat/cheese (comes with a little of everything).

Main Course- Baingan Bhartha (this eggplant dish is so smooth and delicious; order this extra spicy!), Lamb Saag (also very smooth and the lamb has never been overcooked or undercooked), Chicken Vindaloo (always a good standard chicken dish with potatoes). They took Chicken Dal Piazza off the menu, but you can still get it if you ask for it (lentils and chicken; order extra spicy!)

Bread - Garlic Naan (we always order an extra just in case; LOTS of garlic so don't order this if you want non-garlic breath tomorrow. Go for the regular naan instead.).

If you are getting take-out, make sure you have enough rice. 2 main dishes come with 1 order of rice, so we always order an extra rice.

India Palace also has other locations: Nashua, NH and Chelmsford, MA but I have only been tot he one in Manchester.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlNH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I've never had a bad meal here. Everything is tasty and fresh. Dangerous place because we always order too much and then can't stop eating! ;-) The staff is a bit stiff, and the atmosphere is just OK, but we go there for the food.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 333DDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Palace also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing