We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids”
Review of King Pine

King Pine
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Madison
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: King Pine is located in East Madison, New Hampshire and has established a rich tradition of delivering enjoyment for kids and their families. King Pine is part of the Purity Spring Resort, located on a pristine private lake, and has celebrated over one hundred years of hospitality. Since 1939, a King Pine institution has been in Ski and Snowboard Camp for kids. This tradition is the longest running ski camp in the country. The Hoyt family has owned Purity Spring since the late 1800's and offers a variety of year-round family camp destinations, including Camp Tohkomeupog for Boys, Danforth Bay Camping & RV Resort, The Bluffs RV Resort (exclusively for adults), Hoyt Wildlife Sanctuary, Purity Spring Resort, and King Pine Ski Area. King Pine is conveniently located to the south-east of the White Mountains and it's proximity to Boston and the surrounding area, makes it a popular destination for skiers all across New England. King Pine is known for its family-friendly atmosphere, affordability, consistent snow conditions, and lodging options.
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The instructors are fabulous here. The mountain is very small but it's perfect if you have little ones learning to ski. My four year old ethan loves this place and cant stop talking about his instructor Jessie. He's been talking about getting lessons from her all summer.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dibs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    16
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Lebanon, NH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“King Pine Lodge”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Quiet, comfortable room, with a nice view. Everything we hoped for. It would have been nice to have a view of the lake.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank marlis3623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good skiing.”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

i enjoyed the skiing and the people who work there. they served me my meal and drink in styrofoam, i didn't know weather to laugh or cry. styrofoam never breaks down and i found it all over while i was skiing. for a place that offers green weddings they are not very green, in fact i would say the complete opposite. an extra 5cents wont break the budget, which is passed on to the consumers anyways.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rustyspoon603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“King Pine...always friendly and fun”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place offers ski packages from all lifts all day, to the inexpensive 'fitness pass', for 2:30 -4PM. Great family mountain, not big, but great fun.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank CountryMouse02116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great skiing - Great Service and Staff!”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We visited King Pine in February half-term, flying in from the UK. Prior to arriving at KP, we were concerned about the poor snow fall so far this winter in New England. Well, our concerns were unfounded as the skiing conditions at KP were fantastic.

Our accommodations were warm and comfortable, although the decor was a little dated. We found this to be quite quaint! The overall condition of the accommodation was good, and the beds were comfortable. The room was spotlessly clean, and the daily housekeeping service was friendly and efficient.

Our rates included free mid-week lift tickets. This was phenomenal value as the room was costing around $80 per night, with free skiing, ice skating, snow shoeing and Nordic skiing. We chose to have breakfast in the Traditions Restaurant, which was delicious. Every day, we were treated to home-made goodies and hearty food. This was very good value.
.
The resort itself is well-run with courteous and helpful staff, and great grooming on the trails. There were not many skiers present early in the day, but the local home schooling club, seniors, college kids and vacationers all contributed a lively buzz and atmosphere.

There is a tubing park, a great health club with heated indoor pool, a cafeteria in the base lodge, and a ski shop too. Rentals seem to be good value, although we collected our rentals from Mountain Sports in North Conway and got a 10% discount for booking online.

There is a good variety of trails, and the lifts are sensibly located. We could tumble out of bed and be skiing 3 minutes later! It's definitely a family resort, although our teens had a great time and didn't get bored.

We're hoping to go again in January or February 2013. We might try out Black Mountain or Attitash for a bit of variety.
In summary -great value, great for families and a really relaxing vacation. We'll be back!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Pine also viewed

 
Madison, White Mountains
Madison, White Mountains
 

Been to King Pine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing