We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect family mini-vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purity Spring Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Purity Spring Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Eaton Rd, Rte. 153, Madison, NH 03849   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Click To Save
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Almost perfect family mini-vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We booked a last minute weekend getaway at the Purity Springs Resort. There must be something in that spring water because every staff person we came into contact with was so nice and helpful. We had a two bedroom suite at the inn, and the room was recently updated and extremely clean. The beds were SO comfortable. All the amenities make this place worth it, besides skiing at King Pine one day our family enjoyed the ice rink, nice indoor pool, and the little game room. We're giving this place 4 stars only because of some confusion/lack of communication about meal options, and special events ( we missed a tubing event and a sleigh ride event which I'm sure our kids would have loved.) The waitstaff at the Traditions restaurant were the nicest -- so great with our kids -- but the food was just OK... Nothing to rave about.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank TwoWolfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    51
    11
    13
    5
See reviews for
82
33
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Before leaving home, I called the resort and asked if there is a coffee maker in the room. The response was YES. After arriving to the room, there was no coffee maker. This is what I was told after calling the front desk: THE ROOM YOU ARE STAYING AT HAS NO COFFEE MAKER AS IT IS AN ELECTRICAL HAZARD FOR THAT ROOM. YOU CAN HAVE A COFFEE AT THE RESTAURANT STARTING AT 07:00 AM OR YOU CAN PUT A JACKET AND CROSS THE STREET TO HAVE A COFFEE AT 06:00 AM. What a great customer service! Oh, I forgot to mention that the room has a microwave and a small fridge which are not electric hazard!

Room Tip: If you want to be treated as uneducated, go there!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We recently visited Purity Springs Resort with our three young children (5, 5 & 11). It's hard to find a ski resort that it completely geared toward the young family...this is it. From the amazing ski school/ski instructors to the slope-side lodging, to the indoor pool and hot tub, we can't wait to get back there!! Their staff is very friendly and accommodating. It's a great place for first time skiers up to experienced skiers. There's a slope for all skill levels. They have an outdoor, covered ice skating rink and a great tubing park. We stayed at the King Pine lodge which is an older lodge at the base of the mountain. The ski school, tubing park, lifts and skating rink were all within 100 yards of our door. The pool and restaurant are a short walk or 1 minute drive down the street although there is a snack bar and pub inside the lodge we stayed at so you really don't need to leave. The best part is that it's all reasonably priced with lift and ski school tickets well below other New England resort prices. This is our new favorite winter destination!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the King Pine lodge. It was a quiet nice place with the exception of the snow grooming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An American living in Northwest England
Level Contributor
189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We came here in mid-November, just for a break. Long past the foliage sealn and before the skiers arrived So while we weren't able to take advantage of a lot of the resort amenities -swimming in Purity Lake, kayaks and canoes, BBQ and picnic tables - we still had a delightful, quiet stay. The indoor pool was lovely and the changing and locker rooms made it easy to enjoy. Bring your bathing suits.
The resort is spread out, there's a main in and then a lot of small cottages. We were in Lakeside, which housed two guest rooms, and really was just at the edge of the lake. Wonderful. You do have to walk across the street to get to the restaurant for dinner or breakfast, but it is close.
The room was lovely. Very big. Nice big bed, wonderful linens and pillows. There was a twin daybed as well, which was nice to use as a couch for lounging. Good amount of dresser storage. A small fridge, coffee-maker, microwave, and an Iphone docking station/alarm clock/radio which we really enjoyed since it provided a good selection of music including classical.
Luxuriously big bathroom, great hot shower (it was 13° F outside in the morning) and a nice flat-screen TV. Everything was spotlessly clean.
The view out over the lake was beautiful, and breakfasts were excellent. All the people we encountered were friendly and helpful. I'm sure the place gets Much busier in season, but we loved being there in one of the quiet times. Still, it'd be great to come back in the summer to enjoy the lake in a more active way. This place is not 4-star luxury, but it is five-star clean and comfortable. You can tell that the people who run Purity Spring really care about their place and the people who stay here.

The King Pine Ski Area (and a great looking outdoor ice skating rink) is about a 1/4 mile up the road. Easy access to the Conway and North Conway areas, too.

Room Tip: Lakeview Cottage (two rooms available in it) was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJP-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a family reunion here with 70 people. The Hoyt Family and staff were absolutely wonderful! The food was excellent. The lodging was clean and comfortable. The amenities were great! We kayaked, canoed, played at the beach on the climbing wall in the lake and water-skiied! The indoor poor and outside tennis courts were included as well as the ready-to-light bonfire. They set up game rooms with puzzles and ping-pong tables and the DVD player to watch family movies. If something could be perfect, that stay was. People came from all over the country and as far away as Japan. Although the resort is situated in the beautiful White Mountains with hundreds of shopping, food and attractions for all ages, you don't have to leave the resort for anything if you don't want to. Everything was included in our stay (except if we had alcohol with our dinner). They pull no punches. I think winter skiing may be an extra charge, but other than that, your vacation will be an all inclusive wonderful, memorable time! We stayed in the King Pine Lodge and it accomodated everyone, but there are lots of choices on their 75 acres.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

From the moment we checked in with a very enthusiastic staff, to the delightful breakfast in our inn - this was definitely a great place to stay. The rooms are not fancy, but very comfortable and the rooms in the main inn are convenient for meals. We enjoyed our breakfast the next morning. Our Travelzoo deal allowed us to order anything off the menu. Our room was across the road from the lake and wished we had more time to explore it and the audubon land that is adjacent to it. The hot tub/pool closes early (8:00 p.m.) and were a bit disappointed, but otherwise, this is a perfect place to stay as a couple and/or family. We also enjoyed one of the best meals in nearby Snowvillage Inn (the cedar plank salmon is to die for!)

Room Tip: Our room was to the front of the Inn and the road noise could be easily heard. It might be good to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parkerrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

In a world of ultra standardized resorts finding the Purity Spring Resort was a great surprise. Tucked in the hills between the Lakes region and the White Mountains the great chalets of the resort are cozy, comfortable, green and so integrated to nature that we could feel in a shack. The pond where we can freely practice water sports activities is great some of the pictures I took there could be easily be perceived as post cards. Moreover the service was so kind that I did feel at home. Not to mention the tennis courts, pools, etc, etc that I couldn't even have the time to experience. Can't barely wait do come back to New England and preferably to this charming hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julio_Arraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
12.5 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
11.2 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
12.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#4 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#2 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
17.9 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purity Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purity Spring Resort

Property: Purity Spring Resort
Address: 1251 Eaton Rd, Rte. 153, Madison, NH 03849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Purity Spring Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over 100 years of hospitality and outdoor recreation, family-owned Purity Spring Resort has long catered to families, groups and guests looking for traditional country lodging in a setting of forests, lakes and mountains. The resort property surrounds pristine Purity Lake, which offers unblemished shorelines, sandy beaches, bogs and heaths, and is adjacent to a NH Audubon Wildlife Sanctuary. In addition to an indoor pool and fitness center, guests can enjoy kayaking, waterskiing, hiking and biking during the warmer months plus alpine/xc skiing, snowshoeing, snowtubing, skating and sleigh rides during the winter season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Purity Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purity Spring Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing