We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised and delighted!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Purity Spring Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprised and delighted!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I bought a Travelzoo deal and stayed for 2 nights. The staff were welcoming and warm. We were a little confused as to where to check-in as there are no signs for the main check-in area. However, the women at the front desk noticed us walking around outside trying to find the entrance door and welcomed us right in.

We were mistakenly booked in a double twin room and we were upgraded to a suite as no king beds were available. The accommodations were clean and orderly. The room had dated decor and linen but the bed was comfortable and a flat screen TV was mounted on the wall.

We were lucky enough to have snow fall so early in the season but none of the regularly scheduled activities were going on the weekend we were there. So unfortunately, we didn't get to go on a sleigh ride or sit by a bon fire, or go ice skating etc... The pool and hot tub were very clean and it was refreshing to swim.

Dinner one night was plated meals and the other night was a nice buffet. The breakfast had much to offer and the staff went out if their way to please you.

We are a young couple and enjoyed the facilities in the off season time. There were several children around during meals but overall it wasn't overwhelming. Purity Springs is a family resort full of fun stuff, when seasonally available.

I would have given a full 5 circle review but the rooms need a bit of updating.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    52
    14
    14
    5
See reviews for
91
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We're back!

We purchased a trip to Purity Resort from Travelzoo, upgrading to the King suite lakeside including breakfast and dinner for two for 2 nights thinking how bad could it be? Well we found out very quickly how Good It would Be! Upon check in the front desk girls point to our unit across the street on the lake, and we said "really"? They also pointed to the indoor pool and restaurant, also across the street. Walking into the unit Kathy immediately said "Martha Stuart decorated this unit, I love the colors". We had no idea what we were in store for. The lake front was 20 feet from our door, with canoes available any time. The foliage, slightly gone by was still amazing. Dinner at the restaurant was very busy, served buffet style, choices were plentiful and good. Wait staff, Kris, Regis and Kate added to our memorable 2 days we spent at Purity Resort. What we discovered at Purity Resort from this visit was amazing year round vacationing as well as a ski resort area for the family. We do intend to return with our children and grand children for family vacations for the 4 seasons of New England

Thanks Purity Springs Resorts

Tom and Kathy

Room Tip: Our room was 149 Lake side. This unit is very close to the restaurant and pool. We might prefer a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capecod080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We and another couple stayed here for 2 nights in mid Nov with a Travelzoo promotion and were pleasantly surprised. Staff were very nice (initially allowing us to move our dates one week ahead so we didn't have to drive up from MA in a nor'easter!). We had Rm127 . . large, clean, surprised by the extra 2 beds in a separate bedroom. Our friends were upstairs in the same building. Front desk staff was always friendly and helpful in giving us maps for hiking around the area - the first afternoon we did a loop around the lake. Dinner had several choices . . . there was a staff celebration going on in one room, but we were still given full attention. We felt like we had the place to ourselves in the main building, selecting a movie from their array and all 4 of us getting comfortable in one of the living rooms to watch it. Breakfast was also great - - waitresses were friendly, accommodating. just wonderful at every meal. Spent our 2nd day hiking various spots along the Kangamagus Highway and then shopping in North Conway. Another great dinner and breakfast - - almost private dining in this mid-week trip. We'd certainly go there again, and encourage our friends to join us! Great location for outdoor walks as well as close to shopping areas. We saw the pool and spa in the building across the street but didn't have time to use it. Great place to relax. . and great value!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredteacher12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon...horrible mistake. The staff could not have been more unfriendly. They wouldn't let our family upgrade us as a wedding gift because we got a deal through travelzoo when we booked the trip. Room was clean but soooo far from the rest of the resort and very very small. We had to leave early because Hurricane Sandy was barreling up the East Coast and we live in a flood zone so we wanted to get home before it hit...you would think in this circumstance they would refund us seeing as a natural disaster was about to happen--or atleast give us a voucher to come again some other time but no. There was "nothing they could do about it." You would think for a family run business they would be much more friendly and accommodating and have much better customer service skills. They never even said congratulations to us on our marriage. We were sorely dissapointed with this place. Furthermore, they were located in the middle of nowhere. We will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the King Pine Lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuritySpring, Owner at Purity Spring Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Amanda,
I am truly saddened to hear that you were treated this way by one of my staff. My family has been welcoming and caring for guests for over four generations, and I am ashamed for the way you were treated. I am sincerely embarrassed that one of our guests was treated so rudely. If you don't mind, I would like to know more specifics about your encounter with the staff, and would like to try to make things right with you and your new husband. I would also like to say congratulations on behalf of the entire Hoyt family and know that we wish you all the best in your new future together.
Please, if you don’t mind contacting me directly at 603 367-4000, I wish to speak with you in detail about what happened.
Sincerely,
Steven Hoyt,
Owner, Purity Spring Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife, daughter and I ended up staying here because of a Travelzoo promotion, otherwise we would probably not know of its existence. The location was great being only a few minutes from N. Conway. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was exceptionally good (both supper and breakfast). We will definitely be returning and highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEJD7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed overnight at Purity Springs Resort and loved it! We were lucky to have perfect late October weather so we were able to hike and use the free canoes on the lake. It was really lovely.
Our room (#112) was huge and comfortable (though a tad too warm). It had a microwave, coffeemaker and fridge. We had a balcony and the sound of the waterfall that was just a few yards away. It also overlooked the lake. The food was amazing...a buffet style dinner and breakfast. Both were excellent and had plenty of choices. The food was very good. Also, all the personnel here are extremely friendly and helpful. Heartily recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel1627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place was a gem. Great property with plenty to do. We stayed two nights and should have planned more time there. There was so much to do in the area, we didn't get to do everything that was offered on the property. Maybe I'm easy to please, but I overheard people saying they didn't like certain things and I wondered where they were coming from. I thought the people and the resort was great. I thought it was a great deal and breakfast and dinner was included. I plan on returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYWayneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
12.5 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
12.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
13.8 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
19.2 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purity Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purity Spring Resort

Property: Purity Spring Resort
Address: 1251 Eaton Rd, Madison, NH 03849-4316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Purity Spring Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over 100 years of hospitality and outdoor recreation, family-owned Purity Spring Resort has long catered to families, groups and guests looking for traditional country lodging in a setting of forests, lakes and mountains. The resort property surrounds pristine Purity Lake, which offers unblemished shorelines, sandy beaches, bogs and heaths, and is adjacent to a NH Audubon Wildlife Sanctuary. In addition to an indoor pool and fitness center, guests can enjoy kayaking, waterskiing, hiking and biking during the warmer months plus alpine/xc skiing, snowshoeing, snowtubing, skating and sleigh rides during the winter season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Purity Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purity Spring Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing