We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
43
6
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday buffet water toys picnic tables perfect place wedding venue rented cabins new hampshire beautiful lake science museum super accommodating amazing location paddle boards cozy cabins look forward live music comfortable beds new friends
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 50 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

We've gone to Loch Lyme Lodge for 9 years now and every year is better and better. It's the most peaceful vacation yet there is never a dull moment. So many activities to be done on your own schedule and beautiful scenery all around. Delicious food and super staff make this a carefree vacation. It's my sons favorite week of the year!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank Amycapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2014

We stayed here for a night in the summer of 2013 and liked it so much we decided to host our wedding here in September 2014. The cabins are rustic, but quite charming. Good linens and comfortable sofas make a nice touch, but the cabins do show their age. The owners and property managers couldn't be more accommodating. Jay was very helpful in the months leading up to our wedding by managing reservations, providing recommendations, receiving packages for us, and he even helped us rent an extra tent a the last minute when the weather looked threatening. It's always smart when planning a wedding to have a rain/weather plan - and that's especially true here, because the barn isn't currently available and the cabins aren't winterized. The lake is absolutely beautiful, and serves as the perfect backdrop to outdoor meals and/or a ceremony. All in all, our guests had a great weekend and we hope to be back again soon. Perfect for weddings, reunions, and get-togethers. This is a very special place, and it's nice to know it's in such good hands.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Arthur8129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We’d departed our Boston area home to spend a few days exploring back roads in New Hampshire and Vermont. For the first night we chose to stay near Lyme , NH just a few miles north of Hanover, NH, the home of Dartmouth College. We made a reservation by telephone at the Lock Lyme Lodge. For background, as a boy I had attended a now-defunct camp, Camp Pinnacle, which had operated for many years on the same hillside. My father attended the same camp in the 1920s, and perhaps Loch Lyme Lodge was there then. I recall having a special dinner with my parents at the Loch Lyme Lodge in the 1950s. It was the preferred place to stay when visiting the camp. Very little has changed.
The cabin “Knollwood” was suggested when we made the reservation. The quoted price for Monday, August 26 was $180, plus tax, for a total of $207.10 including breakfast. I can summarize all the following comments by saying: At $70 per night, even $100 or $120 I suppose this might have been fair value. At $200 per night this was absurdly overpriced. There were families with small children staying in some of the other 1 or 2 BR cabins. I can only hope that what they paid was more closely aligned with what they got than in our experience.
The old wood cabin is unchanged in the more than 60 years since it was built except of the ravages of time. It had that anticipated, even welcomed, old cabin mustiness. Nostaligia is good. And we opened the windows and aired it out. But the furniture, such as it was, belonged in (or came from) a low-end garage sale. A few unravelling small wicker tables, a musty, sagged-out couch with a cotton cover. The little living room area had one dim wall light and a tiny table lamp. Reading in the evening was not possible. Same thing in the “bedroom.” Two dim lamps. There was a closet with a light in a broken fixture that you had to screw the bulb in or out to operate. The bathroom sink sat next to an electric water heater, and was equipped with a hanging mirror the size of an average book cover. I could stoop down to try to see in the mirror, but the silvering on the mirror was tarnished or missing so the mirror was basically useless. Shave by Braille! There was no electric outlet in the bathroom, so a hairdryer cannot be used there. There was one tiny bar of soap, an extra roll of toilet paper and a shower cap. It would be so easy and so inexpensive to make this cabin much more comfortable.
The little front porch was un-screened. Fortunately some repairs to the rotting floor were evident. Curiously, a small, musty upholstered couch sat on the porch, somewhat exposed to the weather. Neither of us wanted to sit on it. Two cheap plastic Adirondack chairs would have been much more satisfactory.
Sure the cabin was rustic, and it clean. And there were enough towels. But the furnishings, with the exception of the bed, are simply junk, and would not sell in a garage sale. No thought has been given to the comfort of the occupants. A dark, rainy day in this cabin would be miserable. Again, some of this would be tolerable at a $70 price point, perhaps even $90. But this tiny, musty cabin is vastly overpriced at $200+ per night.
We decided to try dinner in the main lodge. First let’s discuss the meal. Then the service. Dinner is a $25 Prix Fixe that offers appetizer, soup or salad and main course plus dessert. We were told that the soup was gone, and the shrimp appetizer was gone, so we settled for a leaf salad. The “prime rib” entree was actually a kind of beef goulash, and quite tasty. The desert tray offered several good choices. The meal was OK, all considered. The dining room is all hard surfaces, with terrible acoustics, so the din from several tables with groups of very noisy kids and a large group of adults trying to communicate over the din made conversation difficult. Breakfast (included) was also noisy but otherwise OK except that they “ran out of pancakes.” How can you run out of pancakes?
The service at dinner could only be described as utterly indifferent. We had to ask for water, for a fork, for butter for the rolls, for glasses for the BYO wine. The waitress simply dropped a corkscrew in front of my wife and brought two tumblers. We asked again for wine glasses, and she begrudgingly brought us two mismatched wine glasses. The waitress (hired for the summer from Europe…why? No local help is available…?) simply didn’t care. Perhaps she was overworked, unmotivated and even untrained…we don’t know. But the service was just awful: slow, incompetent and indifferent. Note: we always tip 20%+ for good service. Our 10% tip this time was too generous. The Lodge points out that tips are pooled. So perhaps there is very little incentive for their staff to try to please individual customers with good service. Perhaps other waitresses were much better. The server at breakfast was cheerful.
In summary, as a couple in their 60s we were obviously disappointed by the accommodations, the unjustified price, and the dining experience. We won’t be back. The accommodations could be so easily spruced up, have some much-needed maintenance, some consideration of basic furnishings (an outlet, a useable mirror), a few “readable” lamps, clock radio, plastic chairs. The waterfront area has some kayaks and canoes, some broken or filled with stagnant water. Again, even basic maintenance is obviously a low priority. Lawn mowing is good, and is the one maintenance item that apparently gets attention.
The Loch Lyme Lodge appears to be a good bet for a family with small children, and may offer attractive packages for that. We don’t know. Pricing wasn’t available on line. But the value for what we paid simply wasn’t there. Not even close. There are too many excellent choices in the area, at far more reasonable rates.
The following night we stayed in the stunningly lovely Lyme Inn, about five miles south on the town green in Lyme. The meticulously well-furnished twins were about $145 and a big corner king room was $185, with a fabulous cinnamon roll French toast breakfast and all the fixings, graciously served. Dinner is served Thursday through Sunday evenings, and the wonderful and very popular “Stellas” a short walk away provided a memorable meal. This was worth every penny!

Room tip: Study the cabins carefully before selecting one, and get comparative pricing (not available on-line.)
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FortPondMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place was rustic and accessible with great amenities. Easy drive to big cities and small little burgs depending on what your in the mood for. The food was excellent. Great place to explore with kids. Excellent venue for weddings and family get togethers. Loved every part of this place. The staff was fun and charming. Perfect get away

Date of stay: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenC2034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had our wedding at Loch Lyme in September 2013. Almost everyone stayed in cabins, and we had a wonderful time. Jay and Amy were incredibly flexible, which allowed us to make our weekend exactly what we wanted. We had no difficulty coordinating with outside vendors and getting things set up how we wanted. There was so much space and different activities available that everyone, from toddlers to grandparents were able to enjoy themselves. Although we had outside vendors for many things, Jay and Amy let us use everything they had available - from storage, to picnic tables, to wheel barrows, refrigerator space, bbqs etc. They went out of their way to help us get things set up the way that we wanted. There was really nothing else we could have asked for. Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews