We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax and unwind”
Review of Loch Lyme Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Lyme Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Lyme B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place was rustic and accessible with great amenities. Easy drive to big cities and small little burgs depending on what your in the mood for. The food was excellent. Great place to explore with kids. Excellent venue for weddings and family get togethers. Loved every part of this place. The staff was fun and charming. Perfect get away

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had our wedding at Loch Lyme in September 2013. Almost everyone stayed in cabins, and we had a wonderful time. Jay and Amy were incredibly flexible, which allowed us to make our weekend exactly what we wanted. We had no difficulty coordinating with outside vendors and getting things set up how we wanted. There was so much space and different activities available that everyone, from toddlers to grandparents were able to enjoy themselves. Although we had outside vendors for many things, Jay and Amy let us use everything they had available - from storage, to picnic tables, to wheel barrows, refrigerator space, bbqs etc. They went out of their way to help us get things set up the way that we wanted. There was really nothing else we could have asked for. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have 2 kids, 17 and 14 yrs old. They can't imagine a summer without coming to LLL. I was blessed with being brought to a place kinda like this as a kid. You didn't need to be a 1%er then. You still don't need to be a 1%er to go here now. We've been coming there for over 10 years. Jay and Amy make everything so relaxing and comfortable. The Upper Valley is a mix of quiet and happening--the natural splendor of the AT, the bookstore-old school-wrapped-in-crap of Hanover-Lebanon and the incredible outdoor opportunities all over the place make it a perfect place for an impatient, yet serenity-seeking urban family like ours.. Thanks for it all!

Room Tip: They are all well worth the price. Please go there in numbers to make the place profitable, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melikefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We have been visiting Loch Lyme Lodge in New Hampshire for the past 7 years and it keeps getting better and better. We keep going back because we feel refreshed by the beauty and clean air, rejuvenated by the peaceful lake setting , and nourished by the organic food from the LLL garden! My husband and I get to relax as our child is busy all day swimming, boating and fishing! Nighttime campfires too it all off!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amycapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

According to my best estimate, this was the 12th time we've been to Loch Lyme Lodge, but the first time since it changed ownership. I agree with others -- it's just as good.

When describing Loch Lyme Lodge people often say "this isn't for everyone." While this is true, it's probably not all that helpful if you're trying to decide if it's for you. Loch Lyme is the perfect vacation if you want to clear your head, listen to your own thoughts, spend quality time with family and friends, and relax in a beautiful setting. There's lots to do but it's mostly of the "make your own fun" variety - swimming, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, bird watching, badminton, reading, and exploring the Connecticut River Valley. The cabins are often described as "rustic" but I think that's harsh - they are spotlessly clean and carefully maintained. What they lack is TVs, internet, dishwashers, air conditioners. Each cabin has a fireplace and a porch, as well as lots of privacy.

Another great feature of Loch Lyme: you can eat all your meals in the Lodge if you want to. One of the things I love about it is a break from cooking, and since my husband and I are gourmet cooks we're pretty hard to please. The dinner menu is limited but there are always nice options - surely something for everyone. We ate there 6 out of our 7 nights there and were quite happy. (It's BYOB.)

If you need excitement and organized activities, you won't like this place. But if your idea of heaven on earth is watching a sunset over a small lake and listening to the loons call, you can't do better than Loch Lyme Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandomNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had first known about and stayed at Loch Lyme Lodge as a child in the 50's. We spent some more time there with our children in the 70's. It hadn't changed much then, and it still hasn't. It's a wonderful place to escape from the busy life, to live on the edge of the woods, and yet experience wonderful hospitality and great meals.

It's a short trip to Hanover, NH and Dartmouth College and all the benefits of a New England college town, but also in the country where hiking, fishing, golfing, and many other activities are close at hand.

The lodge, with its 20 or so rustic cabins, is perched on the shore of beautiful Loch Lyme (aka Post Pond) and provides its guests with canoes and kayaks and other assorted water toys to pay with.

I'm only sorry our trip this time was too short to enjoy more good food and re-discovery of that area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
153 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We heard about this place at Timberlock, an Adirondack lodge we visit summers in New York. They had a last minute opening so we went in early August for 10 days or so.

The cabins were nice, lots of space, but I was blown away by the 5 star dinners every night!! You wouldn't expect such food at a mountain lodge but it was so good it's rare to find anywhere. Breakfasts were equally excellent. The owners are very nice

Our kids and us parents had a great time every day at the lake and meeting the other people, most of whom had been returning for years. There's a wooden raft and the kids hang out there.

This is one more place we'll return to. Summer days and nights in the rural countryside of New Hampshire

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigershark6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme
1.2 mi away
The Lyme Inn
The Lyme Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyme
117 reviews
11.8 mi away
Residence Inn Hanover Lebanon
11.2 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
266 reviews
16.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
350 reviews
2.7 mi away
Breakfast on the Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lyme Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lyme Lodge

Property: Loch Lyme Lodge
Address: 70 Orford Rd, PO Box 239, Lyme, NH 03768-3420
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lyme
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almost 100 years in business, Loch Lyme Lodge, is a rustic and eco-friendly vacation spot. A wonderful place for a family reunion, family camp or a simple quiet vacation, with an emphasis on family fun, peace and quiet, a caring staff and a congenial clientele. We are also able to host weddings and other special events. We do allow well behaved pets. NH Rooms and Meals License: 1098256 / 049665 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing