We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Welcoming”
Review of The Beal House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beal House
Ranked #3 of 4 Littleton B&B and Inns
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Welcoming”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband took me to the Beal House for my birthday. When we arrived it was such a nice welcome and the Flume Suite was beautiful. We had such a romanic dinner at the Beal House. The food was amazing and the service was even better! Our stay was a perfect get away!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haynezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    6
    7
    6
See reviews for
4
47
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Spent a night at the Beal House Inn this weekend. What a marvelous establishment tucked right in the heart of quaint Littleton, New Hampshire.

For starters, every member of the staff we encountered, the manager, waitstaff, etc. were all extremely courteous and friendly. We never waited too long whenever a glass became empty or a plate became finished.

The food was superb as well. We started off with the calamari, delightfully lightly breaded shrimp with a seafood salad garnish mixed in with freshly diced tomato, spinach and an exquisite cocktail sauce. Next was the lobster macaroni and cheese, which, to my surprise, had ENTIRE claws in it (The best part of the lobster, IMO). The portion was perfect for a large, hungry man such as myself and the noodles, cheese, and lobster meat were all done just right. My girlfriend had the chicken parmesan which included a declicous large panko crusted chicken breast over a generous bowl of noodles. Also quite the hearty portion.

Our room was well decorated and very suitable for the area. A nice little sitting room complete with television and mini fridge. The bed was comfortable and we had a marvelous sleep throughout the night. I can't wait to revisit and reserve their "Flume" room to enjoy the jacuzzi!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garrett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Came upon Beal House Inn by accident but one of the best decision of our holiday. A family run inn that made us feel very welcomed and nothing was too much trouble. The room was charming and very comfortable and clean. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times during in our stay and were not disappointed. The food was well cooked and there was a good choice on the menu and the wine list. Bill was very knowledgable about the area and gave us some good ideas of things to see and do. We would happily recommend this inn to anyone holidaying in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stopped in for supper Oct 2011 while vactioning in the area. We did not have a reservation and the Inn was not busy. The server, who did not introduce himself was an older gentleman with readers pushed down on his nose said it would be awhile before he could seat us and then when he did had to wait 10-15 mintes to get water, a menu and our order taken. After another 10-15 minutes the waiter came and announced they were out of baked potatoes, needless to say the substitution was overcooked, dry, little potatoes, that were not fresh. The fish was very good, but the vegetables were straight out ofthe freezer section. Really bad!! For the price of the meal and all the fall produce that was in season, the potatoes and vegetables should have been a no brainer. Please use fresh!!
I would not return to this Inn for supper. I'll score it an average for the fish and it was a quaint and charming building.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reedyrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

While vacationing in NH we spent a couple a days at the Beal House Inn. We were so happy with our choice, the place is charming and romantic, the rooms are clean and nicely decorated, the beds firm but not too hard and made with good quality linen.
We were warmly greeted by the host "Bill" that was so kind to share with us local history lore.
We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were on the road from Montreal and consulted CAA manual to find a safe place to stop to avoid Hurricane Irene. Lucky for us, Beal House Inn could offer us a room for the night. The welcome was warm and the room gorgeous and clean. The bed was comfortable and the linen high quality. The window treatments and decoration are gorgeous. The restaurant food was first-rate: I chose haddock which was cooked to perfection. This is a gem and the perfect place to stop over between Montreal and Boston. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littleton
0.4 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
725 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
4.6 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Squire Motel
Country Squire Motel
#4 of 5 in Littleton
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beal House

Property: The Beal House
Address: 2 W Main St, Littleton, NH 03561-3502
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Littleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Littleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beal House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beal House is a traditional New England Inn located in downtown Littleton, NH. In additional to six quaint inn rooms and suites, there is also a restaurant and bar on site. The restaurant boasts affordable classic American tavern fare. The copper top bar is a wonderful spot to grab a craft cocktail or choose a something off of our wide ranging beer and wine list. We'd be happy to host you in either the restaurant or the Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Beal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beal House Hotel Littleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing