We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this historical Inn!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thayers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thayers Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Littleton
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Loved this historical Inn!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Thayers Inn is a wonderful step back into history. We had pictures of past presidents who stayed there lining the walls leading to our room. The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable, with the noise level very low considering that we were at street level on Main Street. We had a very nice stay. My only negative is that there was nothing offered for breakfast. They have a restaurant on the premicise, but couldn't even provide bagels and sweet rolls? They did provide juice, coffee or tea. Aside from this factor I'd stay here again! Oh yes, the employees were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidsfirst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    93
    31
    26
    10
See reviews for
52
113
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's old,too old and things start falling apart.This Inn was built in around 1843.Yes it has charm and personality and yes the staff is super and yes it is very well located BUT it needs serious renovation.

Many windows are broken and cannot be open( and there is a note taped on each one to tell you so) so you have to tolerate the very noisy and outdated window air conditioning.Bathtubs are worn down and water temperature goes crazy in the shower if you're not the only one using water.You have to close the bathroom door when you shower so that you don't set off the fire alarm(and there is a note on the wall to tell you so).The floors are dramatically uneven and they did what they could to level the beds and chairs.There was also a lack of cleanliness because many surfaces are old,peeled off ,etc.
We had selected a large corner room with queen size bed for a 3 night stay but we had to sleep in 3 different rooms.On our second night,it was pouring outside and at 1:50AM the ceiling suddenly started leaking on us and on the bed at two different spots(room#30).We had to put the ice bucket on the bed and the garbage can just beside the bed!We called reception and a staff member very candidly said " Thought that might be the reason when i heard the phone..."He kindly gave us the key to a room(#4) one floor below.Lucky for us there had been a no show otherwise the hotel was full booked.We didn't have to transfer our stuff in the middle of the night so we tried to go back to sleep but it was a smaller uncomfortable bed and the air conditioning was even louder in this tiny room so it was really a bad night.
In the morning we settled things with the reception and staff was once again very nice.They reserved a third room for our last night,didn't charge us for our second night and since we were leaving early to go hiking let us transfer our stuff when we return at the end of the afternoon.This third room(#10) had a queen size bed but same noisy AC and old bathtub.
You don't need to be an expert to see that they can't keep up and deterioration rate exceeds renovation rate.When looking at the ceiling of room 30 it was obvious that it was not the first time the ceiling was leaking .We were told that they would "eventually" fix it...

It seems though that the lower levels rooms are slightly better.

That being said GO EAT AT THE BAILIWICK'S because it is one fine and cozy restaurant in the area.We've been there many times and have never been disappointed

Room Tip: roll the dices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPF12400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have been going to the Thayers Inn for over 25 years now, and it is my absolute favorite hotel to stay at in the white mountains!!! The hotel is a lovely, old, Inn that has an abundance of lovely rooms and family suites that are warm and inviting!! The staff is very accomodating, and one person in particular by the name of Lori, has been exceptionally and unfailingly gracious and accomodating ever time we have been there!!! Lori always has a big smile and a can do attittude, and she has a fun sense of humor too, and we look forward to seeing her whenever we visit! A great hotel is a great hotel, but people like Lori is what sets you apart and makes you stand out from the others.....keep up the good job Lori, and thanks for always being so pleasant and helpful!!! We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are really nice, and if you are traveling with a family you will want to look in to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candia NH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place is amazing! I've stayed here many times over the last 10 years and just realized I never reviewed it. Where to start? Well, how many hotels are fun? They have two whole rooms set up as recreations of a day in the life of Pollyanna, the town's most famous character. Look through the glass door, press the button, and listen to the narration. How many hotels wouldn't have turned those into paying rooms?

How about hallways that are 12 feet wide? Or a spiral staircase that is so out of code (26 inch railings...) that the building inspector must have to walk by blindfolded. Giant original oil paintings that must be 5 feet tall in the hallways. Multiple balconies to hang out and watch Main Street (although the 26 inch railings can send a chill down your spine). Then there's the cupola on the fifth floor that is sooo cool.

My kids love this place and you'll never find a place with more character. Part of that character means there's not a square inch on the floor where if you place a ball it won't immediately start rolling somewhere. Or maybe your kids have never seen real cast iron radiators in action--watch out, they can get hot. Or how about room keys? Remember those metal things you stuck into door knobs. It even have the hotel's address on it so you can toss it in the mail to return it after you carry it home, which I've done a few times.

Each room is different with it's own character (and a range of prices). We used to stay in suite 9/11, two connected rooms. But now we've found an even better room--but I ain't sayin' cause I don't want it filled next time I come up.

There's a great gourmet restaurant in the lower level. And Littleton itself is super. Hang out on the rocks in the river or float through the whirlpools and rapids on the river. Check out the cool suspension bridge just west of the hotel. Chutter's candy store, antique shops, breakfast diners. It's all cheap (or free) fun. No chain stores anywhere in site.

If you like one-offs, the quirky, anything authentic, this is the place!

Room Tip: I'm keeping it a secret. HInt--on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in Thayer's Inn, in Littleton, NH 23-24 Aug 2013. The hotel staff that we interacted with were very friendly, polite and accomodating. We stayed in Room 3, nicely furnished with plenty of old-time charm. This Inn reminded me of another favorite old hotel of mine, The Bell, in Sandwich, Kent, UK. As noted in other reviews I've read about this Inn, the shower/toilet area is small, but at 6ft 1in and 260lbs I didn't have any trouble at all.

My wife and I didn't eat in the Inn's restaurant, Bailiwick's, but it sure was busy during our stay. We would not hesitate to stay in Thayer's Inn during future visits to Littleton, NH.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I wasn't too sure what to expect from the hotel, but it ended up being a very good choice for our family. We were travelling with a family of 5, and we reserved rooms 9 and 11 (family suite). They are adjoining rooms, and although they share a bathroom and shower, each has it's own vanity and sink. When combined, the room was extremely large. We had plenty of room for all of.

As you can read from other posts, the hotel is very old, and the rooms feel old, but not in a bad way - in a historic way. The floors slant, the fascia around the doors doesn't line up, the floors squeek when you step on them, but we had a blast there. The rooms are very clean and the beds are quite comfortable. Very quiet at night, and the hotel is right in the middle of town. If there were any "action" in the town, Thayers Inn would be right in the middle of it.

I only have 2 small complaints. Although the staff was friendly enough, they couldn't really answer questions about where to eat or what to do. The town is only 4 blocks long, so I found this somewhat odd. Also, tge breakfast they serve is VERY basic...bagels, fruit, yogurt

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

For many years, my husband and I have made weekend pleasure trips to Littleton. Without question, our hotel of choice is Thayers Inn. Not only because of the historic element of the inn (i.e., pictures of past presidents who stayed there can be found in several displays) and the convenience to Main Street, but because of the friendliness and courtesy of the folks who work there.
For instance, when I called to make a reservation recently Laurie Richards answered the phone. When I gave her my name, she recognized it immediately and went out of her way to make me feel like I was making a reservation to come home :) To me, that was very special. Thayers Inn -- a great place to stay when in the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littleton
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.3 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
13.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
0.8 mi away
Exit 41 Travel Inn
Exit 41 Travel Inn
#1 of 4 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thayers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thayers Inn

Property: Thayers Inn
Address: 111 Main St, Littleton, NH 03561-4018
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Littleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Littleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thayers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henry L. Thayer was a successful Littleton, New Hampshire merchant with a dream to build a hotel more modern in equipment and character that others of its kind. The dream started taking shape in 1843 when he purchased the lot just east of his store January 14, 1850 as opening day for "THAYER'S WHITE MOUNTAIN HOTEL." Success was soon established due in part to the coming of the railroads to Littleton in 1852. After all 164 year pass the Thayers inn still offer great rooms, food and service to all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thayers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thayers Hotel Littleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing