We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Thayers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thayers Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Littleton
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Thayers Inn is a very nice historic hotel in need of refurbishment but still extremely charming. The family suite is great for a family of 4, but because its on the third floor and there are no elevators, it is a hike for those of us over 55. Even a small elevator would be a vast improvement.

I would definitely stay there again as everyone was very friendly and the town is very quaint.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctbghs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 255 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were travelling with my sister & husband for a week so had lots of luggage & bags. We were warmly greeted by Matthew at the front desk of this old unique inn. They're are no elevators at this inn but Matthew was more than happy to help us with our bags. He was very helpful & informative about the inn & what to see around this picturesque town. Our rooms were on the small side but adequate for a day or two. Lots of comfortable sitting areas as well as front verandas to sit on overlooking the Main Street. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3cardpoker111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Charming! it was like being in the South! Loved it! Huge rooms, nice entrance, great balcony, plus lots to see downtown. I was very surprised, your not going to find another Inn like this unless your in the deep South.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenthousandshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were traveling through with our bikes and decided to stop by. It was a great place to stay with so much history we spent an hour just exploring the halls and reading it all. Breakfast could have been a bit better, however,there was plenty of it and we stayed for the room and atmosphere not the breakfast. Jesses the night clerk was exceeding helpful and deserves mentioning. If you do stay, ask for the key to the cupola and walk up to it. The view of the town and area is exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank guntherohrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just loved The Thayers Inn - just like home. Clean, comfortable, ceiling fan, quiet! - it would have been the icing on the cake to have a rocker in the room! All in all it was a most satisfying stay. I was very surprised with the "museum" rooms (behind glass doors) and the history of the hotel. Especially the fact that it was the home of Eleanor H. Porter, author of Pollyana and that she had written the book there! I only wish I had more time to stay there.The staff (Matthew) was very accommodating as well as the night clerk (I believe his name was Jessie). I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BronxBeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My son and I stayed for a night a few weeks ago. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome with a cool tea and fruit provided. The house and grounds are gorgeous. In fact everything about this B&B cannot be faulted. We were recommended a nice restaurant for an evening meal and it was an excellent recommendation. Breakfast was healthy, satisfying and delicious.
The town itself is gorgeous along with its quirky Farmer's Market, where we purchased some luscious maple syrup and a unique tote bag, made from fodder bags.
Thayers is a very friendly,restful and clean place to stay, with an interesting selection of books and magazines. The "innkeepers" were most helpful and willingly provided excellent information ie routes to take and where my son could relax and watch the final game in the Basketball on a big screen TV.

Room Tip: We shared a bathroom, this was not a problem. All rooms looked comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrshilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had an awesome experience at the Thayer Inn. The accommodations were very nice and we definitely enjoyed the historic surroundings. The Inn is pet-friendly and this is what helped us make this choice-and we were so thankful of our decision. We loved spending time on the balcony in the evenings and met the most awesome group of hikers, along with another couple who were in the area for a wedding. Great fellowship! Skip the chain hotels and enjoy this experience!

Room Tip: Staff was very friendly and gladly helped us with our luggage to the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littleton
0.8 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#3 of 5 in Littleton
152 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
771 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Littleton Motel
Littleton Motel
#2 of 5 in Littleton
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Squire Motel
Country Squire Motel
#4 of 5 in Littleton
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thayers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thayers Inn

Address: 111 Main St, Littleton, NH 03561-4018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Littleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Littleton
Price Range: $90 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thayers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henry L. Thayer was a successful Littleton, New Hampshire merchant with a dream to build a hotel more modern in equipment and character that others of its kind. The dream started taking shape in 1843 when he purchased the lot just east of his store January 14, 1850 as opening day for "THAYER'S WHITE MOUNTAIN HOTEL." Success was soon established due in part to the coming of the railroads to Littleton in 1852. After all 164 year pass the Thayers inn still offer great rooms, food and service to all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thayers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thayers Hotel Littleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing