We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Thayers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thayers Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Littleton
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and I thought it was charming! We had the room that is featured in there brochure so I guess that is one of the better rooms. The bathroom is very tiny but after all, what would you expect from a great old place like this from the 1800's. Lots of history and just a fun experience. Ate dinner at Bailiwicks and food was very good. The town is nice with lots of little shops and of course we went to Chutters for some candy!! I loved it and would stay again! :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auntie173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 257 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Host to history. Accommodating number of powerful and important people in the past, and maintaining nearly its original state - I can see why this place was named amongst the Top 20 historical places to stay in he US. When you walk in, you'll move back in time. Decorations, rooms setup, furniture, etc. is close to how it looked like decades ago, while it's still nicely maintained and updated. Saying that, you won't get any large rooms or luxury but you'll get an unique experience. The hotel also has several displays that remind you of the past - items from presidential candidates that stayed there, photos, and one room that is recreation of the Polyanna's room, while other is recreation of 1843 room - as it appeared when it first opened. There is something about this hotel which makes it very charming. Even it's spiral staircase impresses Henry Ford so much that he attempted to purchase it... Located conveniently in the downtown Littleton, and easily accessible from the main routes, it's a great choice to stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EURESES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Thayers about 5 times in the past few months and have brought our 2 year old German Shepherd. For being a hotel that accepts pets I can say that the rooms are very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling with a dog looking for a nice, clean and historic place tp stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the Thayers Inn for a weekend getaway. With skiing being our mission we were pleased with the easy access to all of the ski areas. After a hard day on the slopes it was nice to come back to thayers and enjoy a fine dinner at Baliwicks, the Restraunt inside the hotel.

Thayers Inn has a great package deal for the money. 200 bucks for 2 passes to Cannon Mountain, 2 nights stay and 2 apetizers at Baliwicks. How can you go wrong there.

The hotel itself is steeped in history. Built in 1843 it really brings you back in time when you step through the doors.

The staff was pleasant, freindly and very accomodating. The heating system was fine and our romm was very comfortable.

The town of Littleton is that quintesentail New Enagland town you see on a Norman Rockwell portrait.

I'm a fan for life.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I drove up one weekend and were pleasantly surprised with the little town of Littleton. The history of the Thayers Inn decorates the walls and we loved the best restaurant in town is located downstairs. Service was friendly and attentive. Time it right for a good deal with ski lift tickets and such.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over Christmas when we were in town to see family. The staff was friendly but unobtrusive. The bed was billow-y and very cozy... I slept like a baby. Others have had heating problems, but we didn't. I doubt the hotel was very booked since it was Christmas and all, but we still had no problem. The hotel is antique and an old building, so you do have some quirks that come with the building like that (the bathroom was clearly inserted after the room was built, uneven floors, etc) but the maintenance level was excellent. No shabbiness whatsoever. I would absolutely not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was quite small, so don't expect to be able to spread out too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have stayed here several times. Historic and rustic accommodations with cheerful service located in Littleton, walk to all the beautiful shops and restaurants. Drove to Conway...the Presidentials are spectacular this time of year. Drove to Jefferson too. North Conway was humming with activity. Definitely worth a stop and shop.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindasaleski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littleton
0.7 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#3 of 5 in Littleton
152 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
776 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
143 reviews
16 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
218 reviews
16.7 mi away
Nootka Lodge
Nootka Lodge
#1 of 1 in Woodsville
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thayers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thayers Inn

Address: 111 Main St, Littleton, NH 03561-4018
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Littleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Littleton
Price Range: $90 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thayers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henry L. Thayer was a successful Littleton, New Hampshire merchant with a dream to build a hotel more modern in equipment and character that others of its kind. The dream started taking shape in 1843 when he purchased the lot just east of his store January 14, 1850 as opening day for "THAYER'S WHITE MOUNTAIN HOTEL." Success was soon established due in part to the coming of the railroads to Littleton in 1852. After all 164 year pass the Thayers inn still offer great rooms, food and service to all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thayers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thayers Hotel Littleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing