We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet”
Review of Bailiwicks on Main

Bailiwicks on Main
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Littleton
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Upscale, but approachable. Focusing on fresh, sustainable seafood, Certified Angus beef, and local produce. Large outside seating area, pub, and dining room. Off site catering available
Ocala, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and quiet”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Just moved to the area and tried this place for both lunch and drinks. Small but nice - would definitely go back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    96
    32
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK food, long wait.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a 7pm reservation, ordered around 7:15 and didn't get our food until well after 8.

The couple seated next to us ordered and got their drinks at the same time as us, but they were finished with desert before our entrées came out. Were not offered anything off of the bill or a free drink/app while we waited, despite admitting that the kitchen had lost the ticket after we waited 45 minutes.

I had the filet, and the steak itself was good. There wasn't much of a crust on it, but the flavor was good and it was a nice medium-rare. The risotto however was not good at all; the texture was a bit off, the onions in the risotto were crunchy and raw and overpowered the other flavors. I would imagine that they were rushing to get the meal out after losing the ticket, but its the only time we have eaten here so I am not sure if its usually better.

My wife had the ravioli special, and she thought the sauce/filling was good but that the pasta itself was undercooked and not a pleasing texture.

We ordered the Chocolate Torte desert and that was fantastic. 4-4.5*'s for the desert alone.

It was a bit loud and tight, but overall we liked the atmosphere in the restaurant. Being a "fine dining" establishment that is fairly pricy for the area, we would have expected for a manager to at least stop by the table after waiting an hour for a steak and ravioli.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brs1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not quite what the menu suggests”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The menu would give you the impression that the chef knew about gourmet food. I tried Putenesca, figuring that since it is a very simple sauce it should be fine. Surprize, it didn't come close. It had vegetables, little if any garlic, no hint of anchovies, no olives. You guessed it, I didn't enjoy it. The host was lacking in friendliness and tried to put us at the worst table first even though we had reservations. The tables are too close together but the waitstaff was fine. Since there aren't many restaurants in town, it accounts for why it's crowded.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank epstem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is tucked away on a side street Littleton. A very nice change from the other overrated eating options in town (99, Applebee's) Bailiwicks has a cozy atmosphere and friendly, efficient waitstaff. The Panko Crusted Cod and Chipotle chicken wrap were excellent! Portions are well sized and the prices at lunch are very reasonable. We sat at a table but wish we ate at the bar which was looked a bit cozier- some of the lighting in the main restaurant is too bright....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tashapVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bailiwicks Excellent Food”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stopped in to have dinner at Bailiwicks in Littleton, N.H. without reservations -- fortunately it was early and they seated us anyway. If you plan on eating here, I recommend reservations. We ate downstairs, which was a little noisy once the place filled up, but the ambiance is nice, the service great, and the food was excellent. Prices are what you would expect from a nice restaurant in an old historic inn, but not unreasonable. This was a nice place to eat a relaxing dinner in the town of Littleton.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bailiwicks on Main also viewed

Littleton, White Mountains
Littleton, White Mountains
 
Littleton, White Mountains
 
Littleton, White Mountains
Littleton, White Mountains
 

Been to Bailiwicks on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing