We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fireplace in perfect working condition, near a quiet road...”
Review of Rustic Log Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rustic Log Cabins
Chelmsford, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fireplace in perfect working condition, near a quiet road...”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here (in cabin 5) from March 1-March 3. The chimney and fireplace were in perfect working condition and it took no time at all to start a warm, cozy fire. We used the fireplace the whole time we were there and NEVER had issues with it whatsoever. The office was extremely helpful and kind to us and were happy to assist us with whatever we needed. The road that this cabin lies on is, honestly, very quiet. There were hardly any cars or trucks passing by and when a car or a truck did happen to pass, we immediately looked out the window in surprise to see that there were even any vehicles out there! The bed and blankets were extremely soft and comfortable and we didn't have any problems sleeping or even sleeping late! Our experience was definitely peaceful and relaxing! With the aromas of the authentic log cabin, the reliable working fireplace, and quiet serenity, it's definitely what we expected from the place and were extremely pleased.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    12
    3
    2
    14
See reviews for
4
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in Cabin 7 and just got back from our trip. It was much more than we expected. It was rustic and warm and quietly secluded. Very romantic. Everything we were looking for. Almost so perfect that we didn't need to even leave the cabin but so convenient to everything like skiing and restaurants, etc. that you could go out and return without a long drive. Couldn't have had a better experience and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here recently (in cabin 5) and unfortunately the chimney in the fireplace was not venting the smoke properly. We asked the office about it just to make sure we hadn't forgotten to open the flue or something, and they said the chimney was just built that way and there was nothing they could do. We tried to make another fire and this time it set off the fire alarm and filled the cabin with smoke. We also had trouble sleeping because the cabin was about 20 feet from a busy road where big trucks would barrel down it all throughout the night. Definitely not peaceful. We were disappointed because we really wanted the rustic cabin experience but without a fire and with all the road noise we were unable to get that. For the money ($150 per night) we felt we were taken advantage of. We will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the road noise, you may want to stay in the cabin across the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hkent13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana L, Owner at Rustic Log Cabins, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Sorry you had an issue with the fireplace. All our fireplaces are in perfect working order. If you had an issue with the fireplace, you should have come over and we would have been happy to give you firestarter 101. We have assisted many other clients to help them get a fire started for the first time.

We are located on a New Hampshire Scenic Byway which is a rural route with views of the lupine fields, Cannon Moutain, the Presidential Range and Mt. Washington.

Please note review of a customer that stayed in Cabin 5 after you that had no problems with the fireplace or the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I surprised my partner with a weekend away and asked her to marry me in this gorgeous rustic cabin--she had NO idea until we arrived 3 hours later!! It was truly the most amazing weekend ever! We did nothing but sit and enjoy each others company--NO interuptions. so very romantic and I am not a cabin person at all--totally fell in love with this place.

We stayed in the Brookside cabin which is 2 cabins they renovated into one. It was beautiful. This is the only cabin with a jacuzzi tub and we realxed by candlelight and soft music playing!

HUGE king size bed in one room and I think a full in the other although we didnt need or use the second bedroom. Kitchen is fully stocked with anything you may need!! I packed food for the whole weekend.

We did have some cell service by the front door inside the cabin so we were not completely cut off from everyone (which was good because she was happy to be able to tell some people about our engagement!)

One thing which was a must for us was a little propane torch to light the fire. We would have been there all night trying to get that thing going with the wood.

Owners were wonderful people. When bringing us more wood they noticed we had my fiancee's roses in a glass...she sent her husband back with a vase for us!! Super sweet and very friendly!!

It is right on the street which can be a draw back in the summer if you have the windows open and may hear the traffic going by at 50mph but I felt a little safer being on the street than somewhere deep in the woods!!

Absolutely cannot wait to go back in the summer on the motorcycle to get lost on the BEAUTIFUL winding streets. Also already booked our weekend for next year to celebrate our one year engagement!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

My wife and I have stayed here many times and are planning a New Years Eve trip this year!

No TV's in room - perfect for a romantic weekend or getaway.

Wood burning fireplace was just what was expected and they supplied lots of wood and were very kind when we requested more.

From start to finish, was a great location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NHMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

What a wonderful time we had, romantic, private (we had cabin 7) and just a beautiful area.
The owners were great, very helpful. I can't wait until we can go again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Our 5 days were perfect! This location was ideal for all our hiking and sightseeing treks in the White Mountains. Our cabin was quiet and comfortable, besides just cozy, charming and clean.
Emile and Alana were friendly and accomodating for our entire stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisbon
7.9 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
111 reviews
13.4 mi away
Mt Liberty Lodging
Mt Liberty Lodging
#6 of 20 in Lincoln
170 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
150 reviews
13.9 mi away
White Mountain Motel & Cottages
4.4 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#3 of 5 in Franconia
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Log Cabins

Property: Rustic Log Cabins
Address: 1450 Sugar Hill Rd, Lisbon, NH 03585-6716
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Rustic Log Cabins in Lisbon NH. Hand hewn log cabins by Real Goulet. Come relax and unplug by the Salmon Hole Brook, a 35 foot wide waterway that weaves through the property. Each log cabin is unique and individual and has its' own style. Wood burning fireplaces, full equipped kitchens and romance will await your visit. Open year round. The Rustic Log Cabins are nestled along the Salmon Hole Brook between 80 to 100 feet apart. Come to listen to the soothing brook and take a step back in time. Read that book you haven't had a chance to finish. We have a supply of books, games and cards in the office for your pleasure as well as lawn games. If you need to get connected there is free WIFI at the office.We are about 10 minutes from Franconia Notch State Park which supplies the visitor with hiking, biking, swimming, snowmobiling, and skiing. Wether it be a lake, stream, river or pond all within 10 minutes of the cabins, fishing is at its' best. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rustic Log Cabins Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing