We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, peaceful and fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is a nice little resort tucked into the gateway to the White Mountains and Franconia Notch. The room we had was nice and big. Very clean though the carpet probably needs an update. It is quaint, like a step back to the 60's and a roadside motel. The indoor pool was nice. We only ate breakfast and it was fantastic. Lots of really good food. It is close to many attractions in the area. We would definitely stop again.

Room Tip: We were up the road at the motel part so all the rooms there are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChristopherD507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodwards_Manager, General Manager at Woodwards Resort & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and do hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 634 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

We booked here because there was a GREAT deal through Hotels.com and because the reviews seemed primarily positive. Don't be fooled!

First I should explain that this establishment includes two separate facilities. Woodward's Resort is what you see in most of the pictures. That's where you check in and where the restaurants and picturesque duck pond are located. It has an outdoor pool and shuffleboard near the pond. About 800 yards up the road is Woodward's Inn and Suites. The name is misleading. This is an old motel building onto which they've constructed a sort of greenhouse facade to conceal the "step-immediately-out-to-the-parking-lot motel" image. The internal corridor this construction created is decorated with patio furniture. Had it been done better, it might be charming, but it looks like a poorly constructed add-on and it gets as hot as a greenhouse, so not really usable space in the summer. (And why would anyone want to sit there, looking out onto the parking lot anyway?)

Opening the door to our room, we were hit by a musty smell that hinted of old cigarettes. (It was a no-smoking room.) We found peanuts at the edge of the bed, a testament to the quality of the cleaning staff. The lighting fixtures provided almost NO illumination. The best lighting was from the bank of bulbs over the vanity sink (in the room, not in the bathroom, but with twin sinks which was nice). However, that set of lights periodically turned off, requiring pushing the reset button to re-illuminate. There was a smoke detector in the room, but no sprinklers. The same dead dragonfly remained on the window sill for our entire visit. The free wi-fi was spotty at best. We had better luck logging into the wi-fi of the hotel across the street.

The bathroom consisted of a toilet and bath/shower with sliding glass doors that were difficult to slide. The hotel provided a rubber mat for the floor of the shower, but I'm not sure it was any more hygienic than the shower itself.

On the plus side, we enjoyed the breakfast in the restaurant at the resort. (Although, you need not be a hotel guest to dine there.) The Inn/Suites location had very nice pools - indoor/outdoor and an indoor hot tub. The beds were comfortable. The location of Woodward's is ideal, putting everything close-by.

We visit the White Mountains annually and have tried a few different hotels. I can safely say we will never be returning to this one!

Room Tip: We did not see what the rooms were like at the Resort, so I can't speak to the quality there. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PaddlingFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodwards_Manager, General Manager at Woodwards Resort & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We do not try to "fool" our guests and do apologize if you felt this way. We do have several different room types and price points available between our Inn and Resort buildings. Our lowest price points available are normally for rooms in our Inn building as these rooms as not located directly near the restaurant and our athletic amenities...hence the great deal you mentioned you received in Hotels.com. We do hope you will come back and try another room in the future, Perhaps a room at the Resort or one of our family suites may be something you would prefer better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This "resort" is past its prime about 20 years ago. The lobby smelled awful when we first walked in which is not a good sign of a resort. The hallways/stairs to the rooms smelled equally as bad, as did the rooms. Just a stale and musty smell. There were stains on the carpet and I wore my flip flops in the shower ( again, not a good sign). There is this weird, disgusting carpeting around the outdoor and indoor pool area. I can't imaging the breeding ground of bacteria that is. The outdoor pool is absolutely freezing. In our four day stay, I saw three kids go in for a total of five minutes. What a shame. The buildings themselves are in desperate need of upkeep as well as a new coat of paint. The front desk staff was friendly, but the bartender at the lounge acted like he was doing you a favor by getting you a beer. The surrounding area is absolutely gorgeous. This "resort" is NOT. Stay some where else.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank christine1cranston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodwards_Manager, General Manager at Woodwards Resort & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We do have carpeting around most of our pools as this does help minimize safety concerns for the many families with young kids that stay with us. The carpeting in the Resort's indoor pool building is new and is one of just a few property enhancements the Owners have done in the last year. There are several other property enhancements scheduled to be done during the off-season later this year. We do hope you will come back and stay with us again. We have several different room types available and perhaps another room in one of our "room-only" buildings might be an option you may prefer better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Return to Woodwards every summer and have been relatively happy. My review here concerns the staff, in particular the wait staff. I have always received prompt, courteous service from the dining room, I also want to particularly acknowledge Tammie who's demeanor and attentiveness are without measure. I have managed a vacation destination inn and know first hand what is important to guests. Courtesy and availability is paramount. Tammie knows her customers, attends their needs and conducts business with the utmost courtesy. I hope Woodwards knows the value of such an employee. Bravo, Tammie.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MARIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is not a fancy place but the rooms are nice and clean. The kids enjoyed the tennis court, the game room and the indoor pool. They also have an outdoor pool. its a good value for the money. We ate one night at the restaurant but wont recommend it . $6.50 for a plate of Kraft macaroni and cheese is way overpriced as is the rest of the menu for very poor quality food. But overall a good experience!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenchy02382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodwards_Manager, General Manager at Woodwards Resort & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear overall you enjoyed your stay. Regarding our restaurant, all children's meals are $6.50 and include a drink, entree and dessert. We also have a couple restaurant promotions that may interest you next time. These include; our meal plan program which is exclusively available for our guests and includes choice of breakfast and dinner for only $30 per person. And our summer restaurant promotion which entitles guests to FREE breakfast daily when staying 3 or more nights. Please do not hesitate to contact us for more details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Needs some major updating but has a lot to do for the price and has a great location. Close to stuff but not in the middle of the traffic and crowds of Lincoln or North Conway. Price of the food to the quality of the food is not very good unless you buy the meal plan. Nice thing abotu the mal plan is you can buy it day to day and are not stuck eating there for all the meals.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodwards_Manager, General Manager at Woodwards Resort & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and were able to take advantage of our meal plan. Our restaurant meal is a great value that is available exclusively to Woodward's guests. We do hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The people are very friendly and helpful. We were on the food plan and it was worth every penny. The food was great and there was plenty enough choices. After dinner we went to the lounge. It's small but warm and cozy. The bartender Steve , is a great guy and is always willing to help if you run into a problem. We have been there many times and hope to return again as soon as we are able. It's not as fancy as some of the bigger hotels up there but it's also a lot easier on the pocketbook.


D

Room Tip: Rooms by the outside pool are convienant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodwards_Manager, General Manager at Woodwards Resort & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed you visit and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your continued business, we do appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
2.4 mi away
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
#19 of 20 in Lincoln
168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#17 of 20 in Lincoln
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Village Of Loon Mountain
0.6 mi away
Indian Head Resort
Indian Head Resort
#7 of 20 in Lincoln
1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Lincoln
Days Inn Lincoln
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodwards Resort & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodwards Resort & Inn

Address: 527 US Route 3, Box 107, Lincoln, NH 03251-4126
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: $99 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodwards Resort & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodwards Resort and Inn offers 142 well-appointed rooms with compact refrigerators, coffee makers, and complimentary Wi-Fi. This "stay & play" property features a family-friendly restaurant open for breakfast and dinner seasonally, Pub with stone fireplace and outdoor deck overlooking a duck & trout pond, 2 indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, Jacuzzi, tennis & racquetball courts and a variety of seasonal on-site activities including outdoor summer movies and lighted ice skating pond with free skates available. The Inn building, located 300 yards north of The Resort, offers budget-standard rooms and family suites with kitchenettes, separate living rooms, Jacuzzi tubs, and fireplaces. Seasonal restaurant specials offered and local area attraction tickets are available for purchase at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Woodwards Resort & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodward`s Hotel Lincoln
Woodwards Hotel Lincoln
Woodwards Resort & Inn Lincoln, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing