We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This will keep you up....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Woburn, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This will keep you up....”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is not just another bad review, we can confirm the outdated decor, paper thin walls and old musty smell. In addition, the lighting was horrible, the ceiling had multiple water stains and the chain bolt on the door was completely broken and inoperable.  While you do get what you pay for, you also expect a minimal level of upkeep to even the cheapest of lodging establishments. Also, the rooms were very small, the bathroom was tiny, and there was no microwave to boot.  Not to mention, the completely frozen community ice box.  Beware, the video is very misleading a disappointment,  Thankfully, we didn't eat at the restaurant.

Room Tip: There is no good room, this place is horrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trose0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodwards_Manager, General Manager at Woodwards Resort & Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your response, We are a bit puzzled by your comments as we do not have any record of your stay or of the issues you are referring to. I can assure you, we would have been happy to offer you another room or some other type of compensation had we been aware of the challenges you experienced. Regarding your comment about the microwave, we do not have microwaves in any of our rooms nor do we advertise that we do. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further if you would like to contact me directly at your convenience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    178
    100
    57
    54
See reviews for
265
159
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Three of us stayed in a spacious family suite so we could all have separate beds. The layout including jacuzzi was impressive but we opted for the hot tub adjacent to the large pool. There is even an underground tunnel to the indoor pool so you don't need to walk outside! There are showers and a changing room at the pool as well. The Inn was practically empty for Valentine's Day (Thursday) but I noticed that some of the websites showed the place booked, so I called and was told plenty of availability. I waited to book until the day before to confirm the weather. One of the staff worked at Loon part-time and gave us some great info on parking at the new South Peak area to avoid congestion. It was a great tip and we were first to arrive for skiing the following morning. While we stayed at Woodward Inn, the sister complex Woodward Resort is on the same street (Rte 3) but only separated by a different hotel complex. The Woodward Resort handles check-in and has a restaurant which we walked to after checking in and taking a dip. While the food was good and we sat near the roaring wood burning fireplace in the pub (restaurant had been reserved for a private group earlier), the service was lacking. Our waitress didn't follow up or offer us anything besides our main entree. She offered to clear our plates before we were through and couldn't wait to rush out the door, even though we didn't linger past the 8:30 serving time. In fact after we settled the bill she announced "I'm outta here!". We had no idea what or why this was important and I can't recall a waitress ever being so blunt. This service discouraged us from returning for breakfast, although I would stay at this facility again which honored a AAA discount.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butchy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

First off, the location of the resort is excellent! Close to restaurants, skiing, and local attractions you can't beat it! We booked a king size room with a jacuzzi and fireplace for a Thursday night stay. The room was beautiful, but unfortunately the heat in the bathroom wouldn't kick on. After a drink at the lounge (they inexpectedly picked up the tab) we went to dinner as maintenance worked on the issue. When we returned the heat still didn't work. Not to worry! They came and moved us to an upgraded suite with a kitchenette and included a free breakfast for our trouble. They couldn't be nicer and apologized profusely for the inconvenience. The property was beautiful and the staff were friendly and accommodating. We can't wait to come back in the spring!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meredith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I didn't set my expectations too high and this was the only dog friendly place available a week before MLK weekend near Loon that could accommodate 2 families. Spacious rooms but ours smelled like mildew and the bathroom shower wasn't thoroughly cleaned.

The staff was helpful over the phone when making the reservation but not very friendly in person. When I went to check in, there was a woman standing by the counter with the vacuum turned off, It made me feel like I was intruding on her cleaning time...not a welcoming first impression.

Food is ok at the restaurant, breakfast was better than dinner. When I asked if they had bagel sandwiches, I was told that they didn't have bagels and weren't Dunkin Donuts. Interesting response.

I'd stay here in a pinch, but that's about it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JT2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodwards_Manager, General Manager at Woodwards Resort & Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We proide ourselves in having clean rooms and a clean front desk area which is why you saw our front desk clerk vacumming the carpet. Often we have to do this more than once per day becasue of the high volume of foot traffic we have at our front desk area. Your room issues will be addressed with our housekeeping staff. We do hope you will come back and visit us again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at Woodward's for my son's weekend hockey tournament at Waterville Valley. It was about a 30 minute drive from the rink, but a great place for an escape between games. We stayed in the block of rooms connected to the pool/hot tub/sauna/game room - this seemed to be the perfect location for the boys and the parents. The pool/hot tub area was huge, carpeted, and had plenty of chairs and tables where the parents could sit and eat or drink and watch the boys. The boys found a great place to play floor hockey, too. We hit a warm weekend so unfortunately, we couldn't skate on the duck pond - maybe next year. Our room was clean, had 2 queen beds and had the right amount of basic amenities for the weekend. If my only complaint was that the main restaurant did not have any fresh fruit for breakfast, I'd say there's a great chance we'll stay here again next tournament. The boys capped off a great weekend by winning the championship game Sunday afternoon!

Room Tip: Groups/families/kids: stay in the building attached to the pool area. Solo/couples: stay in one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capecod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I absolutely loved our room! With the fireplace and wooden decor it felt so cozy. The staff was very friendly and I was impressed by the breakfast. They had Santa come down to breakfast to talk to the children which I thought was cute

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acushnet, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just came back from a wonderful stay at Woodwards with a group of 8 people in the 2 bedroom inside pool unit. We have been going here for over 20 years. The last few years we have not been as often as we like and enjoy. I will do my review with the pros and the cons.

Pros:
1. The friendly staff!:We always love going back with warm greetings from our waitresses and hostess staff that we have know for years. Our kids always say it is like going home.
2. The facilities: Immaculate is what comes to mind. The rooms and pool area are very neat and clean. The skating looks like fun on the duck pond even though we didn't have time to try it.
3. Location: Always enjoy the peace and quiet with no hustle and bustle. Very close to skiing and snowmobiling along many seasonal activities.
4. Food: The food is excellent and well prepared. Best prime rib and seafood.

Cons:
1. Meal plan at $30. I realize the price of the meal plan went up but you don't even get the salad and dessert included like we used to. I was shocked that when when we ordered our meals they said salad was a up charge and dessert was no longer included. We also missed the warm corn bread. Due to the up charges for salad and dessert, it is not really a deal to get the meal plan unless you get the items priced at $27 or more. We feel it is a lot to pay for a meal without a soup or salad. The prime rib is the best and I hope it stays on the menu but is a bit steep in price at $27.95. We always good the meal plan because it was a deal!

Suggestion:
1. Go back to the way things used to be! If it isn't broken don't fix it as they say. We were saddened to see the place not filled with people. We are used to going to breakfast and dinner to a crowd of people. This time it was almost empty. The place seemed to not be occupied to full capacity. Actually it seemed almost empty on a weekend You may want to ask why! There seemed to be a lot of people around town and at other restaurants and hotels. Why?
2. Bring back the salad and dessert on the meal plan and the corn bread.
3. It would be nice to have the bar area open in the mornings to sit and have some coffee by the fire. There is no where to sit and hang out in the mornings when it is cold and snowy to read the paper or relax while others in the room are sleeping.

We look forward to going back in February with our family and friends! It is hope to take our grandchildren there some day!

Room Tip: The indoor pool building is the best!, you don't have to go outside to get to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherAlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodwards_Manager, General Manager at Woodwards Resort & Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are so glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. In response to some of your comments and suggestions, we would be happy to open the Pub area for you anytime in the morning. It is a nice and relaxing place to spend some time. Just let our front desk know and this can be accommodated. Also, we have not had corn bread for several years in our restaurant. We do change our restaurant menu seasonally and offer nightly specials in an effort to continually provide different options for our guests. Lastly, while your were staying with us, we had a couple ski groups here as well. They had breakfast early in the morning and then were off property skiiing all day and at night were offsite at planned group activities, this is why it may have seemed a bit empy while you where here. We are glad to hear they did not disrupt your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
3.1 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indian Head Resort
Indian Head Resort
#5 of 20 in Lincoln
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Kancamagus Lodge
The Kancamagus Lodge
#4 of 20 in Lincoln
425 reviews
2.2 mi away
InnSeason Resorts Pollard Brook
3.1 mi away
Mountain Club On Loon
Mountain Club On Loon
#8 of 20 in Lincoln
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodwards Resort & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodwards Resort & Inn

Property: Woodwards Resort & Inn
Address: 527 US Route 3, Box 107, Lincoln, NH 03251-4126
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodwards Resort & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodwards Resort and Inn offers 142 well-appointed rooms with compact refrigerators, coffee makers, and complimentary Wi-Fi. This "stay & play" property features a family-friendly restaurant open for breakfast and dinner seasonally, Pub with stone fireplace and outdoor deck overlooking a duck & trout pond, 2 indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, Jacuzzi, tennis & racquetball courts and a variety of seasonal on-site activities including outdoor summer movies and lighted ice skating pond with free skates available. The Inn building, located 300 yards north of The Resort, offers budget-standard rooms and family suites with kitchenettes, separate living rooms, Jacuzzi tubs, and fireplaces. Seasonal restaurant specials offered and local area attraction tickets are available for purchase at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Woodwards Resort & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodward`s Hotel Lincoln
Woodwards Hotel Lincoln
Woodwards Resort & Inn Lincoln, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing