We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great service, resonable pricing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My Wife and I have stayed at this resort several times now and have never been dissappointed. The staff has always been very nice and it is well situated with 3 ski resorts nearby, Loon, Cannon, and another one whose name I cannot remember. There is also several other nearby attractions such as a waterpark right next door, lots of trails, minigolf and other outdoor adventure companies. The pool is indoor but not overly hot so it is still refreshing and the hottub is fine. My only gripe is that the rooms could use some updating. TVs are old and small and the furniture is dated. Also the walls could be thicker as we could hear people talking in the hallway early in the morning. If you do stay here spend the extra 10 bucks a night to stay in the building with the pool. It is well worth it.

All in all we were happy with the resort and would stay here yet again if and when we return to lincoln.

FYI if you do visit lincoln just know that most of the town shuts down after the second week of October so most attractions and restauants wont be open.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ares290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 634 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

I do wish that Tripadvisor would introduce a 'good' rating because Woodward's was probably a bit more than 'average' but certainly not 'very good' compared with some other places. We stayed there for five nights as part of a package tour of New England and so I cannot comment on value for money. What I would whinge about is that, in our introductory talk we were told that, as an indication of their gratitude for us staying with them, they would automatically add 18% to all meals and drinks that we had in the hotel (obviously, whether we were pleased with the service or not!). I know that the much lower wages in the service industries in the USA requires us to be much more generous than we are in the UK, but I thought that that was a bit rich - especially as they tried to sell it as doing us a favour. Woodward's is not a resort; it is a regular lodge-type hotel set on a road in the White Mountains. To the front of the hotel is a huge car park. Behind the car park is a little stream and a pond with ducks on. Behind that is more asphalt and behind that the first two-story accommodation blocks. Behind that is yet more asphalt and then another block. Additional blocks are to the sides. Although not unattractive in parts, it is hardly the sort of place where you could spend time wandering through beautiful grounds rather than going out for the day. It is simply a base from which to tour the region. Our room was in a two storey block with the upper rooms each having a small balcony overlooking the asphalt and the car park. It smelt a bit odd when we went in. The room was uninspiringly decorated but the furniture was light and modern. The bathroom was very small indeed but the shower had ample hot water. The balcony had two plastic chairs but drinks had to be balanced on top of the air conditioning unit. The beds were capacious, comfortable and clean. The hotel and bar areas were attractively laid out in a lodge style (I should think that they are very cosy when the snow falls) although the large fireplace in the barsported one candle rather than crackling logs! Dinner on the first night was a disaster; there were two tours in the hotel and they could not cope. We arrived at 7 p.m. and told that we would not be able to sit down for at least half an hour. We were told to wait in the bar but it was completely full with frustrated diners as well us local people popping in for a drink and there was no room to stand let alone sit down so we had to go back to our room. However, once we were given a table, at 7.45 p.m.,the food was good and the service friendly and efficient. The other tour group left the next day and then meal times presented no problems. Breakfast was provided in another area which was quite attractive with twinkling lights above the windows and very friendly service. The food at breakfast was standard american fare - it's hard to avoid huge intakes of calories. The location of Woodward's was nothing special. There is no attractive town nearby worth exploring. However, the wonderful Flume Gorge in the Franconia Notch State Park is a short drive away and is well worth a visit if you can manage a few slopes of varying steepness and a boardwalk (with handrail for the length of it) along the gorge. There is a very good presentation on the region before you begin. All in all, Woodward's was okay but I am sure that there are better places to stay in this beautiful area of New England.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OxfordTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We spent one night here at the end of a long weekend drive through New England. It was off-season, so the restaurant was closed, but were advised of that before we arrived. There were plenty of dining options available in town. Our room, #50, was in the building at the back of the property, which overlooked a nice stream. TVs are old and bathrooms tiny. Room was clean and comfortable, but had tired, worn decor. It is an older property, and was about what we expected. To call it a "resort" is a stretch. It is fine if you just need a place to sleep, but didn't see much to make you want to hang around. It could bill itself as a retro motor court....first place I've stayed in a long time that still hands out metal room keys!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the property overlooking the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sb_osobailiando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here as part of a tour group. The location is good and generally the staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom we got was comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was OK but there was a complicated list of choices so you could not have cereal and porridge if you chose a cooked breakfast. Also everything came on one plate, including toast, so it was difficult to manage the food without a side plate too. The staff in the dining room were very helpful and cheerful.

As a group we were charged beforehand on all evening meals an 18% service charge plus a 9% state tax which added a hefty 27% to each meal which seemed a lot extra. It must have been done to ensure we left an adequate tip but you don't tip before a meal is served surely? When I asked about this practice on departure, I was given the stock answer given to all Europeans about the low wages in the service sector. I felt that adding the charge beforehand was unacceptable. Isn't it about time that there was an adequate minimum wage over there so that workers do not have to rely on tips? Wherever we went in the USA it was made clear that tips were expected. We felt sometimes that we, as tourists, were expected to bail out workers who were being exploited by their employers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AppianNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The room does not match the pictures. Cottage 183 was where we were supposed to stay. The second we walked in the smell hit us. The room was filthy. The sheets looked like they had car grease on them. There were at least 30 large black flies all over the windows. We called the front desk and were told we would get a call back. No one called but a cleaning person showed up with a bottle of cleaning solution and a swiffer. She killed a lot of them and left. We were disgusted. We went to the front desk and a young girl was there and she was so rude to us. She did not want to fix our problem. She just kept asking us if we wanted to check out. She told us flies were common in new Hampshire when it got warm. Are you kidding me? We drove 5 hours for this. They them said they would call other places for us but never did. The young girl who we think was named Melissa, kept smirking at us. I said this can't be the first time this happened and se said why don't you just check out and go somewhere else which we did. We actually left new Hampshire and went to Massachusetts instead. This was the worst place I have ever been. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GregNDenise2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln563, General Manager at Woodwards Resort & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

In response to this guests comments the room was cleaned by our housekeeping staff that morning and the room was checked by the manager. As soon as the guest called we sent two members of our staff down to take care of the problem, but the guests decided to check out. We have not had this problem before and we did have the room re-cleaned and it was rented that night with no problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in September 2011. Some highlights - restaurant (steaks!), pool and jacuzzi and very quiet wheh we stayed - not sure we would have enjoyed it as much if the all tours that were due to arrive had been their when we were. Low spots - the views from the breakfast room of the lovely pond, ducks etc are apparenly restricted to tour groups and when there aern't groyps staying that end of the room was 'closed' - presumably because it is further for the staff to walk from the kitched! We did ask but were made to feel rather like second class citizens - i't's for the tours' . Pity.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKGHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Our stay was in one of the cottages. The condition of the rooms was shabby. The rooms are showing their age, as are the furnishings. Cleaning is not a high priority to the housekeeping staff. When we placed a note to request something… it was ignored.

The dining experience was pleasant. The food was nothing out of the ordinary, but was good and fairly priced. The breakfast and evening serving staffs were friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Avoid the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
2.4 mi away
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
#19 of 20 in Lincoln
168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#18 of 20 in Lincoln
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Village Of Loon Mountain
0.6 mi away
Indian Head Resort
Indian Head Resort
#7 of 20 in Lincoln
1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Lincoln
Days Inn Lincoln
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodwards Resort & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodwards Resort & Inn

Address: 527 US Route 3, Box 107, Lincoln, NH 03251-4126
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: $99 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodwards Resort & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodwards Resort and Inn offers 142 well-appointed rooms with compact refrigerators, coffee makers, and complimentary Wi-Fi. This "stay & play" property features a family-friendly restaurant open for breakfast and dinner seasonally, Pub with stone fireplace and outdoor deck overlooking a duck & trout pond, 2 indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, Jacuzzi, tennis & racquetball courts and a variety of seasonal on-site activities including outdoor summer movies and lighted ice skating pond with free skates available. The Inn building, located 300 yards north of The Resort, offers budget-standard rooms and family suites with kitchenettes, separate living rooms, Jacuzzi tubs, and fireplaces. Seasonal restaurant specials offered and local area attraction tickets are available for purchase at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Woodwards Resort & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodward`s Hotel Lincoln
Woodwards Hotel Lincoln
Woodwards Resort & Inn Lincoln, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing