We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they nickel and dime you to death”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain Club On Loon
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
plymouth,ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“they nickel and dime you to death”
Reviewed February 18, 2010

nice place but give me a break when you spend $400.00 a night you would think they would give you a liitle something for your money
(this is what my 12 year old daughter has to say about the hotel) I think the hotel was the best! The tubing was my favorite.The skating rink was to small and there was snow all over it and it was to bumpy.I also enjoyed the cross country skiing and snowshoeing threw the woods. The gift shop outside was really fun to shop in!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mabart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    142
    68
    44
    26
See reviews for
219
151
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

We recently stayed at the Mountain Club on Loon for MLK weekend, 2010. We were very disappointed with our stay. We have stayed in many slope-side condos or hotels in the New England area over the past several years, and our stay at Loon was the worst experience that we have had, especially considering that the price per night was no cheaper than our other experiences.

Specifically:

- The temperature controls in the room did not work, and it was unbearably hot in the condo. When we raised this with the front office staff, they told us that it was because upon our arrival, the thermostat was set to below 60. The staff assured us that setting the temperature above 60 would allow the thermostat to function properly. We set the thermostat to 65. The temperature in the room stayed consistently between 76 and 82, a temperature we found stifling.

- We stayed on the 11th floor. The laundry machines on floors 9, 10, 11, and 12 were all out of order, as my husband discovered by going up and down the stairs. It's hard to imagine that all the machines broke within the span of 1 day. Why didn't the front desk staff warn us about this at check-in? Why weren't the machines fixed before such a busy weekend?

- Someone at the front desk could have warned us at check-in that the Black Diamond Grille tends to close to diners without reservations on busy weekends. When we found that the Black Diamond Grille was no longer accepting any diners, we went to the front desk to ask for help in identifying local restaurants to either eat in or takeout. The staff were uniformly unhelpful, telling us only that "everywhere is going to be very busy." I had to insist that they give us contact info for a local restaurant so that we could phone - they did not offer to call the restaurant for us, a level of service that I would have expected as routine at a nice resort.

- Reserved parking, rather than having to drive to four different tight, small parking lots to find a parking spot, would have been preferable.

There were some positive aspects of our trip, such as our experience at the Viaggio Spa, where the level of service was actually good. The food at the Black Diamond Grille was also surprisingly good and portion sizes were huge for the price. Unfortunately, those positive aspects did not make up for the deficiencies of our stay.

The slopeside location was ok, but not as convenient as at some resorts, especially if you are parents of young children and have to lug their gear back and forth.

One other thing which was not the fault of the Mountain Club resort staff, was that we encountered a number of really rude hotel guests and skiers, which further added to the our overall unpleasant experience at Loon.

To summarize, the level of service was very poor for the price we paid (>$300 per night). We were very disappointed about this experience as Loon is so accessible from Boston and we were hoping to make this a regular ski trip. We would not return to the Mountain Club, and we cannot recommend staying here without a major, obvious change in the level of service.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MassSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

The rooms were much bigger than I expected, and I was surprised by the jacuzzi bathtubs, which were quite a treat after a day of snowboarding (despite the lukewarm water due to everyone coming back at the end of the day). We had everything we needed and were impressed by the updated kitchen. I enjoyed location of the club, which was littlerally at the bottom of the mountain where the ski lifts are, but it was really noisy in the morning when everyone was leaving for the slopes. All in all, a great experience

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porkachop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

From the minute I walked into this dated room I knew it had no heat. Front desk reassurd me that there was heat. Maintenence had to come and had it running, but not enough to warm the room to over 63 degrees. Complained to the front desk and they told me it happens all the time! Solved the lack of heat by turning on the electric oven and leaving its door open!!! A weather seal around the AC unit would have healped also.

Buffet breakfast was very poorly run and out of many items. Seemed VERY short of help. Overall not a positive experience and will likely never return.

Do NOT do the Polar Express. It is the BIGGEST scam I have ever seen.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAllOver123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Alright ive been staying at the mountain club on loon since I have been a toddler and I absolutely love it. Though the quality and service seems to have been slashed in half in the past 5-6 years Its still a great hotel.
My most recent visit was from jan 7-15 09 for a great week of skiing and hanging out with my friends. I booked a suite room that was newly renovated and basically it just feels like how they did it the last time.
Pros. Amazing rooms
The kitchen is bigger in the suite than my apartment. With full oven, stove, microwave, toaster, fridge, dishwasher and with plates and silverwear. The king bed is comfy and the king bathroom has a whirpool tub. The staff is polite with one exception. The best thing about the rooms is you walk out of your room. Take an elevator to the bottom floor walk to your ski locker and put your gear on walk outside put your skiis or board on and go. Its even a slight slope from the spot you put your skiis on (from the hotel) to the lift.
The night life is decent, night tubeing, spa, restaurant and bar. Theres also a gameroom for if you have kids though the games are old fun but still old some were even outdated when I was a little kid.
Also I dont know if it was the sorry ecconmy or the time I went(switched it by 5 days that stay) but the mountain was as good as abandoned. The restaurant had maybe 2 other patrons in it when I ate in it. usually its a wait and I was the only one during 2 of the breakfasts....kinda felt like the shinning.
Also the lines were non existent simply put I dont think I waited for more than 5 minutes for the gondola and the trails were picture perfect every morning freshly groomed and sometimes with a few inches of natural powder. The only real crowd I could think of was after school alot of teens would appear.
The mountain it self ranges in trails from bunny slopes to double black diamonds ive been skiing for about 17 and a half years and still enjoy what loon has to offer. Snowboarders will love the half pipe and random parks and well no matter how you get down the mountain you will love it. If your a boarder or skiier you will love the hotel. Free guest parking in an inside garage! Free ski locker and they will give you a good deal on lift tickets. Theres even a steam train that kids love and takes skiiers from one part of the mountain a few hundred feet to the other. Theres a climbing wall inside and an ice skateing rink. The favorite thing I like to do is to ski all day and retire when the lifts close and go sit in the out door hot tub! Basically its outside right next to the brookway trail. If you go out there at the right time you can see the snow cats hard at work grooming the mountain for the next day. But yeah there is just so much you could do at loon that one cant fit it into a review.

The cons.
The thermostat in the room with all my friends was not in proper working order despite a few calls down to the desk and walking down it never got fixed but I could care less it didn't hinder the trip at all for me, my friends dint enjoy it but its life.
Also during breakfast one employee didn't take to kindly to me taking a plate of bacon back to my room I thought it would be fine since they were breaking down the buffet...and the fact id eaten there every day for the past week.
Cell phone service, my friends Tracphone had good service, my nextel had sporadic service at best my tmobile phone would send and receive text though I had lovely service at the top of the mountain and I think Verizon worked thoroughly. Oh and the pool sucks if your an adult.

Over all its wicked awesome. I know that I will be back in a few months and the year after that and so on and so on.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Stayed there for wedding and reception of family member. Suite was great with plenty of room for family of four. Staff was first class and views of mountains and Fall colors were awesome.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GregR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in October during a tour of New England to see the Fall. The view from my room was worth 5 stars alone, the forest a riot of colour and the river running fast and white. I spent an age trying to capture it on with my camera but I fear nothing will do it justice. The hotel room was good ( very large bed; jet bath/shower etc); the staff friendly and a restaurant/bar which was reasonably priced with a good menu. Took a gondala trip up the mountain which was well worth it for the views.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackMirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincoln
0.2 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
193 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
3.1 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
RiverWalk Resort At Loon Mountain
16.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,400 reviews
1.4 mi away
InnSeason Resorts Pollard Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Club On Loon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Club On Loon

Property: Mountain Club On Loon
Address: 90 Loon Mountain Rd, Lincoln, NH 03251-4303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lincoln
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lincoln
#6 Family Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Club On Loon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vacationer's paradise, the beauty, hospitality and convenience of The Mountain Club on Loon is unrivaled. Nestled at the base of New Hampshire's most popular ski resort, The Mountain Club on Loon offers a delightful array of amenities and activities on-site or within a very short walk. Here you will find a luxurious spa and health club, two delightful dining options, and refreshing pool and hot tub. There's also a covered parking garage available so there's no need to worry about your vehicle during your vacation. While staying at The Mountain Club on Loon, awe-inspiring views will make your everyday world a distant memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Mountain Club On Loon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Club On Loon Hotel Lincoln
Mountain Hotel On Loon
Mountain Hotel Lincoln
Mountain Club Loon
Mountain Club On Loon Lincoln, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing