We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Club On Loon
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was my family's second outing to the Mountain Club on Loon. We came back because of the location. Nothing beats waking up and walking out the door onto the slopes. The location is so good, we'd even consider buying into the whole timeshare situation here. We wont, however, due to the run-down nature of the building, the lack of staffing, and the sense that this place is on the verge of going under.
First --what is good: the location. All the rooms are efficiencies (great for families). The rooms are kept clean. There are a variety of activities including a spa, indoor pool and a pub. Now--what needs work: The staff is not trained to the level of a "resort". In some instances, they were even on the verge of being rude. ( note to hotel: a specific spa front desk person) The spa locker rooms are falling apart and not kept clean. (be sure to wear flip-flops in the locker rooms and pool area) The reservations staff were not aware of their own emailed winter special. (they overcharged the first time, and it took several days and several calls to get it right).
It was nice to see they added a breakfast with the room charge, but by 9am all the food was gone, and there was no obvious attempt to replace it (breakfast was open until 11am). Also, if you are going to advertise "stay two nights, get one free...breakfast included each morning", then you should include three breakfasts...one for each night. We were given two, with the explaination that since the last night was free, there is no free breakfast on the last morning. We found that a little deceptive, and a little cheap.
Would I return? Yes, given the right deal. If you are planning a trip to loon, especially with kids, and they are running a special, I would try them out.
Just realize it's not going to be the Ritz.

Room Tip: Ask for a slope-side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NHTraveler03301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCOL-GM, General Manager at Mountain Club On Loon, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for being our guests at The Mountain Club on Loon. We know you have choices and appreciate your business. The Health Club and Spa's refurbishment will be completed in June, we are sorry it could not be completed it prior to the 2012-13 ski season. The refurbishment includes complete new flooring throughout the facilities but it is always a good idea to wear "flip flops" or other spa slippers, even at The Ritz. Our Skier's breakfast buffet is endless and we are proud that we never run out of food, sorry that you experienced something very different than what we do every day that we offer our buffet. Most guests use the 3rd night free during their next visit to the Mountain Club, we certainly did not deal with your concerns properly and it has been addressed. Thank you for your comments regarding our spa staff possibly being rude as we will improve our services with your comments. The entire Mountain Club wishes to thank you for being a returning guest as we plan to be here for many year to come. The ownership of The Mountain Club continue with their planned capital improvements that are well over $13 million since 2009. Thank you, The Mountain Club Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 549 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent February vacation at the Mountain Club and had a wonderful experience!! The hotel is located slope side and every room has a ski locker, so once you check in, you don't have to leave. Unless you want to, of course! It made skiing very easy for my family.

Our room was great, very clean and the daily housekeeping was fantastic. They made all the beds, washed all the dishes and vacuumed EVERY DAY! We needed maintenance because my son clogged the toilet...we waited less than 10 minutes before the very pleasant maintenance man fixed it. The rooms may be a little more expensive and smaller than a condo across the street. But convenience, under ground parking and friendly service make it worth the money!

Room Tip: try to get a room with elevator access from the garage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SmilingTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCOL-GM, General Manager at Mountain Club On Loon, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for being our guests at The Mountain Club on Loon. We are always honored to serve you and hope you will think of The Mountian Club next time you wish to vacate for rest, relaxation and recreation. Your kind words are greatly appreciated.
The Mountain Club Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Paid $250 a night for studio.. Booked a few nights prior. It was our first time as a family to ski at loon. We have two children. First resort: there are no services that make this hotel a resort. It has a pool and spa but no sence of luxury or anticipation. Note the e tickets need to be booked three days prior or no discounts. Parking was challenging and limited so we left our car in garage most of stay... Even though we saw a dunkin donuts driving into Lincoln. Pool ... Crazy.... Lots of children and a wait to get into the hot tub. Fitness center Front desk staff had to intervene as there is no life guard or staff monitoring the cannon balls, running or pool hyginx (someone is bound to be hurt) while there is little staff involvement it is a free for all. As we left we were asked to leave the towels there as they were limited. My girls walked wet in bathing suits down cold corridors...
We went to the restaurant for dinner two nights... Torture. Food is poor and took an average 60 minutes to receive- no apologies. Pizza was sloppy and chicken nuggets frozen. Twenty minutes after ordering we were told the special was not available. Breakfast buffet is very thorough and has great eggs. Upon finishing we were asked by our server if we had coupons... He said the front desk gave them to everyone... Except us. Finally the last day of our stay there was a fire alarm. Never heard the announcement to evacuate... But evacuated to be joined by restaurant staff. All staff acted like guests and there was no leadership. When I later asked what happened they said it was precautionary but could not share anything else. Rooms were quiet, clean and good water pressure. We enjoyed the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lward02066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCOL-GM, General Manager at Mountain Club On Loon, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for visting us at The Mountain Club on Loon, we are extremely sorry to hear of your experience while being our guests. Our service mission is aimed much higher than you encountered, I would welcome an opportunity to prove that we are better than you expereinced, please feel free to contact me at ext. 5263. Thank you for your time, The Mountain Club Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

When you ski from the door of the hotel to the lift, you know you're in the right place. The rooms are clean and spacious, with nice-sized flatscreen tv's (and no annoying LodgeNet), but the decor is a bit dated. The beds are comfortable (at least the real beds are -- there was a little complaining about the quality of the pull-down beds in the second room of our suite. The suite is legit, with an entrance foyer and two completely separate rooms, with separate baths, a tv and coffee maker in each room, etc.

One warning: this hotel has the most confusing layout I've ever encountered in a country where the main language spoken is English. Lots of "you can't get there from here," which isn't helped with confusing signs in the elevators. Seriously, the clerk at the front desk (which, despite being at the same level as the road, is the 9th floor) politely declined to give me directions to my room, insisting that we wait for the Sherpa, I mean bellman, to guide the way. TIP: Check in and find out where your room is before unpacking the car. You might not want to bring your stuff through the lobby at all.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The food was hearty, which I appreciate when skiing, but it wouldn't be easy to eat either vegetarian or healthy at the restaurants. The breakfast buffet was just what you need to fuel up for a day on the slopes. The spa is definitely worth a trip and not ridiculously overpriced.

Slopeside always comes at a premium, but the Mountain Club was well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCOL-GM, General Manager at Mountain Club On Loon, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Mountain Club Guests, thank you for your truthful comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Mountain Club on Loon. It is always an honor to serve you as we hope that you will visit us again soon. The spring skiing is off to a great beginning and should last into April. Sincerely yours, The Mountain Club Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The reservation and front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had booked in January but changed our reservations to February due to windchills well below zero, and they were very accomodating with the switch.

We had a Club Room which was quite adequate, comfortable bed and flat-panel TV. The jacuzzi tub was a nice feature for the room. However, it is a little strange to share a front door for the room with the studo adjacent to you. It can be noisy when the other room's tenants are coming and going. The decor of the rooms are dated, and the lack of 2 bed-side lamps made reading difficult as the main light would need to be on, and only one nightstand meant the arm of the couch served as a table. The housekeeping crew in the morning was a little noisy in the hallway.

There are several options for food and drinks within the mountain resort. The Black Diamond Grill is right in the hotel, has a great bar, and music at night, but only until 9pm. There is a second pub by the ski lodge which is open late, but unfortunately for us only had a DJ playing house music on Saturday night. Not what I would expect from a ski pub.

The rooms are clean, and neat. There are great conveniences to the location for recreation. However, for the cost of the accomodation, PLUS the cost of tickets for the mountain - and the 1/2 day ticket is the price of most full day tickets elsewhere - it's very pricy for a shared enterance room.

Room Tip: Walls are a bit thin, request top floor for more quiet. The slope-side rooms have the better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Checked in sun feb 20th very busy with mass. school vacation week guest dervice rep carrie very friendly helpful with? and quick check in suite 1202/1212 slopeside mtn. views to the west.
room clean and neat studio side 1 king 1 queen murphys full kit with d/w microhood etc table for 4 full bath other room king bed balcony full bath perfect! black diamond lounge great bar food and drinks indoor pool outdoor year round jaccuzi like the title say so sweet to clip on your skis or board and ski right to the lift or gondola hungry/bathroom break just ski back to the mtn club its that easy great stay will def. be back

Room Tip: ask for high floor slopeside on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bgrantma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCOL-GM, General Manager at Mountain Club On Loon, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us at The Mountain Club on Loon. You are correct that "ski right out the door" is the stress free way to go. Please think of us in your future ski plans. It has been an honor serving you and your family. The Mountain Club Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were fortunate to spend 3 nights here Feb 14-17 in a slope side 2bedroom suite after discovering the hotel during a fall trip. Wow did it surpass our expectations. Ski in-ski out can not be stressed enough. What a great convenience. Rooms were clean, pool and hot tub facilities excellent, restaurants accommodating. A great trip and we would highly recommend for a family. Thanks again to Mike for making another weekend great for us. We can't wait to go back.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank mommy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCOL-GM, General Manager at Mountain Club On Loon, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments in your review of The Mountain Club. We are always honored to serve you and hope we can serve you again soon. We are so pleased to hear of how you enjoyed your time at Loon Mountain. Life is short, thank you for your time here. Sincerely yours, The Mountain Club team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Village Of Loon Mountain
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
2.2 mi away
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
#19 of 20 in Lincoln
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
RiverWalk Resort at Loon Mountain
1.7 mi away
The Kancamagus Lodge
The Kancamagus Lodge
#8 of 20 in Lincoln
459 reviews
1.4 mi away
InnSeason Resorts Pollard Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Club On Loon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Club On Loon

Address: 90 Loon Mountain Rd, Lincoln, NH 03251-4303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lincoln
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lincoln
#4 Family Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range: $80 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Club On Loon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vacationer's paradise, the beauty, hospitality and convenience of The Mountain Club on Loon is unrivaled. Nestled at the base of New Hampshire's most popular ski resort, The Mountain Club on Loon offers a delightful array of amenities and activities on-site or within a very short walk. Here you will find a luxurious spa and health club, two delightful dining options, and refreshing pool and hot tub. There's also a covered parking garage available so there's no need to worry about your vehicle during your vacation. While staying at The Mountain Club on Loon, awe-inspiring views will make your everyday world a distant memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Club On Loon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Club On Loon Hotel Lincoln
Mountain Hotel On Loon
Mountain Hotel Lincoln
Mountain Club Loon
Mountain Club On Loon Lincoln, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing