We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Club On Loon
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 27, 2013

On Jan 10th we ventured to Loon Mountain for an overnight stay. As a prior customer we always have had pleasant experience's. Loon Mountain Club not only has easy access to Loon Mountain but the rooms are always clean and comfortable and the staff are always informative and courteous.

We did not arrive to our room until early evening only to find the heat was not working, nor was the phone. We ventured to the lobby and were quite please that within 10 minutes the manager, Mike Simons, came to respond. Having travelled often and as former consultant specializing in customer service...I was pleasantly surprised that not only did the manager of the facility respond..but did so quite promptly.
Mike aplogized for the inconvenience and informed us to venture to the hotel pub as appetizers and a round of drinks were on the facility... while the crew worked the issue. Mike, the bartender ( I know...both named Mike!), was great...quick round of drinks to warm us up and round of appetizers (good food!) as well. The manager, Mike Simons..returned in less than 30 minutes and informed us that bad news was such the heat could not be corrected but the good news...we were to be upgraded to a full suite located on the same floor so as not to inconvenience us. Our original booking was only for the standard King room..not the suite package!
And Mike Simons went one step further...we had planned a day of skiing /Spa the following day and he graciously allowed us to retain our room with a late stay checkout.. at no additional charge.
There is a Malayan Proverb that states, "One can pay back the loan of gold, but one dies forever in debt to those who are kind".
Mike went above and beyond the call of duty and with that gained not only our gratitude but we will always do our best to make Loon Mountain Club our NH destination.

Room Tip: The rooms with view of the Mountain are best...and if you want a balcony just remember to ask for a...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCOL-GM, General Manager at Mountain Club On Loon, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for visiting us at The Mountain Club on Loon. We are always honored to serve you and hope you will think of us next time you vacate to relax. Thank you for your kind words regarding one of our managers. Your review is greatly appreciated by our entire team. Be well, The Mountain Club on Loon Hospitality Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Club On Loon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 538 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

I found the hotel to be outdated and in need of a makeover. Overall it was very clean, but it looked very much like it was built in the late 1980s and not remodeled since. The price was not cheap, so I guess we were paying for the location. It is slope side and very convenient to ski in and out during the day.

The rooms were sold as a suite, but it is really a studio kitchenette with fold down murphy bed and then a separate hotel style room. Bathrooms were clean and nice, but they do not offer conditioner. For the price, I felt the hotel could offer conditioner and a bit better soap/shampoos. Also, I do recommend a review of the pillows, they were so full I couldn't use them because my neck hurt after the first night.

They have lockers at the end of the hall for you to keep your equipment in and covered parking. The staff was friendly and nice. I do think the Manager's desk in the lobby looks messy and should be cleaned up to remove all the papers or moved to back of house.

Our stay included the breakfast buffet which was good. The plates in the stack though seemed dirty and two mornings I had to point out to the staff that several in the stack were covered with food from the dishwasher.

The restaurant for lunch/dinner was overall mediocre and could have offered more choices on food. I think they can update the menu and overhaul the restaurant a bit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCOL-GM, General Manager at Mountain Club On Loon, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank for visiting the Mountain Club and for taking the time to share your comments. We are always honored to have you as our guest. We are sorry that we fell short of your expectations. We continually improve our Slopeside property and in fact have spent $9 million in the past five years updating our rooms, hallways, spa, function rooms and restaurants. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your thoughts in more detail as we have additional renovations planned. During your travels, please feel comfortable and request from any Innkeeper such things as a different pillow or hair conditioner. It is always our pleasure to honor such guest’s requests. Thank you for the reminder on keeping my desk more presentable during the day but I also sit in the lobby so that guests will feel comfortable to approach me about any concerns they have with our operations. . We hope you will allow us an opportunity to serve you in the future, please have safe travels. Also, feel free to contact me directly. Sincerely yours, Jeff McIver, 800 229 7829.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Upon arrival of the hotel everything was average, pulled up to hotel, no assistance with luggage or ski equiptment, not a huge deal but for 275 a night I would have expected some assistance. I had requested a room located near another couple my girlfriend and I were traveling with, initially they had us blocked on two different floors, but made changes and had us on the same floor.

The layout of the rooms was very strange, there was a main door and then inside two seperate doors to two different rooms, most likely a king and a double if a family wanted to connect. Thankful nobody stayed in the room next to us or it could have been awkward. The room itself was average, they still use a comforter on the bed which also grosses me out, everybody knows those things don't get washed. There was hair on the bathroom floor and pee stains on the toilet when I lifted up the seat.

I asked the front desk where the ski lockers were locate and he said I would need to go back outside and down the hill. We ended up keeping our equiptment on the balcony off our room, I still am not sure where the storage lockers are. I also asked the desk if they had refrigerators available for use which they didn't not, again not a huge deal.

The bar in the restaurant was decent with food and service and nice rustic decor. The breakfast buffet we enjoyed both mornings was propbably the best part of my stay, great price value, also had omelet station on Sunday morning. The pool/spa area was also nice, although the outdoor hot tub was tiny and people were waiting and staring at you to leave once you got in.

On Sunday, I attempted to get a late check out but was told by the front desk that they never allow anybody to stay after 12:00, however the other couple we were traveling with was granted a 2:00 check out the night prior. Annoying! The hotel was maybe half full and they should have been able to accomodate a late check out if the rest of our party got one.

Can't beat the ski in, ski out location of the property, the only thing that probably keeps them in business, that and the breakfast buffett!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCOL-GM, General Manager at Mountain Club On Loon, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Happy New Year, we are very sorry to read of your experience while being our guests at The Mountain Club Resort and Spa. Your comments are special and we have addressed each of them. We would have preferred to have had the opportunity to deal with them while you were our guests. We only hope you will allow us an opportunity to serve you in the future. Please feel free to conttact me directly, Sincerely yours Jeff McIver, 800 229 7829.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our family stayed in the Mountain Club on Loon. This hotel is perfectly organized for the family who loves to ski with the ability to include lift tickets at the time of reservation! The hotel has direct ski-on access to Loon Mountain with easy to access to lockers for equipment. We stayed in a two room suite that had a full kitchen. In addition, there is an excellent pool and hot tub for apres skiing. We had outstanding service; we were impressed by all of the hotel employees. In addition, our kids used the game room. My husband and I liked the lounge. We had access to wifi during our stay. We loved the underground parking - very convenient for loading and unloading equipment.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the mountain and skiing; the other side of the building have rooms overlook...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 135Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCOL-GM, General Manager at Mountain Club On Loon, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words regarding your recent visit to The Mountain Club Resort and Spa. The entire staff appreciates your time spent with us as we are always honored to serve you. We look forward to your next visit and remain sincerely yours, The Mountain Club Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here first weekend in December 2012 after purchasing a deal on Boston Deals. What a great surprise! We had a room overlooking the slopes, loved the setup with the 2 murphy beds... made for so much more room during the daytime hours. We had breakfast each day on site - super buffet, and we had one dinner in the lounge. All the meals were very good... but with the kitchen (including stove, microwave, dishwasher, fridge, plates, utensils, coffeemaker, etc) we could also have eaten in the room. Pool was under construction first 2 days, (but we were accomodated at a neighboring resort), opened the day we were leaving - very nice pool. The spa, which we didn't have time to use, was beautiful. All staff we interacted with were friendly and helpful. We did the Polar Express ride on the Hobo Railroad (outstanding!) and also went to Santa's Village. Super weekend - I would definitely return to the Mountain Club whether I was skiing or taking a summer vacation - we had a wonderful experience here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCOL-GM, General Manager at Mountain Club On Loon, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Good day, thank you for your positive comments regarding your time with us at The Mountain Club Resort and Spa. The Polar Express is such a special time for families, many smiling young faces for sure. Our spa renovations have received nice reviews so we hope you will enjoy it during your next visit. Until then, Happy 2013 and be well. The Mountain Club Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Nice hotel with great facilities. The skiing is fantastic and you can ski to and from the door. My only complaint would be the lack of hot water in the rooms when the hotel is full and the wifi is very hit and miss.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Martyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCOL-GM, General Manager at Mountain Club On Loon, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Happy New Year from The Mountain Club Resort and Spa. Thank you for visiting us here in the beautiful White Mountains of New Hampshire. We are always honored to serve you and hope to again in the future. Please let us know if we can assist you in anyway until then, please be well. The Mountain Club Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a great time staying at the Club. The front desk was very courteous and tried very hard to make sure you enjoyed the stay. The studio is equipped with a full kitchen with dining area, one queen and one full bed. The sofa can easily be converted to a third bed if needed. The dishes, glasses and silverware were all like new. From the club, you could easily ski down to the lifts. They also provided a locker to store your ski equipment, which was convenient for us. While skiing at Loon, my daughter fell and had a minor concussion, the ski patrol and nurses at the first aid did a great job making sure she was properly taken care of. They even followed up with a postcard afterwards wishing her well. Overall we were very happy with our three day stay, we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The studio can easily sleep 4-5 but has only one bathroom.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qzgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCOL-GM, General Manager at Mountain Club On Loon, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Happy New Year from The Mountain Club on Loon. Thank you for your positive review and being our guests at The Mountain Club Resort and Spa. It is always an honor to serve you. Sorry to hear of the skiing mishap as we hope for a speedy recovery. We hope you will think of us next time you decide to vacate to the mountains, be well. The Mountain Club Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
3.1 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#13 of 20 in Lincoln
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
#19 of 20 in Lincoln
166 reviews
2.3 mi away
River Walk Resort at Loon Mountain
1.4 mi away
InnSeason Resorts Pollard Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Club On Loon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Club On Loon

Address: 90 Loon Mountain Rd, Lincoln, NH 03251-4303
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lincoln
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lincoln
#6 Family Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range: $125 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Club On Loon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vacationer's paradise, the beauty, hospitality and convenience of The Mountain Club on Loon is unrivaled. Nestled at the base of New Hampshire's most popular ski resort, The Mountain Club on Loon offers a delightful array of amenities and activities on-site or within a very short walk. Here you will find a luxurious spa and health club, two delightful dining options, and refreshing pool and hot tub. There's also a covered parking garage available so there's no need to worry about your vehicle during your vacation. While staying at The Mountain Club on Loon, awe-inspiring views will make your everyday world a distant memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mountain Club On Loon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Club On Loon Hotel Lincoln
Mountain Hotel On Loon
Mountain Hotel Lincoln
Mountain Club Loon
Mountain Club On Loon Lincoln, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing