We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY CLEAN, INCREDIBLY WELCOMING PEOPLE!!!”
Review of Mt Liberty Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mt Liberty Lodging
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My family and I initially stayed at the EconoLodge down the street, but the room was stuffy, had a funny smell to it and the beds were just downright uncomfortable. So, we left not really knowing where we were going to stay because we didn't make reservations ahead of time. So, not having a specific plan, we set out to find somewhere the was reasonably priced, comfortable, family friendly and not too far from the main road. We remembered a place that we stayed at about 10 years ago, but we were without kids at that time, so our options were more flexible. We ended up at Mt. Liberty, where Tom and Darlene greeted us with a warm smile...the kind you get from a relative that you haven't seen in a few years. We talked about options, rooms, cottages, prices....and local fishing spots!! My son, going on 13 years old, absolutely loves to fish, but not being locals, we had no idea where to start. Tom was great in helping us out. In addition to helping us out with fishing, he put us in a cottage that was perfect for us...not too big, but enough room to move around without bumping into each other! Plus, the 'enclosed' back porch was amazing, especially in the morning with a fresh cup of coffee!! We had such a nice time with them that we stayed an extra nite and even when we finally did have to leave, we talked about staying 'one more nite' just to enjoy the area. So, if you're ever in the Lincoln, NH area, I would HIGHLY recommend staying with them. They make you feel right at home and will do almost anything to make your stay an enjoyable one!! Thank you, Tom and Darlene! You made it all worth staying!
~Karen (and Family)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank kd11980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 187 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

You will enjoy the Mt. Liberty Motel and cabins if you do not have high expectations and enjoy vintage "Mom and Pop" lodging. The location is wonderful as the property is directly on the Pemigawasset river. Our rooms were in the strip hotel toward the front of the property and road noise could be heard, although it was not particularly bothersome. The motel rooms have a very curious layout, with a very small "living room" barely large enough for a couple of chairs and a TV. Adjacent to that is a tiny bedroom with only walking space around the bed and no other furniture in the room. The bathroom is also tiny and the shower would be a squeeze for larger individuals. Topping it all off is a very compact screened porch with room for two chairs.

The rooms are clean and the property and grounds are well maintained. The owner is friendly and had a good recommendation for a restaurant for dinner. As long as you don't expect anything fancy, you'll probably like this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
3  Thank B Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we couldn't be happier! The room was cozy and clean. The river behind the motel made for good free fun. We always saw the owner around cleaning the pool and picking up any trash that made its way out of the garbage barrels. He was an awesome source for nearby attractions, fishing spots and was extremely friendly and helpful. The prices for the area were more than reasonable. The motel is in a very quiet area, yet it is close to stores, restaurants and other attractions. We will definitely be going back next summer for our 1 year anniversary!! This time, we're taking the kids!!!!! - Jess & Rob DesRoches

Room Tip: Call in advance like with any other hotel / motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Darlene and Tom couldn't be nicer or more accomodating! Cabin was clean, cozy and had all the basics we needed (improvised on a cookie sheets). There was no musty smells like some cabins can have. If you don't operate well in small quarters, this isn't for you. It was fine for us! Great little porch to relax on. We were thrilled to have the cold river to soak our feet in post hiking. ahhhhh. It also provided great white noise for sleeping. We believe the places were all booked, but the noise level was wonderfully quiet. We plan to go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyesoutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is a great place to stay if your going to the Franconia Notch area. The cabins are great. My husband and I stay here every year in the same cabin and can't imagine staying anywhere else. The cabins are clean and comfortable, with small fridge microwave, and two burner hot plate. There is also a coffee maker and toaster and all the pots, plates cups, utensils. There is also a charcole grill in front of every cabin. Tom and Darlene are great. They take such good care of the property and rooms. They are full of information about the things going on and places to see. Very nice people! You are so close to all kinds of fun. From taking a walk through the Basin, to real hiker hikes at the trailheads, to all the bike paths, Loon or Cannon Mountains to Lost River or Clarks Trading Post. Mount Liberty is positioned just right. This is the place to stay, with friendly people, clean rooms and the perfect atmosphere! There is a motel here also that we have never stayed in, but I figure that if the cabins are clean and neat then it must be the same in the motel. Good value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We had been to Lincoln last winter and loved it so much we decided to come back this summer. I looked for the cheapest lodging that I could find, but also wanted a place that was clean and not creepy. With a room for $81.25 per night for four nights (that includes the tax) the Mt. Liberty Motel fit the bill.

The rooms, as previous reviewers have said were very clean. The location is perfect as it is on the banks of the Pemigewasset River. We loved swimming in the river! It is also right near all attractions in Lincoln. Motel management was very friendly.

In terms of the room, we got what we paid for. It was clean, but small. There were many minolr maintenance issues with the room such as a cracked front window, a non-functional dead bolt, a missing bathroom door lock, and a shower that has trouble keeping a constant temperature.

There are better motels than Mt. Liberty and there are worse. For the price this place gives you fair accommodations and is a reasonable choice to make. I may stay at Mt. Liberty again in the future, but I will also weigh other options.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RogerAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in a cabin at the mount liberty hotel last summer and loved it. The screened in porch right on the river was amazing. Clean comfortable beds and close to everything. I recommend Clarks trading post for the kids and Mt.Washington.

The rate for the one bedroom cabin was about the same as a standard hotel room. Right on the river, right where you want to be in Lincoln. Some day we will return.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VERMONTCOUPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
1.2 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#14 of 20 in Lincoln
637 reviews
3 mi away
The Village Of Loon Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Indian Head Resort
Indian Head Resort
#7 of 20 in Lincoln
1,176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mt. Coolidge Motel
Mt. Coolidge Motel
#3 of 20 in Lincoln
621 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kancamagus Lodge
The Kancamagus Lodge
#8 of 20 in Lincoln
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Liberty Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Liberty Lodging

Address: 10 Liberty Rd, Lincoln, NH 03251-4222
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range: $76 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mt Liberty Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off RT 3 along the Pemi River in the heart of the White Mountains, 14 one and two BR non-smoking motel units w/CCTV, AC & coffeemakers w/ complementary coffee & tea. 8 - one and two BR cottages that sleep 2 to 6 guests - with 6 right on the river w/ kitchenettes, gas grills and beautiful views of the river. Amemities - free wireless internet, 20x40 inground pool, swingset with large play area for children and a firepit for toasting marshmallows, fishing, hiking trails & many actvities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Mt Liberty Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt Liberty Lodging Lincoln, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing