We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Chinese food in a ski town”

Chieng Garden Chinese Cuisine
Ranked #31 of 47 Restaurants in Lincoln
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent Chinese food in a ski town”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We visit Lincoln, NH, every year or so and always go to Chieng Garden for an evening meal. It is upstairs over another restaurant in a mini-mall and the ambiance about fits that--nothing special. The service is okay, not overly attentive but since we were there on a very quiet night (Saturday but off season), there was no wait for service or food. We go there with relatives who live in the area and we always start with skorpion bowls (fruit, rum, fire--life is good!) We did have to ask for tea but the water glasses were kept full. The food was okay; we ordered the sizzling rice soup with shrimp, which is a favorite. While the portion was for two, it was significantly smaller than the size we get at a restaurant near home, and it was not as faithful to the recipe (I have a cookbook from Taiwan) nor does it have as many shrimp as the restaurant to which I'm comparing it. We had the basics: spring rolls, egg rolls, spicy beef dish, pad thai,
fried rice. The beef dish didn't have as much sauce as we would have liked, although we don't like places that smother everything in brown sludge. This was tasty, just not enough.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meanjunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    33
    23
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Terrible Food”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We went to get takeout Chinese on our trip to Lincoln. We usually get Chinese on special date nights so we were excited about some good food. We ordered the Pu Pu Platter to go and I should have known when they said it would be ready in 10 minutes that the food in it must be sitting in the back from earlier lunchtime. We got it home and put it in the fridge for reheating later. We have done this many times and not had a problem with it. We were excited to dig into the food so I started dishing it up. The chicken fingers were tiny compared to other restaurants. The wings looked dry, and the boneless ribs looked really fatty. We started eating hoping it would taste better than it looked. Unfortunately that was not the case. The boneless ribs were about 75% fat and unedible, the wings were dry, and the crab rangoon had huge chunks of onion in them (I hate onions). I had to take the filling out of the crab rangoon and it was mostly onion and cheese, hardly any crab in them. The sweet and sour sauce was way too sour. Overall a huge disappointment. If we visit again we are not going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 345jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowdoin, Maine
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were in town September 20-22, 2013 for the NH Highland Games. Understandably it is a very busy weekend for the area. One would expect a restaurant to be prepared for the extra diners. Someone forgot to tell the owner that the Highland games would most certainly bring in much more diners than they would normally get on a Saturday night. We waited to be seated. Another couple that was in line behind us was given a table next to us. Their server brought them water and drinks and we sat there and sat there. Some large dining parties got up and left. When our server finally came to our table to see if we wanted beverages we had to ask for water, and he took our order. We wanted an appetizer first and our two dinner choices. We waited, and waited and waited. After 45 minutes he brought the appetizer and immediately our dinner choices. The food was good. No one came near us to refill our water so I went to the serving station and got my own water. Meanwhile their was an altercation at a table nearby the ending up in the customers leaving without even touching their food. There was a mix up in their and after their long wait that was the last straw. Once we finished our meal our server never came near us. He visited tables around us, but never came near our table. Finally, we got the attention of the female server and she brought us our check. We paid at the bar on the way out not wanting to sit there another hour for someone to take our payment. We arrive about 6:30 and did not leave the restaurant until 8:15pm. The food was good but what poor management to not have extra staff for a very busy time of year for Lincoln. Two servers should have been 4-5. Very poor management. Prices were reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NanaP155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great lunch specials.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lunch specials are a bargain. Food is very good. They even have a pu pu platter. Spacious and very kid-friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MitchellW102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were in a rush and decided Chinese would be fast. We ordered a variety of appetizers that were delicious. The main dishes eaten by others looked good, too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chieng Garden Chinese Cuisine also viewed

Woodstock, White Mountains
Lincoln, White Mountains
 
Lincoln, White Mountains
 

Been to Chieng Garden Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing