We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walked up the tower”
Review of Indian Head

Indian Head
Ranked #11 of 31 things to do in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Castle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Walked up the tower”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We walked up the tower at the Indian Head Resort to see Indian Head. If you go into the gift shop there's a machine that you can buy coins and there's a machine you put the coins in and walk up the tower. Besides enjoying the exercise you get going up the tower, the view was worth it. Very cool I had some good pictures with my camera. Next year I think I'm going to try the trails.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    12
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tough, but worth it.”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were told that the trail was three hours (correct) and that it was fairly easy (absolutely not correct). It was pretty much a straight up/straight down affair. As we went up the southern part of the trail, people coming down did not seem too pleased with the level of difficulty of this trail (it seems, they too, had been misled). When we got to the top, it was worth it. What a view!!! On the trip down, we used the southern trail, WHICH IS BASICALLY AN UNMARKED TRAIL. We were very lucky to have found our way.
The southern route is, however, had its good and bad points. It was, I believe, a little more scenic than the northern route, with not so many steep areas (some may disagree). The two negative points was the manoeuvring around the bridge, where you had to jump over rocks, etc. Also, if you've parked at the Flume, you come out about 1 km south, so you have to walk up the road to get back to the Flume area (which is easily accessible to the northern path). The last kilometer was the worst.
If you're in good shape, there is no reason you can't go this. My knees/back are not so great, but I managed (just). NOT recommended for children under the age of 14.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ckg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Since we no longer can view the Old Man of the Mountain, you must take a trip to view the Indian Head. It's amazing to see what has formed naturally on a mountain.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank xTine121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“top of indian head”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We purchased our tokens and climbed to the top of the Indian Head. It was a beautiful clear day with great views.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lookout tower”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The tower was amazing, with beautiful views in every direction. I definitely recommend this to every one and it only cost fifty cents per person.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Head also viewed

 
Lincoln, White Mountains
Lincoln, White Mountains
 

Been to Indian Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing