We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good food - neat little diner”
Review of Sunny Day Diner

Sunny Day Diner
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good food - neat little diner”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We sat down quickly and we were able to order quickly. My egg white omelet was delicious and fluffy and my son had a blueberry pancake that was chock full of berries. The one big downside was no real maple syrup! As one other reviewer stated, it is fake syrup mixed with real - yuck! It would be nice to have the option for real syrup, even to pay more. My husband's meal was okay - he claims a little greasy. Overall a pretty good experience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BurlingtonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    71
    21
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
279 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“They could all learn from the Sunny Day”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Haven't been here in a while but nothing has changed. The place is just perfect. Not tons of room, but true to its diner heritage. The atmosphere is nice because they don't spend time or money making it look nostalgic. It is on its own.

Staff are as down to earth as you can get and take good care of you. The food was really good. Not greasy, but very tasty. The menu is pretty standard but they do standard VERY well. Their breads are available for take out and I always get a loaf of their raisin. The best I've had anywhere.

Give it a try. Google them for the phone # and hours as they are shorter (naturally) in winter. You'll not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fenway1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
300 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Diner 101”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Traditional diner atmosphere in stainless steel diner facade with traditional red booths and bar stools. The food was ok but not exceptional. The coffee was dark and rich. Only open on weekends in late September. Good stop for a quick breakfast in a 1958 diner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hallercf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We are a fan . We stop in after church on Sunday's . Depending on the server service can be very good I didn;t catch gals name but she has been there a long time she's great next time I;ll get her name . Only complaint Bigger booths please. Food very good

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little find :)”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Went to Clark's Trading Post, got my hand stamped then walked over to the Sunny Day Diner for lunch.

My family of 8 had 1/2 lunch, 1/2 breakfast - (Turkey Sandwich, Chocolate Chip Pancakes, Rueben) both are served from open to close. Food was awesome & so was the service. Extra bonus....we even had the pleasure of meeting the hard working, very friendly owner Gus.

We got there just in time, NO lines, NO waiting - beats nasty park food any day!

Cash only

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Busdriver19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunny Day Diner also viewed

Lincoln, White Mountains
Lincoln, White Mountains
 
Lincoln, White Mountains
 
Lincoln, White Mountains
 

Been to Sunny Day Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing