We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Gypsy Cafe

Gypsy Cafe
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American, African, Asian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Food from around the world with a New England touch.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A really nice quirky place. I have to say that I had the best duck breast ever, and the rest of our party really enjoyed their food. Terrific staff making everybody feel welcome and relaxed. A fine experience, not to be missed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GHMShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    591
    190
    53
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing gem!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a treat to "discover" this place. It's located in an unassuming building, but with one step into the restaurant we were taken aback by the wonderful decor. After that came the menu, eclectic to say the least. Next came the service and then the food. My wife, my sister and I shared a Mediterranean appetizer plate followed by a mushroom and Brie soup that was incredible. After that we delved into the eclectic menu, wondering if a small kitchen could handle it. Out came our Middle Eastern, Mexican and American style entrees. All the meals were excellently prepared and delicious. The kitchen people must be a really a talented crew. Hoping against hope, we ordered dessert. This became the piece de resistance (my wife says that "the Pumpkin Crisp was to die for", and I enjoy reminiscing over my Trifle. My sister is still in heaven over her home made Wild Blueberry pie, but she's back in California-her tough luck.) And these are all made by the woman who co-owns the restaurant and does the hostessing as well. She was delightful and made us feel very welcome. (We got a chance to speak with her during our meal.) All this happened while being attended to by a wait staff person who was very attentive and personable. Needless to say, as we left to continue on our foliage drive, the three of us were still really excited about the dining experience we just had and the place we had just "discovered". We plan on making the 2+ hour drive in the future. The Gypsy Cafe is now another "must" for us on any subsequent trips. You'll be absolutely thrilled that you "discovered" this place as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob_n_Pat735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
196 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Eclectic menu, eclectic surroundings-Awesome!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Now this was a real surprise and a pleasant one at that. There are limited options to dine in Lincoln (dine, not simply eat) so finding this place (thank you fellow reviewers) was a treat! First of all, the moment you walk in the door, you know you are not in a run-of-the-mill restaurant. Your eyes can barely take in all of the eclectic decorations, mostly mosaicked walls & mobiles, and bright colors everywhere, It’s delightful! And happy! Even the wall by the restrooms are lined with beautiful mosaics. Turns out, the mosaics are all done by the chef! His menu is equally eclectic so it’s obvious to me this is one creative guy. I happened to mention to our server that I dabble in mosaics myself and to my surprise, the chef came out and we talked about our projects. How great is that??

The soup of the day was mushroom & brie bisque, which arrived nice & hot, and so delicious. The menu includes a variety of cultural influences, from Thai to Indonesian, southwestern to Jamaican, American to Mediterranean. We went for the pork medallions and Indonesian peanut stir fry with chicken. Both dishes exploded with layers of flavors! They were so good.

This is a must if you are in Lincoln. It’s a great place and you’ll have so much fun looking at all the art that surrounds you during your experience. Helpful hint: stay away from NH pinot gris – NH does a lot well, but wine isn’t one of them.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmallWonderAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Waits everywhere, didn't know where to go- glad we ended up here!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was Columbus Day weekend and there were waits at all the big restaurants. We didn't know where to turn for a bite to eat and actually asked at another local establishment for advice on where to go. They recommended the Gypsy Cafe and we were pleasantly surprised. We only ordered appetizers, trying to keep things under budget. We had nachos, chili and a salad. The salad was a very good, just a bit small. The nachos, however, were FANTASTIC. The cheese and toppings were layered throughout, not just on the top. We WILL be back for these nachos again. Our server the owner's wife and our service was also fantastic. Besides our server all of the other staff we encountered were attentive, friendly and helpful. What a great place! We will definitely be back on our next visit to the Lincoln area!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quirky decor and great home-cooked food”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A great place to eat and good value. Danielle was our waitress and she was very pleasant and helped us with our menu selections. The desserts were delicious!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gypsy Cafe also viewed

Lincoln, White Mountains
Lincoln, White Mountains
 
Lincoln, White Mountains
 

Been to Gypsy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing