We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Gypsy Cafe

Gypsy Cafe
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American, African, Asian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Food from around the world with a New England touch.
Denia, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lovely small restaurant,well known locally , would advise booking, food was lovely and fresh,
From different regions of the world. Ambience is super, hope that doesn't change as its different.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    190
    53
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Find - Why Did It Take Us So Long”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a great place - the variety, the flavors, the staff...loved it all. My husband and I passed by the Cafe a million times, always saying we really needed to stop in since we'd heard very good things about it. For our 9th anniversary - we decided to finally stop and give it a try. On a Sunday night, in the sleepy town of Lincoln, the place was packed. As we walked to our seats, I passed by one dish after another that looked fantastic. We asked the waitress to give us some suggestions which of course we took. My husband had the pork tenderloin and I had the steak fajitas - both wonderfully flavorful. We were too full to get dessert - but we'll try that next time! Highly recommend - there's something for everyone. Prices are very reasonable and the staff was fantastic!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WORST SERVICE EVER!!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

At first glance of the building and menu, The Gypsy Cafe seemed hopeful in our search for decent food in the Lincoln area. It took only minutes for the inattentive service to become apparent, as our waitress gossiped in the corner for a while before wandering our way. At first we brushed it off, as we were hungry and still glued to our surprisingly diverse yet very expensive menus. After a while, she came back to take our orders, but without the one drink we had ordered, and acted like she never forgot it. Our meals were an even greater disappointment; my boyfriend's medium-rare steak had no pink whatsoever despite being a thick $22 rib-eye cut, the baked haddock was watery and completely flavorless, and the pork tasted like someone just dumped two random bottles of Mrs.Dash into it and placed cold linguisa on top. We called the owner over and they reluctantly took the steak back and cooked him another while the rest of us picked at our average-at-best food. The second steak they brought him was half gristle and fat and so raw his knife couldn't cut it, and when we complained again the owner said, "All right I will take it off the bill, now enough!" Needless to say we couldn't believe she was the owner and had never seen such unprofessional behavior from a business.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SanguineSeraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious find!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended to us by our hotel. They were spot on! Fabulous food, eclectic atmosphere and delightful service. Local chef whose mom makes the desserts! Amazing combinations of flavors and ingredients. We felt this rated as one of the most flavorful meals we'd ever had. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenmattevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
“What a great find.....double excellent or excellent XL”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

W e found this place a pure fluke as we parked nearby.

I have to say having missed breakfast (as the hotel we stayed in last night did an appalling breakfast) we were tired hungry and in need of coffee!

We entered the café and we were immediately greeted by smiling friendly staff. We were seated and when we saw the menu we knew we were onto a winner. Wow the menu was great and not typical American but a mixture of great dishes from around the world.

Our food came and it was great, some of the best food I have had in ages. We were kept topped up at all times with coffee. We got the bill and were amazed how cheap it was for such good food and great service. It was just luck we found the place and we are really glad we did.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gypsy Cafe also viewed

Lincoln, White Mountains
Lincoln, White Mountains
 
Lincoln, White Mountains
 

Been to Gypsy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing