We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Gypsy Cafe

Gypsy Cafe
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American, African, Asian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Food from around the world with a New England touch.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stumbled on Gypsy Cafe while looking for a place for lunch while driving through Lincoln. Unusual in decor and menu offerings, it was definitely a great find! There were six of us and we ordered 5 different entrees and 2 appetizers. Everyone was very pleased by their choices. The calamari, I was told, was excellent. My husband's comment was, "You can tell it was cooked by a REAL chef. The calamari was done perfectly - not at all tough and a great sauce!" Portions were huge by lunch standards and very reasonably priced. Our only regret is that this restaurant is not local for us. We all agreed we could go every day for a week and still have things we'd like to try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTHappyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    190
    53
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Funky Little Gem”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Gypsy Café offers great location and great fare, with plenty of parking. The chef is creative in his cooking, as well as his art which decorates the walls, tiles the table tops, and seemingly fills any available space.
Dining is offered both inside and outside. The inside houses a front dining room and a bar, as well as a side porch. The ladies' room is tiny but adequate - better lighting would be great!
The menu is international and always a delight. The lunch and dinner menus differ. The service has been consistently pleasant over the years.
The one area of disappointment is the wine list, unfortunately. It is obvious that much time and consideration has gone into the food - which deserves better beverages than the corporate wines that are currently offered.
We love being greeted at the entrance by the chef's warm and friendly Mom. She's a peach.
The restaurant closes during Mud Season, Tuesdays and Wednesdays.
You might need a reservation! Highly recommended - and with thanks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gladwewent17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH, USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We went for dinner to the Gypsy cafe. The food is excellent and has an international flair. Everything is freshly prepared. The rice was slightly under-cooked, but was eatable. The service was friendly. The martinis were well made. This was our second time at this restaurant. The last time we had gone for lunch. Both times we had a great meal. I would highly recommend this place for both lunch and dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avid_traveler2_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleview, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“eclectic menu”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

small and cozy with an eclectic international menu. wonderful cocktails and tasty interesting meals and appertizers

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank joseph l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A treasure!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a refreshing find in a small town. Sophisticated favors, international flair. We loved it! The waitress was great. Our 22 year old daughter sighed and called it a treasure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gypsy Cafe also viewed

Lincoln, White Mountains
Lincoln, White Mountains
 
Lincoln, White Mountains
 

Been to Gypsy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing