We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to get a table”
Review of Gypsy Cafe

Gypsy Cafe
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American, African, Asian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Food from around the world with a New England touch.
Littleton, MA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hard to get a table”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Tried to get in here on a Friday night without a reservation... no luck. But did go on a Thursday and was seated immediately. The menu if very different and the food very good. It is a noisy place however.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GROFREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    191
    53
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We rented a cabin for the night in Woodstock, NH. We were originally going to cook, but then decided to eat out since we rarely do. We of course checked out TripAdvisor and were lead in the right direction yet again.

The restaurant was packed which is always a good sign. The owner also greeted us and she was so nice. She originally suggested we consider looking somewhere else since there was only bar seating that night and 4 other people ahead of us. We told her we were in no rush, and so she put us to the side, and figured out a way to get us all seated comfortably in about 15 minutes.

The food was great and well done. My wife had pumpkin ravioli which was outstanding. She never finishes everything, but she finished it all! I got the special that night which was a well prepared Venezuelan-style steak. We also got really tasty corn cakes (reminded me a little of indian samosas).

The atmosphere was also very friendly, cozy, with interesting interior decorations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CRob21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Call Ahead”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Excellent food!Didn't have reservation,but sat at the bar and ate.Great menu,cocktails and food.Really enjoyed the mushroom-brie soup and Thai Steak Salad.Husband had very large pork shank,took some home.Would go back in a heart beat.The best in Lincoln!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Different and Delicious”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Awesome menu that is out of the ordinary. I had the surf & turf burger which consisted of seafood surrounded by hamburger on the perimeter of the patty. Excellent.
Extensive Margarita’s selection and all individually made. Definitely will go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimeForUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent food in an artistic setting”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our food at Gypsy Cafe was delicious! My husband had a pastrami Rueben with a cup of chili. I had perfectly grilled tuna on greens with asparagus, olives, & roasted peppers. The grilled asparagus was as good as the tuna! We're going to try to replicate it at home.

Don't be fooled by the plain exterior of the building. There is limited parking on site so park in the large lot across the street. Inside the decor is colorful funk with many beautiful tiled mosaics. The restaurant is a bit crowded with tables, and a bit noisy due to it's popularity. Best to make reservations. Ask if the table next to the gas fireplace is available on the enclosed porch. I would definitely eat here again if I was in the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Enfieldwatersprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gypsy Cafe also viewed

Lincoln, White Mountains
Lincoln, White Mountains
 

Been to Gypsy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing