We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Common Man”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Common Man

Common Man
Ranked #4 of 48 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Littleton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Common Man”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

I hadn't been in several years and our god-daughter happened to be vacationing in Lincoln.

We decided to take her out for dinner and visit for awhile and thought it would be a good spot to meet. We arrived early and decided to sit in the lounge and order drinks while awaiting their arrival. The lounge is very rustic as, it's located in an old barn attached to the farmhouse which serves as the main dinning area.

They had a very inviting fire blazing in the huge stone fireplace. As soon as we took our seats we were greeted by a very friendly waitress that asked if we would like anything. I ordered a mixed drink and my wife ordered a glass of the house Riesling. Both drinks arrived in short order & were excellent! They had a rather large cheese table set up for the lounge customers which had a rather sizable block of cheddar, crackers & bread.

Our guests arrived shortly and also ordered from the bar. Again the drinks quickly appeared as we sat and caught up. Our tables were ready on time and we were told they would hold them for us and they would be ready whenever we were ready to make the move.

Once seated our waiter arrived immediately, introduced himself and told us about the daily specials. One of our party asked about a gluton free menu which the waiter produced in short order. It proved rather extensive with a good variety from which to choose. She ordered the Yankee Pot Roast two of us ordered the scallop special and the other salmon. We promptly received a warm bread basket with two types of bread. The meals came quickly, were served hot and all were average to a bit above average. Our waiter was attentive, freindly and informative throughout the meal. All-in-all is was very pleasant experience and I wouldn't hesitate returning.

We both decided, the next time we'd like to try the lounge menu, sit by the fire and possibly watch a game on the big screen.

Definately worth a visit especially for a light meal in the lounge area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    326
    106
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Bar, Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I've been there 5 or 6 times this winter - each time to the bar/tavern side. The menu is simple, but delicious. Great burgers, fun pizzas, and the fireplace is unbelievable.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curtstev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great service, great portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Wednesday wine night is a great idea, haf price wine! We loved the decor and pretty much scored it 10/10

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbieparos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

we will always eat here, was delighted to find out there was one closer to us on the seacoast, food and service were great :), prices were good too

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not all it's cracked up to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Very kid friendly. The free hors d'oeuvres are a plus since you wait forever! Only cheese and crackers, but kids (and husbands) love free things. There is also coloring pages for the kids (though I didn't see crayons). Nice huge fireplace and hearth that heated the whole place. I liked the mountain lodge feel of it. We sat upstairs and it was nice looking down at everything. I could also feel the heat from the fireplace blaring up. After a day on the slopes, it was nice.
Daughter and Husband loved the free chocolate at the end. I declined. I didn't get it. Shaved white chocolate scooped out of a basket. Seemed unsanitary. Plus he just scooped it on the table.
Weird.
Hostesses were sooooo rude and sat several other parties before us. Seems like this is a place that if you know someone you get preferential treatment.
Meals were very bland. Ordered crab cakes which they ALLEGED were voted the best in NH. I highly doubt that. They were burnt and had crunchy pieces which I assume (hope) were shells. Also, smallest portion of a vegetable I have ever seen. About an 1/8 of a cup. Were they running low? It was litteraly 1 tablespoon of butternut squash.
Ordered the lobster corn chowder, while it was very tasty and had a large piece of lobster tail in it, it was cold and I was disappointed with the crunchy canned corn in it.
I did not send my chowder back because it was sooooo busy. Our waiter was noticeably stressed out. He wasn't rude, just kept flubbing our order. Ordered drinks with lime, he brought lemon. Small things, but several.
We ordered cappucinos to go and it took him 20 minutes to tell us the cappuchino machine was broken! Wow! Sat there for 20 minutes!
We soon realized that the place was so packed, not because of the food quality, but because of the lack of places in this area!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank exo7dust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Common Man also viewed

Lincoln, White Mountains
Lincoln, White Mountains
 
 

Been to Common Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing