We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to New Hamphire”
Review of Mt. Coolidge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mt. Coolidge Motel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My wife and I made a fall trip to New Hampshire to see the Fall leaves and to go to the outlet malls. Since this was a last minute trip, I decided to consult Trip Advisor and found the Mount Coolidge Motel. I could not believe all the good reviews on Trip Advisor, so I decided I had to try this motel for myself.
Let me tell you the reviews are true. This motel is trully an excellent place to stay. Number 1, mount Coolidge is extremely clean and is owned by good folks who do what they can to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are large and are in very good condition. Some people might say the rooms are dated but in my opinion while not ultra modern, the rooms are more than acceptable and are in keeping with a very well run family establishment. The small river in the back of the motel is beautiful and is a bonus. The Motel is located in Lincoln, MH which is at the western end of the Kancamagus trail so it is a great starting off point to view the fall foilage, or explore the White Mountains Region or to go hiking at locations along the Kancamagus trial. If you want to go shopping, you can take a nice drive down I93 (about 40 minutes) to Tilton NH Outlet Malls or drive along the Kancanagus Hiway to the North Conway Outlet Malls which is about 45-50 minutes from Lincoln. We went one way one day the and on the second day we went to North Conway for the day. Both are very lovely drives. Please note there is also lots to do around LIncoln NH also.
To sum up, if you want a great little motel, Mount Coolidge is well run, very clean, and to boot are run by real nice people. The motel is a great value. This is not a cookie cutter chain Hotel but a family run establishment motel that delivers a good service. I will be back and recommend this motel to anybody who wants and nice comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms or cottages backing on the river are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 620 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

We (two couples) stayed three nights at the Mt. Coolidge Motel during the second week of October. It is a classic looking motel that is exceptionally well maintained, spotlessly clean and in an excellent location. The owners and staff were some of the nicest people we have met in all our travels. The owners were very helpful with directions and suggestions for interesting local activities....and they were lots of fun to talk with. The pool (closed for the season) is a good size and kids will enjoy it. There is also a place for grilling or making a small bonfire next to the stream running behind the motel. While we visited in October, we would also stay here during a summer trip, especially with kids.

Be aware that Goggle Maps does NOT show their location properly. It is way off. Also, the GPS is not always accurate in this area of NH. Per their website, take I93-Exit 33 and go about 1/3 mile North. The motel is on the right.

Breakfast is only a quick walk to the Longhorn Palace Pancake House next door. The breakfast is standard fare but good.

The Mt. Coolidge Motel is highly recommended and we will definitely stay here the next time we visit the Lincoln area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ed_and_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We recently stayed here overnight and found delightful hosts, spotlessly clean accomodations (cleaner than some 4-star hotels I've stayed at), charming surroundings. I was hypnotized and soothed by the sound of the rushing stream behind our room. We'll talk about this place for years - until we can go back. A remarkably rustic hideaway. Oh, yes, great location to Kancamagus.

Room Tip: Don't look for posh accomodations. It's got a retro feel but, hey, it's a mountain loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Incredibly clean and very well maintained. One can definitely see pride in ownership. This is an older establishment that is meticulously cared for, both inside and out. The Riley's provide every amenity that one may need, either in the room or by special request at the office. We enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of a delightful rushing stream right behind the motel. We couldn't have asked for a nicer accommodation or a more beautiful setting for our stay in this beautiful area of New Hampshire!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We received a very warm welcome from the Riley family when we arrived at Mt. Coolidge. They were very accommodating, chatty and friendly - which was much needed after such a long drive up from Boston! They even helped us to find a local restaurant, which was superb.
The surroundings are beautiful, right in the middle of the beautiful mountains, it was very scenic. We had a great view of the river from our room.
The room itself was very clean, spotless in fact - which is something that is very important to me.
Overall I would highly recommend this motel, it's very resonably priced, located in a beautiful place and we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here for one night on a quick getaway to get a last look at the foliage. The room was spacious and immaculate. I do not use the word "immaculate" often to describe hotel rooms, and we have traveled extensively, but this room was absolutely immaculate! I would definitely stay here again. If you are looking for a spotlessly clean, basic room in a convenient, safe area, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KB12340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Someone once said - you can't please all the people all the time. Well, Kevin and his staff have proven that to be false. Rooms - spotless. Atmosphere - safe and home-like. Owners - helpful and disarming. Given our proximity, it will take a major effort to return. Our compass is set. Save yourselves some time - stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatriciaL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
0.7 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#14 of 20 in Lincoln
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Profile Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Kancamagus Lodge
The Kancamagus Lodge
#8 of 20 in Lincoln
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mt Liberty Lodging
Mt Liberty Lodging
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
187 reviews
1.8 mi away
RiverWalk Resort at Loon Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Coolidge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Coolidge Motel

Address: 386 US Route 3, Lincoln, NH 03251-4147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lincoln
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lincoln
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range: $83 - $1,290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mt. Coolidge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riley family welcomes you to the Mt. Coolidge Motel at the entrance to Franconia Notch State Park. Located along a scenic mountain stream in the center of New Hampshire's White Mountains. Surrounded by spectacular mountain views, all area attractions are within reach as you relax in the fresh mountain air. We pride ourselves on providing very clean and neat accommodations at affordable rates. WE DO ALL OUR OWN BOOKINGS, please call !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Mt. Coolidge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Coolidge Hotel Lincoln
Mt. Coolidge Motel Lincoln, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing