We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good burgers & good beer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Hill Pub

Salt Hill Pub
Ranked #6 of 66 Restaurants in Lebanon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“good burgers & good beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a pub but a four dot pub. I always stop here on my way home from DMC. The have good burgers (i like the firehouse) and good sandwiches w/ a nice house ale. otherwise i drink harpoon ipa. Two beers and a burger for under 20$. A great lunch IMO.

Service is spotty, i always have better service at the bar and if you there during live music it will be busy and loud. Servers are friendly but tend to get distracted by their regulars so if you're there for quick eats you need to be there during a quiet time.

They also have plenty of TVs for the sport fan. Too many IMO. I've been here with friends and it is nice to chat and eat if baseball is on - they keep the sound down.

Last and this is a big plus to me - they get a very mixed crowd, tourists, regulars and folks like me and b/c it has a nice vibe everyone always seems to be talkative and friendly. Its not Ireland but you can't get a burger like the firehouse in ireland or a decent beer!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oldprop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    82
    39
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Local Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We love SHP as our go-to casual date-night or gathering with friends spot. The food is good, the prices are reasonable, and when there is live entertainment it is usually very good. Do not expect quick service, we have often sat with empty glasses waiting for 15-20 minutes for the check or for the waitstaff to return for our credit cards.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ktbabe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Vermont
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Average food and sometimes very noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

I have eaten here a number of times and find it acceptable, but not anything very special. It is one of those places with multiple tv screens and it sometimes very noisy. The place is more peaceful at lunch time. I like their Rubin sandwiches and once had a fairly good pot roast dinner. The place is large and sometimes very busy. They have a second similar place in nearby Hanover, NH. I would not have any resistance to eating here again, but my expectations would not be high. This is not what these days is called "fine dinning", it is just an ordinary place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Live Music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

One of the only places in the Upper Valley with consistent live music. Good vibe, good people - most of who you need to know in the UV is here at some point.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and trivia!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stopped for a bite on the way back from Merrimack to montreal. It was Easter Sunday and we were happy to see the restaurant was open. The waitress was excellent-really upbeat and helpful! The clam chowder was to die for! Probably the best I ever tasted!!!!
I had a pesto chicken flat bread which was delicious, oozing with pesto and cheese! My companions ordered the eggplant parmigiana and the pulled pork nachos. My dish was definitely the best but t&e nachos came in a close second. Sunday is trivia night and while we did not actually take part we saw that there must be regulars who go and they all had teams and were competing. It looked like a lot of fun! Service was fast and we had an overall great experience! A great find, we will definitely stop in the next time we are in the area!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rhondathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Hill Pub also viewed

 

Been to Salt Hill Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing