We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Yes" from a Hotel Snob”
Review of Coos Motor inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coos Motor inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lancaster
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"Yes" from a Hotel Snob”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We only stay at 4 or 5 star hotels but needed to be in Lancaster for 6 nights and the prospect of staying in a motel or motor inn was a very unpleasant thought. What a wonderful surprise the Coos Motor Inn turned out to be.....very clean everywhere.......nice size rooms with a sitting area....comfortable king size bed.....microwave and adequate refrigerator. (although we went to Shaws everynight to pick up dinner to bring back to our room--nice grocery store.) The bathroom is split with the sink outside which turned out to be convenient. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast met our needs. When in Lancaster again we will most certainly stay at the Coos Motor Inn. A lilttle secret about Lancaster....they have the most amazing animal sanctuary although only open for tours during the summer. Rolling Dog Farm--A Special Place for Disabled Animals.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pupepause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    68
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
68
46
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

a very nice clean place to stay,the hotel was new looking,the rooms were clean,with tv coffee maked and ref,bathroom large and also clean,the staff was very helpful,i would stay here again not many choices in this area but glad i found this one

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Lancaster is in northern New Hampshire and we did not expect to find such terrific lodgings here. We were so wrong. The "motor inn" is two stories and updated. I did not feel like we were in an "older" motel at all. The rooms are scrupulously clean with new sinks and tub (lots of hot water) the carpets and walls are in great shape, and the beds are comfortable. A refrigerator in the room is another plus. Best of all for me is that Wi-fi is free and high speed. I had no trouble streaming a movie at night - a better experience, in fact, than I often have with Comcast in our Boston suburb! The continental breakfast is expanded and more than adequate. I appreciated having decaf coffee readily available. Staff is friendly. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Coos Motor Inn for 3 days. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Rooms were clean and roomy. Free WiFi and a reasonably good continental breakfast helped make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houlton, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is our go to place to stay while visiting Santa's Village (just 5 miles away). On this visit we stayed for 3 nights. This isn't a fancy hotel with lots of amenities but is comfortable and welcoming. Our room had 2 queen sized beds that were quite comfortable. Plus the room came with a fridge which was nice to keep drinks cold. They have a free continental breakfast in the lobby. We went down close to closing time. They were about to pick it up when they saw us there so just went about refilling stuff we needed and were nice enough to keep it open longer so we could eat. The front desk staff was very helpful too when our minivan wouldn't start. I asked if there was someone that could give us a boost. They started to hand over a battery charger but then since we had jumper cables they said they'd send someone out to help us. We waited just a few minutes and a man came out carrying the charger. He said it was all charged and helped hook it up and got our car running. Then then told us he was the hotel manager, Sonny and said that if after we were leaving Santa's Village that night and we needed another boost to call the hotel and he would drive over and boost us. Now that's SERVICE! We ended up needing a boost that night but another couple was walking by at the time and boosted us. Every morning of our stay we needed a boost. Sonny again offered to help with no problems and even offered to give us a ride to the parts store if we needed him too. The last day of our stay we couldn't get boosted from the charger so he brought his own vehicle over to help us. We are planning on going to Santa's Village again in November for our youngest birthday and was thinking about staying at the hotel across the street from Santa's Village. But...after how helpful Sonny and the rest of the staff were, when we got home, I promptly booked at Coos again. There is no pool at this hotel and no fancy breakfast but, there are great people working there that really do go above and beyond. It's a great place with inside access to your room (not a fan of the motels that have outside access), it's clean and we felt safe. You're at walking distance to the grocery store, convenience store (LOVE Amato's is right next door. Their sandwiches are awesome!!! Especially love the sour pickles) and restaurants (including Dunkin Donuts) are all very close. We ordered take out from Happy Star chinese restaurant a few times. Just down the road and very good. If you've never been to VT, keep driving past Happy Star not even like 10th of a mile and you're there. We didn't find much over there but it was a nice drive when the kids fell asleep leaving Santa's Village. I don't think you'll be disappointed staying here.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor and a few doors from the elevator and was quiet. We've stayed near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom24kats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A quick stop before heading to Santa's Village. Check in was quick and painless. Our room was on the 2nd floor, clean and spacious. Breakfast was included and good - lots of choice for a free continental breakfast but didn't like the styrofoam plates and plastic utensils. Beds were comfortable. Would definitely stay again. My only complaint was the overwhelming scent from the air fresheners in the hallways - if you have scent issues it might be an issue.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kailabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I booked the via southwest.com so I could get miles. I had decent marks and was on the way to where we were going. Very nice front desk staff, typical lobby breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable. Close to good places to eat, grocery stores etc. quiet safe place to stay at a fair price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russBguss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
2.0 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
208 reviews
20.0 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
241 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
The Skywood Manor Inn
The Skywood Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Jefferson
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coos Motor inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coos Motor inn

Property: Coos Motor inn
Address: 209 Main St, Lancaster, NH 03584-3035
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coos Motor inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coos Motor inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coos Motor Inn Hotel Lancaster
Coos Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing