We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Lake Campground and RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our first visit here and we will be back. We are always very cautious in trying a new campground as we are pretty picky when it comes to site privacy, tree cover, and cleanliness of facilities. We were pleasantly surprised with this campground. While there are a few sites that are way too close for comfort and treeless (meant for the driving rv'ers), there are many nicely secluded sights with well placed fire pits and nice picnic tables tucked into the trees. Water, sewer, and electricity, especially in the chilly fall is always a bonus. The cabins are cute and very well maintained. We even took a lovely walk along their mile long nature trail. The lake is very scenic, especially at sunset and on a clear night, this is a stargazers paradise!

I for one appreciate rules that are enforced. I am not old and I have teenage kids that know to be be respectful and not be running around a campground bothering others. I did play my outside trailer radio the entire time, but it was so quiet only WE could hear it, which is as it should be. I never at any point had issues with rules here and felt the owners were very friendly, helpful, and run a beautiful clean campground that they obviously take great pride in.

The ONLY thing that spoils this beautiful campground for me is that it is too close to the traffic noise of US 3. The semi trucks and motorcycles whizzing by can be a bit loud at many of the sites.

Room Tip: Sites near the water, but further down from the beach are most secluded from traffic noise.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zicheryzachery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Lake Campground and RV Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 94 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Making our way from Maine to Vermont in early September, we decided to stop in NH and found Mountain Lake in our Good Sam Book. Our campsite was one of the pull-thru's over looking the lake. No doubt the best view I had through the front window of my class A! The campground is well maintained, with clean tile bathrooms. Well stocked store and friendly staff. I would love to come back and stay longer!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just got back from our second time camping here. And we can't wait until next year! We stayed in a cabin both times and we love it. The owners/staff are wonderful and they care about their campground and the families that stay here! This is a family campground. The pond is peaceful and the canoes/boats are so much fun. My daughter loves the playground and there are always kids to play with. Santa's Village is also only 10 minutes away! One suggestion would be to have an activity every night for the kids not just on Saturday and Wednesday. Again looking forward to summer 2014

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We absolutely love this campground. This is the second year that we have been there and this time we stayed for 10 days in our pop-up tent trailer. They have it all here for any family that is looking for a great spot in the White Mountains. My kids loved the beach, swimming in both the pool and lake, and playing on the playground. We enjoyed how clean the facilities were and that it was quiet after 10 for us to rest from long days at the amusement parks. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend this campground to anybody who is camping in the White Mountains.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We've been coming to this campground for a couple of years now. The sites are extremely well kept, the cabins are nice and comfortable. The pool is clean and there are various for the kids. There is a Landry room (we've never used it), peddle boats, canoes and kayaks for rent (around 10 bucks hr). Because of the noise rules, you don't have to worry about the derelicts who feel the need to blast ACDC Back in Black on their radio all night while burning anything they can find in the campfire to satisfy their pyromaniac tendencies. (just for the record, i like ACDC, just not while I'm trying to relax on vacation). This campground is for good people who take pride in their surroundings and are considerate toward others. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottg1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This site is best for RV Most sites not tent friendly Old dryers Don't dry your clothes No wood from outside Campground So you pay five dollars for two dollars worth a wood Staff was friendly Place was superclean Free showers We like the location And it was a beautiful view Excellent wildlife We just found there were too many rules for everything So was like camping With your mother

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Dandydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We are still very new to camping and this was our 2nd experience. We arrived late(close to 9pm) and the staff were very helpful. We did get a tad lost on our way there because Google maps took us to the same address, but a couple towns over, but staff were very helpful over the phone and upon arrival, esp since office closed at 8pm the Friday. we were at site 76 which was nice, large and flat right next to the lake (reeds and pond) and we were lulled to sleep by the crickets and the peepers. the only thing is that it was right next to the beach (patch of sand with swimming area) and not many tress or shrubs to separate the area. Water in pond does look questionable and I wouldn't let my kids play in it. Bathrooms were really clean and pool was nice. Some sites I saw were much smaller with not a lot of room between the road and water and neighbours.
one reviewed mentioned signs everywhere, funny, but true. They are not as annoying, but reminders. (no diving into the pool/showers 5 minutes/pick up after your dog....etc) sometimes guests do need to be reminded of some of these things. we came back from our day outing to see a women with her leashed small dog at the beach, leash extending to out grassy tent area, dog crapping. I just politely reminded her of the sign, and she said ''oh?'', then took a chip bag to pick up the crap.
Another drawback would be the mosquitoes. Oh my, there are LOTS of them.
Overall, this campground experience was enjoyable and if I were to go in the area again, will return with more protection from the bugs.
Value was good too because it was our first time thre, so we got a 2 for 1 night

Room Tip: bring good bug spray and mosquito netting to enjoy being outside
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busymommyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
3.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
210 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
758 reviews
4.7 mi away
Coos Motor inn
Coos Motor inn
#1 of 3 in Lancaster
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
The Skywood Manor Inn
The Skywood Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Jefferson
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barron Brook Inn
Barron Brook Inn
#2 of 3 in Whitefield
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lake Campground and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Campground and RV Park

Address: 485 Prospect St, Route 3, Lancaster, NH 03584-3231
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lancaster
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lancaster
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a camping resort in the White Mountains of New Hampshire accommodating tents and rv's. We also have cabins, a yurt and tipi. Our facility has a 30 acre lake, fishing, peddle boats, kayaking and swimming. A heated swimming pool and water slides. We have a playground, shuffleboard and planned activities. We are only 10 minutes from Santa's Village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing